We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous week at Coco Beach!”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Coco Beach from September 1 - 6, 2013. As it was low season, the resort was fairly deserted, which we loved! We stayed in Casita 4. It was nice to have our own kitchen, blender, microwave, etc. The resort was beautiful and well maintained. The pool guys were out for hours each morning scrubbing the pools with tiny brushes to make certain everything was clean. Staff at the resort were always friendly and helpful.

WiFi: We could not get service on our phones after arriving in Belize City and no service at the resort. There are two computers in the lobby of the resort for guest use, which we appreciated.

Food & Drink: If you stay during low season be prepared for limited restaurant options as many places may be closed. We only ate at Coco Beach once (the day we arrived) and the food was marginal. Drinks are very expensive ($12 US for one mixed drink). You can remedy that by purchasing your own mixers and alcohol in town or at Captain Morgan's (which was closed during our visit). We dined next door at Belezian Shores for dinner once and breakfast once - food was great and drink prices were more reasonable. We ate in San Pedro at Elvi's Kitchen and Lilly's. Elvi's Kitchen is delicious with great prices. Lilly's was average. We also walked from Coco Beach to Palapa Bar one afternoon - great food and drinks.

Room Tip: Choose a casita if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here for my 50th birthday. We were greeted upon arrival warmly and given a yumi cocktail! We reserved a 1bd ocean view and when we got there they upgraded us to a 2 bd ocean front. I have traveled for yrs in the travel industry and stayed in some if the most beautiful hotels, this rates pretty close to perfection. The service excellent. The pool wonderfully relaxing. The only drawback is the restaurant. The food was ok. But, it is close to other good restaurants. We went without our kids and it was nice and quiet. That said, I cannot wait to come back and bring our kids. They had a relaxing pool and a pool more suited for kids. Had one of the best messages. On my birthday they put beautiful rose petals on our bed with champagne , and had a yumi cake boated in from the mainland. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb33026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This resort is a very well kept resort that is 3.5 miles away from town. The rooms are very nice and the two pools are amazing! The bartenders definitely make this place what it is. We found that the girls who were working the front desk were never very friendly. One girl who was working late at night was very nice but the others were a little stuffy.. Eden at the bar makes the best mojito on the island. Do not get one anywhere else!
A few very important things to know:
-Do not book from Tuff E Nuff which is what the Coco Beach resort has onsite. Their tours are WAY more expensive than the EXACT same ones that are offered in town. The only thing we recommend using Tuff E Nuff for is the water taxi to and from San Pedro and the resort. Pay for the 5 day or 7 day pass and use at your leisure.
-Do NOT eat at the resorts restaurant. Very expensive for sub par food. There are much nicer restaurants that are in walking distance that have much better food at a much cheaper price. We were very disappointed in the food and ULTRA slow service.
-The best restaurants that are walking distance on the Beach: O (at La Terrraz), Captain Morgans, and Palappos. Palappos is a bit of a walk but has amazing food for really cheap and is an awesome over the water experience! Be sure to get spend a few hours in their inner tubes while they drop down buckets of beer! AWESOME time! In town, the food is reasonable and good! - Caliente, WIld Mangos and Blue Water are very good, but Elvi's is the best freshest food in San Pedro!
-For bars- Fido's is where it is at. They close early but it has a cool vibe to it!
-Excursions: must do the snorkeling at the reserve and shark alley! We had so much fun! The mainland tour is okay but be expected to be sitting a lot for the drive to each place is over an hour! Ruins are tiny compared to Mexico so we were disappointed.. Zip lining was lame if you have ever been to Costa Rica! Cave tubing looked neat but was closed because of high water.. so we wasted a LONG day on the mainland that we wish we had back! Dont do it unless bored!

Overall, CocoBeach is nice but Belize is a little sketchy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank VanceMcCurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our first time to belize....but won't be our last! Coco Beach Resort is absolutely stunning. The villas and grounds are kept immaculate. I have never seen people take care of an hotel quite like this. Since the minute we were greeted on the dock with cool towels and welcome drinks, I knew we were going to have a wonderful vacation. We opted for a two bedroom sea view villa (A1). The villa was decorated with richly colored walls and beautiful native woods. There were lovely carvings and paintings too. Full kitchen with everything you could need. Great ceiling fans everywhere to keep us cool (has central air). Walked off my verandah directly to beach. Pool was steps away and everyone on the island says its the best by far. They were right. The resort has a fine restaurant, pool bar/grill and coffee shop. They offer complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. We went out to he reef daily to snorkel. Have to give some shout outs to some really special guys that helped us with whatever we needed....... Larry and Marcus. Really everyone! What a vacation. What a country! Truly UNBELIZABLE.

Room Tip: A1 directly on beach!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We read many reviews before scheduling our trip to Coco Beach. Some were not very complimentary but I am here to tell you that this is the very best place you can stay at on Ambergris Cay. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, the grounds were superbly thought out with no detail overlooked for beauty and convenience.We dove for four days but were always ready to come back to our comfortable and beautiful room. On arrival we were greeted by the manager who gave us a personal tour of the grounds. Our room had fresh flowers decorating the bathroom, bedroom and kitchen. With two large pools and a jacuzzi there is plenty of room. The restaurant was wonderful and accommodating whether you plan to arrive late because of a night dive or you want to take your meal on the beach or by the pool. Getting to San Pedro is easy with the water taxi. In addition, there are several eating places along the beach. The day we left the weather was bad; however, the hotel made it a point to help us get to our destination without any worry. If we come again, it will definitely be here!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the grounds and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gloriamaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this trip through a United Airlines vacation package and all the logistics went very smoothly. We flew non-stop from Houston to Belize and were met by someone with our name on a placard who then escorted us to a nearby building to check-in for the puddle jumper that would take us to Ambergris Caye. Once there, we took a taxi for the few blocks between the airport and the boat dock and caught the water taxi to the resort. The manager of the hotel was there to meet us and our bags were expertly whisked away. It seems complicated but they do it all the time, so it went flawlessly.

The resort is gorgeous! Tropical plants everywhere, with swimming pools and waterfalls. Watch for the hummingbirds. We were in a second floor 2 bedroom sea-view room and it was magnificent. Huge and fully equipped kitchen, 2 large bedrooms, a living room and a breakfast room off the kitchen. Plus, there was a large outside balcony with two chaise lounges, a table and four chairs. The view from the balcony was awesome--the pool, the beach and the ocean. What more could one ask?

The staff there is very helpful and can arrange tours of Mayan ruins, snorkeling, fishing and scuba diving. There are complimentary 2-person sea kayaks available off the dock--just show up and they'll give you a life vest and a paddle.

There are a few hotels within walking distance for breakfast lunch and dinner but tend to be expensive and really cater to well-healed tourists. For more traditional Belizean fare, head on over to the nearby town of San Pedro. There are a few ways to do that. We walked there along the beach one afternoon, but be advised it is about a 1.25 hour trek and the heat can be intense. We're from Houston so used to the heat but take some water for the trip.There is a back road that runs behind the resorts and you can either rent a bicycle or a golf cart for the journey. However, it is a very rough road, with lots of pot holes and it is not lighted at night. The water taxi to town costs $5 US per person each way and picks you up/drops you off right at the Coco Beach doc, so it is very convenient. There are 5-day passes available that will save you money, if you will be doing this repeatedly.

There is a newly opened "cafe" for coffee and breakfast pastries but they provide you with coffee and filters in the rooms. For lunch, you can eat by the pool bar or through the Cocoblanca restaurant. As I said, it is easy to simply walk to nearby resorts/restaurants (Captain Morgan's, Capricorn, etc.) for some variety. We had dinner at the restaurant twice and the service and food were first rate. Although the prices aren't cheap, some of the offerings were quite special. My son and I went on a night dive, so got back to the resort after the kitchen closed at 9. We had pre-ordered our food and the staff was very accommodating. I had Risotto al nero di seppia, which is risotto with squid and squid ink. It is jet black in color and is a rare find, even in large cities. On the next occasion, I had the tagliolini al nero di seppia, which is homemade pasta made with squid ink. My wife and son had local fish and it was delicious.

All told, this is a first rate resort and they really go out of their way to cater to your needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Came here not knowing what to expect since none of our friends been here in Belize, when we arrived we were amazed and surprised on how beautiful is this place.. The place is so romantic and was made for.people who wants to fall in love.. The pool bar was excellent and the staff are very nice and helpful. Belize has an excellent and large coral reef so we really enjoyed snorkeling. We also did ziplining but it wasnt that great since it was just short . I would highly recommend anyone to stay in.this hotel and visit Belize

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank butterfly2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.8 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $266 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing