We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome location!”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Stilwell, Kansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An awesome location!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our seond time to stay at Coco Beach Resort in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. We loved it just as much this time as we did 2 years ago! Fun pool, nice staff, clean facilities and rooms and a great location. It is a quiet place...our boys ages 13 and 11 were lucky enough to have another family from CA show up with their boys the same age. They had a great time together. There are restaurants on site and within walking distance or you can take a golf cart or the water taxi to town for dining. We opted for a week long golf cart rental and stocked our own fridge. This was part of our "experience" on the Island. The back road is MORE than bumpy and not for everyone. The water taxi is faster but doesn't allow for you to be flexible with your time in and out of town. You must go on their schedule. Our family provided some goods to one of the local schools, Holy Cross Anglican School. This school is located at the North side of the bridge. They have a wish list on their website. We spoke with Lydia (volunteer coordinator) and had a tour of the school while on the Island. You can rent bikes from the hotel and golf carts if desired. We also rented snorkel equipment for a day and snorkeled at the reef just in front of the hotel. You use the free kayak's to get to the snorkel area. We took two boat tours with Capt. Steve Rubio on the boat No Rush. He and his crew do a great job. We booked this on our own, not through the hotel.
We really liked meeting the front desk staff of Coco Beach as well...Tula, Zoby and Moncho were especially helpful. Larry the Pool Guy will keep you in smiles and towels and keeps a very clean pool, too. Lotion and his wait staff did a nice job with the food orders while Armando, Amir and Dane kept the Pina Colada's flowing. You should also try the Monkey Banana drink with or without rum.
The wind can pick up a bit so I suggest you have a sweater, shawl, long sleeves and/or pants for some evenings. We did need bug spray one night but that was it.
If you want quiet, relaxed and beautiful take a look at Coco Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Because we were with our boys we opted for a room closer to and overlooking the back pool. This woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    235
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
377
695
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Highly recommend CoCo Beach! The moment we got to the resort we were treated like we were the only ones staying there. By the end of our stay we knew most of the staffs names and they knew ours. The views were amazing!!! The rooms were comfortable and luxurious! The pools were fantastic and perfect for relaxing! The food was very fresh and delicious! Cocoblanco (restaurant at the resort) was one of our favorite places to eat! We traveled there for our honeymoon and then stayed for my sisters wedding!
We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited Coco Beach Resort with my boyfriend. We had a really nice time and it really is beautiful. We were a little surprised at how things "died down" at night. The pools at Coco beach are beautiful and fun - they include a swim-up bar, hot tub, water slide (in the "kids" pool) but oddly enough the place became like a ghost town after dark (around 7:30). I think that use of the pools after dark was discouraged by the lack of lighting, which is weird, because the swim-up bar stayed open until midnight, I think.

Regardless, this place was lovely. They have their own dock where you can catch a boat to San Pedro (about a 15 minute ride). The views are beautiful, the rooms are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. We stayed in one of the condos right on the beach. It is pricey but lovely. Larry the pool guy was the most gracious and helpful of all the staff. I was surprised at the number of mosquitoes in the dry season. Take bug spray and wear it liberally. The roads are just horrendous on this island especially if there is any rain. Stick to the water taxis. Although we did enjoy a golf cart ride north to Mcafees house and the house where the victim was murdered.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caribchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just came back from Coco Beach Resort and I must say that after reading all of the reviews, I was somewhat disappointed with our stay. Like others who have reviewed this property, we have also traveled from the Mediterranean to the Caribbean... First and foremost, It's a nice property. If you are looking for a Caribbean beach/sea, this does not compare. Beach is nice but people from the island call is Sandy Point for a reason. Lots of sand blowing ... The water at the beach is shallow and with sea weed - your feet sink in to the sand as you walk in.

Pool area was very nice and the kids loved swimming and jumping from the big rock from 7am to 7pm.

The hotel is pricey and its not fair to complain about it after the fact as I knew what we were paying before we left. But the value you get for the price doesnt compare to luxury all inclusive resorts that you might find in Cancun with similar beaches.

If you still do get here, here are some things to know:
1) Behind the hotel (on the other side of the dirt road), there are two shacks serving tamales ($3BZ) and breakfast burritos ($2BZ) - this is where the staff eats - so get your breakfast and lunch here

2) Water taxi of $10 US round trip/person can get to be pricey - you can rent a golf cart for 2 hours for about $25US. You should definitely experience both - golf cart may be the less expensive option if you want to head to San Pedro more than once.

3) In San Pedro, check out Pupuseria across from Waraguma is a great local place - burritos and pupusas are the specialty. Nick, the Operations manager recommended El Fogon also but we didnt make it.

4) Hol Chan Marine reserve is great snorkeling for families - our 11 year old thought it was the "coolest thing ever" - Check out http://grumpyandhappy.com/ for a private tour - reasonable price and they take care of you and the marine reserve. Jolene and Lorne were really nice and capable.

5) Look for Larry the Pool Guy - he will also take care of you!!!

Room Tip: stay in the back of the hotel in pool view villas.. the hotel rooms may hear lots of noise with kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CDarveaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is absolutely a dream property! Post card background that doesn't dissapoint, The only disappointment was the restaurant, quality of the food didn't match the price. They also didn't serve breakfast, which forced us to find other arrangements. This being said the room was fantastic, the grounds where beautiful and the beach well kept up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickmetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Two couples...We booked our 2 bedroom condo through vrbo.com. The facility looked just like the pictures in real life. The master suite was phenomenal. The 2nd bedroom was small and did not have the same amenities as the master suite. (no TV, had to walk across hall to bath and 2nd bath was smaller) Flipped a coin for bedrooms. They arranged our airfare from Belize City to San Pedro, taxi met us at the airport, drove us the 3 blocks to boat landing and took us by boat to resort. Staff was amazingly kind. Made you feel right at home. Our condo was just above the swim up bar and overlooked the pool out to the sea. Very picturesque! We took a kayak out to the reef (1/2 mile) easy paddling and snorkeled there. Beautiful little fish and sting rays. Hardest part was getting back in the kayak one you get out:) No restaurant to eat at the resort so you were forced to walk to the resorts next door or down the beach for breakfast or lunch, but they were short walks and some tasty food! 2 modes of transportation on the island. Water taxi or golf cart. We bought the water taxi pass for 5 days to get back and forth to town. Loved the captain of the boat...he always took good care to make sure we didn't miss the boat back to the resort! Rented a golf cart one day and explored the island. If I had it to do over, I would have rented the cart the first day because we found so many great restaurants and shops when we explored. Make sure you go on the snorkel trip to Hol Chin and sharks Ray Alley. Worth the money and beautiful! Saw some amazing sea turtles, coral, sting rays and sharks! Friends went on the Mayan ruins, Zip line, Cave tubing trip and said it was amazing also. Bought fresh fruit in town every day and found several little bakeries with great breads. I would definitely go back to visit. Heard so many people say they would like to retire there, but I like a little more civilization and sanitation than what Belize offers.

Room Tip: E2 overlooks swim up bar. B2 is right on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisGolfinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
973 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing