We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Coco Beach was undoubtedly one of the nicer hotels/condos I saw while visiting Belize. When I first arrived, I was under the impression that the place was not under construction, but it was. The major downside was that there is no restaurant. Belizean Shores which is the neighboring hotel has a restaurant and the menu did not offer a huge selection. The houskeeping services did the best they could, but I have to admit that upon return from snorkeling, I found a tampon in the toilet. It was not mine and I was not happy to see this. For those of you planning on staying at Coco Beach be aware that the electricity went out just about everyday at 8 in the morning. I advise you about this, because it kept us from getting into the safe when we were getting ready to leave. Plan to get your things out of the safe before 8 in the morning because the electricity is out for at least half an hour. Despite the construction and the tampon incident, I would say this is a nice place. The pool is beautiful. Sandra at the front desk was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelElsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    220
    52
    18
    5
See reviews for
354
670
25
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MInneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

My family and I had a wonderful time at Coco Beach Resort on the beautiful island of Ambergris in Belize. One of the best things is the amazing pool and the pool bar! Tonya at the bar made really fun non-alcohol drinks for the kids. Our condo was beautiful and quiet. There was plenty of room to spread out and we ate most of our meals outside on our huge private balcony that overlooks the sea. We snorkled and hired a guide for all day fishing. The staff are so helpful and made all of our arrangements so easy. We just had to ask and it was done! Everyone is so friendly and I felt very safe. We are definately going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnytravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

Belize is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Nature abounds itself from the star studded night skies to the bluest of clear waters. Cocobeach magically fits into the beauty of this spectacular nature. CocoBeach Belize resort was exquisite! It was the perfect beach front resort for myself and friends to celebrate the gifts of life. We were seven women who came together within the seven wonders of the world, celebrating life on the 13th day, grounded spiritually on earth. Maya culture, maya spirit. And, Tonya (the pool bartender) makes a mean Banana Colada and I must get the recipe.
Make sure to make all reservations directly with the Resort 501.226.4840. The 800 phone number on their website connects to a contracted Travel Agency in Ft Lauderdale, FL. The contracted Travel agent made several mistakes organizing the end of my friends' travels, ie hotel was shortened by one day and they had to check out to prevent an additional cost, the early check out caused them to get other arrangements for a water taxi into San Pedro, (the hotel was kind enough to help). Our Tropic Air flights were the next day. Albeit the Travel Agency received everyone's flight itinerary , they missed coordinating the hotel departure with the confirmed departure dates booked on Continental Airlines. A disaster!!! We are grateful to Sandra at CocoBeach Belize for her excellent customer service and going over and above to help us in a poorly coordinated travel situation. Cheers to her and to Tonya for all their wonderful service. We will definitely return in the near future.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjeconsult2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

The construction was not yet complete when my husband and I arrived, but the friendliness of the staff and the room we stayed in made the construction aspect seem almost invisible.I have already recommended this location to all my friends and I look forward to one day going back to see the results of the construction. It was secluded and beyond perfect! A little slice of heaven:)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShylohNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

This place is great if you are looking to get away from it all. The apartments are brand new and extremely clean!
Parts of the complex are still under construction……but you don’t really notice much noise. I would love to see it when it’s completed. The swimming pool is one of the nicest I’ve seen with swim up bar, hot tub, sun loungers.
The only downside is that the restaurant is still under construction and the bar shuts about 6pm but there are plenty other hotels to accommodate until Coco Beach Resort is completed and the kitchens are fully equipped so you can mix your own cocktails, sit on your balcony and look out at the Caribbean Sea.
I would definitely come back .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGITraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Rich, tropical hues, plush,cozy furniture, local art on the walls.....and a room with a view. Not just any view, but one of the gorgeous pools surrounded by lush landscape and the vibrant blues of the Caribbean sea. After walking up and down the Caye, by far one of the best resorts...Coco Beach will definitely see us again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganGetsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

Our week at Coco Beach was a wonderful escape from our busy careers and stressful life.

We stayed in a seafront penthouse unit and it was fabulous. The views are breathtaking and the pool is amazing.

Our ten-month old son came with on this family escape and the resort was so kind and helpful providing a portable crib. Great place for kids. Quiet, safe, friendly and very accommodating. We are definitely coming back.

Elaine and Joe

  • Liked — The Pool!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank theschniples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.9 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing