We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly staff”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, NE
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is beautifully landscaped and the pool is amazing. We were picked up at the airport and taken by taxi to the dock. Then it was a short boat ride to the hotel. We were greeted at the hotel dock with towels, which was a nice touch.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo towards the back of the property. While the room was nicely furnished, there were several small problems. The water never seemed to get hot in the shower and there was always a slight smell to it. For 1 1/2 days the smell was pretty bad but that was because there was construction going on in the building next to ours. It was explained to us that the workers used the water from the well that our waters comes from so the well go low, which caused the smell. I never really felt clean after my showers. While the staff did respond to all of our concerns, there was nothing they could do about the water smell. They never offered to move us, which I think maybe they should have. But I never asked to be moved so maybe they would have moved us if asked.

They did have our bed nicely decorated for our anniversary which was really nice.

Overall, I would stay here again but I am wondering if the rooms towards the front would have been a better choice, even though they were a little more money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    235
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
377
695
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have been to CoCo Beach Resort twice in 2013. We have had a great time on both occasions. From the operations manager, Nick, to the GM, Amy, the staff was always friendly and accommodating.
I have special praise for Larry "the pool guy". He would greet us every day by name with a smile and a handshake assuring us if we needed ANYTHING, he was there for us. I have a feeling that Larry will soon be Larry "the manager".
My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at CoCo Beach and the staff decorated our room with flowers and a left chilled bottle of wine for us to enjoy. We had in room massages and dinner at the onsite restaurant, CoCo Blanca. The food and service were outstanding.

Room Tip: For families, book the 2 bedroom units. For a couple wanting to splurge, book the Casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, inside and out. There are Two gorgeous pools. One is perfect for kids of all ages as it has a well designed jumping rock platform and deep pool with slide. This is a treasure - at other establishments there are rules that say :"No jumping..." this is made for jumping and sliding and is safe due to the deep pool. My 8 year old LOVED it and we spent a lot of time here. The other pool is shallow and has a volley ball net, close to the bar and hot tub. The food at the Italian restaurant is very good and priced as if you were at a high end place back in the states. Worth it for the quality and Service.
We were celebrating our Anniversary, I had mentioned it when making the reservation. The had made a note and our room was an amazing decoration of flower pedals, with chilled wine... PERFECTION!!! They have a sister hotel next store with a nice pool and a good restaurant bar on the 3rd floor near the back of the property. It has a nice view of the Lagoon and you can see the sunset from here over the lagoon. It is a very nice place I hope to go back someday during whale shark season. only 2 issues: I wish I would have known that there would be construction on site and that the pool bar was not built, that was sad I was looking forward to some time to relax away from noise like that, it kept us away from that area of the property. Also there was a HUGH mosquito problem!!!!! Due to the Lagoon on the other side of the road, it is standing water and a breeding ground, the swimming pool was full of dead mosquitos. There should have been someone actively sweeping them out of the pool. It was like mosquito soup. The only other issue is that there SHOULD BE a free transport to and from town at least a couple times of day. We needed to go into town to pick up something at for a party of 3 it was 18.00 each way.
The road was washed out with deep puddles and nearly impassible by golf cart, we had borrowed a friends and it took over 4 hours round trip to town with a short stop. I would recommend this hotel. I would recommend renting a bike if you are able and taking the beach route on the sand into town if needed.

There is going to be an amazing swim up bar soon, by January of 2014. They should have warned us about this construction at the time of booking.

Room Tip: If you have a child or children, please ask for a ground room floor next to the pool with the slide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_AJ_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at CoCo Beach over Thanksgiving 2013 and it was absolutely amazing! Larry (the pool guy) is fantastic! The staff is amazing and super helpful! The condo was very nice too! We stayed in a two bedroom villa! It was very clean! The housekeepers are so nice and friendly! The Rum Punch is amazing! I highly recommend CoCo Beach!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberGMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We managed to get away for the week to dive off San Pedro Island. Had no idea of what this place was like. We were so pleasantly surprised. It is an absolutely beautiful resort. The staff arranged our flights from Belize City and took care of getting us to the resort via cab and water taxi. They greeted us with cool drinks and cool towels on the doc. (This was a welcomed treat after a full day of travel from the North East US.) The staff was very accommodating, the room was huge, clean and very comfortable. Pools were so much fun! Hot tub, pool bar, etc. Great place. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 day / 4 night vacation. From the moment we arrived on the dock, I was impressed by the service!

The concierge will meet you at the dock and take your bags to the room. You're greeted with cool towels and escorted to the check-in desk while receiving information about the resort and activities from the manager.

Check-in was easy, and the rum punch at the front desk certainly helped. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but we were quickly escorted to the nearby pool bar for a drink while we waited.

We stayed in a Luxury Room (set up like a hotel room) and it was perfect. Comfortable bed, smartly decorated, refrigerator and microwave in room... song with a two person dining table. All rooms have balcony with chairs. You'll either overlook the pool or the ocean...but don't worry, both views are amazing.

All staff are super friendly, very helpful! There is just nothing truly negative about this resort.

My only "neutral" comment is about the restaurant. The prices of the food are "resort priced" but the food is...good but not great. Basically, you can go to nearby restaurants...O restaurant, Aji, Lazy Croc, Captain Morgan's for better food at same price.

Bottom line, best resort in San Pedro, hands down! You won't regret your stay!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shawntej2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went to Coco Beach Resort for our honeymoon during the first 2 weeks of October, and the words "perfection" and "luxury" aren't enough to describe this experience. The resort is gorgeous, with freshly manicured sand grounds, clear blue pools of many shades that are almost as gorgeous as the ocean, and architecture that is simply beautiful. We stayed for 14 days, and by the end we just wanted to live there. We were in Casita 1, and while this was hurricane season, there were only a few rainy periods and it was nice to just spend some time in the luxury of our Casita during those times. Other cloudy days opened up to sunny skies, and it was the most beautiful experience of my life.

The staff is amazing. Every single person behind the bar was awesome. They are so fun, and everyone is so accommodating - they define "above and beyond". Service is taken to a level beyond 5 starts at this resort. The recommendations for local food in San Pedro were amazing.. I am now a lover of pupusas, a dish from El Salvador that we had at Pupuseria Tipico Salvadoreno. Amazing. The best part is that the staff was genuinely kind, and we became friends during our stay. Darrell, you were the best, I wish we could have hung out in San Pedro one night as friends. I couldn't possibly ask for more from a resort staff. Our every need was met, and I have never had better or more courteous service on a luxury vacation.

The grounds are so well-kept they are breathtaking. I have photos that look like I was in the movie The Land Before Time. It is just the most amazing place I've been on earth. The ocean water is crystal clear and only 10-15 feet deep all the way out to the reef, so kayaking in the ocean is not only easy and peaceful, but you can see straight down to the sea floor. The pools are kept so clean that they are as worthy of photos as the ocean - thank you to Larry the pool guy ;) Also thank you for the sand art - Krista + Kevin :)

Our room was perfection.. I could live there. A few notes for those who are picky like me with travel.. the air conditioning worked perfectly, which we needed since the days reached 100 degrees. The beds are extremely comfortable, the kitchen has a water filtration system in the fridge, and is fully stocked with everything you need (glassware, plates, blender, etc.). It was always clean, and simply beautiful. I really wish I could just live in Casita 1 forever...

We 100% want to return to this resort.. my husband Kevin and I had such a good time, and being here made us want to live there and become locals. With a mother as a travel agent growing up I have been many places, from Aruba to Costa Rica to Hawaii, and everywhere in between. From the food to the people to the scenery, the only word I can think of to describe this experience is perfection. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
973 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing