We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Condo, but not a resort.....”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Condo, but not a resort.....”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Transfered to Coco Beach from the property next door, Belizean Shores. Both properties are managed by the same company. Although it was difficult and required much negotiating, we were pleased with the quality difference as compared to Belizean Shores. Coco Beach is a new condo development with a decent pool. That's it, nothing more, nothing less. There is no restaurant and no food service of any kind. There is no store to buy anything on the property and you are several miles and an expensive boat trip from town. There was a pool bar with limited hours and unreasonably high prices. You have to walk to Belizean Shores to eat at their restaurant which is is only okay and priced high enough you would never see a local eat there.

The condos at Coco Beach are beautiful and new. All high end appliances and very nice craftsmanship. Just keep in mind if you plan on eating or drinking anything in your condo, you have to make it into town to shop. Boat is $8.00 each way and it runs every two hours during day and hourly in the evening.

There are several restaurants within walking distance at neighboring resorts. We tried each of them and we were very disappointed. VERY high priced and the food was marginal. Again, the restaurants are designed for tourists only, you will never see a local dining in any of the restaurants nor would they ever pay the prices.

This was our second trip to San Pedro. Over 16 days in San Pedro, we had the opportunity to try many restaurants in town and out. We strongly recommend the Lazy Croc, excellent BBQ food. Also, you must eat at Mangos in town. It is probably the best food on the island. The tackle Box does have good burgers as adverstised.

Bottom line is this, if you are thinking "resort", you will be disappointed. There is no room service, restaurant, entertainment or service of any kind, with the exception of very limited bar service at the pool. But if you are prepared and are willing to pack in your own supplies, you can have a relaxing stay at a beautiful waterfront condo. Maid service is marginal, they do a very basic job.

DO NOT use the tour operator at the Belizean Shores dock. Rude, horrible service and higher prices than you can find in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OCtravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    235
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
377
695
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I just got back from spending a week at Coco Beach! The staff was sooo friendly and the pool was the best on the island! There is some construction on the back section of the property but is did not affect our vacation at all, the front part of the resort where our room was is completely finished. I spent lots of time hanging out at the swim up pool bar, great service and awesome drinks! You have to try the Mud Slide drink at the bar at least once! The accomodations are beautiful and the bed was more comfortable than the one I have at home. We walked up and down the beach and nothing else compares, FYI definitely stay here! They offer lots of excursions, the snorkel trip we took on the catamaran was the best, another must do while you are visiting. I would recommend Coco Beach to anyone, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr0picalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We just returned from the most relaxing week of our lives, and it was largely thanks to Coco Beach Resort! From the minute we arrived, we were continuously impressed by the friendliness of the staff, the beauty of the resort (especially the pool!), and the cleanliness and quality of our room. On top of all that, we needed only walk out to the resort's dock to sign up for snorkeling, scuba diving, or sailing!

During our stay, we visited several other resorts on Ambergris Caye for drinks/appetizers, and we couldn't find any that we thought looked nicer than Coco Beach. We could not have asked for a better resort experience! I HIGHLY recommend it if Ambergris Caye is in your travel plans.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SloMoShin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Coco Beach was undoubtedly one of the nicer hotels/condos I saw while visiting Belize. When I first arrived, I was under the impression that the place was not under construction, but it was. The major downside was that there is no restaurant. Belizean Shores which is the neighboring hotel has a restaurant and the menu did not offer a huge selection. The houskeeping services did the best they could, but I have to admit that upon return from snorkeling, I found a tampon in the toilet. It was not mine and I was not happy to see this. For those of you planning on staying at Coco Beach be aware that the electricity went out just about everyday at 8 in the morning. I advise you about this, because it kept us from getting into the safe when we were getting ready to leave. Plan to get your things out of the safe before 8 in the morning because the electricity is out for at least half an hour. Despite the construction and the tampon incident, I would say this is a nice place. The pool is beautiful. Sandra at the front desk was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelElsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInneapolis, MN
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My family and I had a wonderful time at Coco Beach Resort on the beautiful island of Ambergris in Belize. One of the best things is the amazing pool and the pool bar! Tonya at the bar made really fun non-alcohol drinks for the kids. Our condo was beautiful and quiet. There was plenty of room to spread out and we ate most of our meals outside on our huge private balcony that overlooks the sea. We snorkled and hired a guide for all day fishing. The staff are so helpful and made all of our arrangements so easy. We just had to ask and it was done! Everyone is so friendly and I felt very safe. We are definately going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnytravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Belize is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Nature abounds itself from the star studded night skies to the bluest of clear waters. Cocobeach magically fits into the beauty of this spectacular nature. CocoBeach Belize resort was exquisite! It was the perfect beach front resort for myself and friends to celebrate the gifts of life. We were seven women who came together within the seven wonders of the world, celebrating life on the 13th day, grounded spiritually on earth. Maya culture, maya spirit. And, Tonya (the pool bartender) makes a mean Banana Colada and I must get the recipe.
Make sure to make all reservations directly with the Resort 501.226.4840. The 800 phone number on their website connects to a contracted Travel Agency in Ft Lauderdale, FL. The contracted Travel agent made several mistakes organizing the end of my friends' travels, ie hotel was shortened by one day and they had to check out to prevent an additional cost, the early check out caused them to get other arrangements for a water taxi into San Pedro, (the hotel was kind enough to help). Our Tropic Air flights were the next day. Albeit the Travel Agency received everyone's flight itinerary , they missed coordinating the hotel departure with the confirmed departure dates booked on Continental Airlines. A disaster!!! We are grateful to Sandra at CocoBeach Belize for her excellent customer service and going over and above to help us in a poorly coordinated travel situation. Cheers to her and to Tonya for all their wonderful service. We will definitely return in the near future.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjeconsult2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The construction was not yet complete when my husband and I arrived, but the friendliness of the staff and the room we stayed in made the construction aspect seem almost invisible.I have already recommended this location to all my friends and I look forward to one day going back to see the results of the construction. It was secluded and beyond perfect! A little slice of heaven:)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShylohNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
973 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing