We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time but felt that it was overpriced”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a great time but felt that it was overpriced”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Coco Beach resort on the penthouse floor. Don't get me wrong, I had an amazing time and the hotel room was gorgeous with a breathtaking view. But, I felt that it was ridiculously overpriced, close to $900/night for a 3 bedroom suite. The food at the hotel was not good and also overpriced. The only problem is, to get to downtown San Pedro, you would have to take a water taxi that only runs once or twice every hour with the last taxi returning to the hotel usually at 10p.m. So if you wanted to go to the bars/clubbing in town, you would either have to leave and catch the last taxi at 10ish or wait until the morning when taxi services starts back up again at around 5a.m. This was very inconvenient because we had to plan our day around the taxi schedule. Other than that, this hotel was great. The service was great. The staff was very attentive. From when we first arrived, being greeted by a very nice Belizean lady, to the front desk, to housekeeping. I have to make a special shout out to the pool bartenders, they were very friendly, warm, and was a lot of fun! Tip: instead of buying souvenirs at the airport or gift shops, sit outside of the hotel or rest on a hammock and local people would sure come by and sell you their crafts and other local souvenirs. It's not only cheaper but definitely more authentic too! I'm sure (if you don't mind the price) you will have a good time there! Don't forget to watch the chicken fight ever thursday or tuesday in town, so much fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    231
    54
    19
    7
See reviews for
369
689
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I thought our room was just right for my husband and I. TAKE YOUR OWN SNACKS! The weather mid-January turned on us, but we enjoyed it nonetheless. The pools are great and clean. The restaurants along the beach are great when walking. Have lunch at one and dessert at another. If you pack a back under the plane - take plenty of bug spray. A can there can be $12-15.

We did not rent a golf cart, like many do. The walking was easy and the scenery great. We rented bikes nearly every day for about $5 each. We used those to ride North on the beach to RoJo's - Great Food! If you go to town and you must ride a bike to town, eat on the 3rd street, the bigger the street number the cheaper the prices.

Snorkeling even in rain was fun! We did the horseback (not so much), Xunantunich ruins (great) and the zip line (so cool). The transport around was long, but we got a deal WITH the flight to the main island at $275 each. be careful.

Room Tip: Every room is great, you don't have to stay in a Casita to feel like you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Firstly I'd like to mention that i come from a very strong hotel and catering background along with my whole family. The following are true about this place;
POOLS> The pools are simply awesome. Shallow pools for kids and deep for the more confident swimmer. The stone island at the back of the property in the pool is a little dangerous and should be climbed with caution. We saw a lot of accidents and experienced a few ourselves on the jagged rocks. But its still fun.
ROOMS> Clean, New and very well maintained with all the necessities you could possibly want. Comfortable beds and excellent maid service.
WELCOME AND SERVICE> Literally 5 star for this category. From the reservation all the way to checkout we were accompanied and they even planned our transition fully to the airport giving us our schedule and escorting us all the way to the boat. Everyone was cheerful and incredibly attentive.
FOOD> The Cocoblanca restaurant is really quite 'over the top' for its surroundings but having luxury isn't exactly a bad thing. Food wad tasty and service was great. The rooftop restaurant was also good. Generally this location has many to choose from and a ten minute boat ride gets you to the town with lots on offer for the more budget conscious traveler.
RESORT> New and incredibly well designed. Easy to get around, Very cool Iguana homes, Pristine beach and lush vegetation.
We will be returning here and we cant wait. If you are reading this don't consider any more, Just go.

Room Tip: pool view villa 8A = awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realcorkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazen, AR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Coco Beach in January 2013. This was our third trip to Belize. The first two times, we stayed in town in San Pedro. This time, we decided to do something different and stay up the coast at Coco Beach. GREAT DECISION! We absolutely loved it here. (And don't worry about getting to town. There are plenty of water taxis that take you there in no time at all.) The resort is gorgeous, immaculate and has some of the best staff anywhere!!!! We knew we were at a 5-star resort when Nick, the manager, met us at the boat and personally showed us around and to our condo. The staff at the bar and the pool are phenomenal. Larry, the pool guy, is GREAT and took really good care of us, as did every member of the Coco Beach staff. Our 2-bedroom, 2-bath condo was beautiful, with a huge covered patio, full kitchen, and roomy interior. It was very clean when we arrived...with lovely fresh flowers placed in the condo...and the housekeeping staff did a great job of keeping it clean the whole time we were there. I would definitely recommend this resort and hope to go back very soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melodie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here and had one of the best vacations ever. After our air conditioning wasn't working in a condo unit, we were immediately upgraded to a casita. Best upgrade ever. It was truly like having your own house, was very nicely equipped and had that "carribean" feel to the place.

The staff was very friendly and the cleaning staff were wonderful.

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melnickta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Coco Beach in December after spending 6 days on a catamaran with Belize Sailing Adventures. Coco Beach was JUST what we needed. We had an amazing room overlooking the pool and Caribbean. Coco Beach went out of their way to make us feel at home, especially since our friends were renewing their vows after 20 years of marriage! Gorgeous resort, great location, amazing pools, fun bar! We really loved the pool with the slide and cliffs to jump off! Will surely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigskyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Amazing experience at Coco Beach Resort. We are staying in the casita, it is gorgeous, all the conveniences of home and more. Wifi acces in room and throughout the premisis, amazingly comfortable beds, the new restaurant on site is a beautiful setting for a romantic dinner, pool bar is great for snacks (pizza, nachos, etc.), both pools are beautiful, the local coffee is awesome, the property is immaculately maintained, if you get up early you can see the friendly and hard working staff racking up leaves that fell from all the lush greenery throughout the property the night before. There are great places to relax and catch some sun or you can access tuff e nuff tours on the Coco Beach dock for an adventure. Upon our arrival Zoby met us at the Coco beach resort dock with cool washcloths, a tour of the premises, and first class welcome that set the tone for the exceptional services we are receiving. My husband went deep sea fishing and after the team of guys caught a barracuda the guides cleaned it and the chef from Coco beach prepared it, so cool.
My perspective on this trip was a viewed through a little different perspective than my husband, but we both had a blast. I AM 6 MONTHS PREGNANT and can not say enough good things about the curteous and helpful staff, especially Larry the pool guy, who seemed to always be around when we needed him, and so polite! He is the perfect example of what this Texas girl calls southern hospitality! My husband and I were talking about the coconuts in the tree so he retrieved 2 from the tree, cut them open, and showed us how to drink the coconut water (delicious) and get the meat out. My coconut remained in its pure state and was amazing, my husbands was given a healthy dose of the island's rum and he and some friends said it was awesome. Spa services, Mani/pedi/massage are available for you either on the beach, on your balcony, or in your room and my husband brought exercise bands on the trip and used our balcony as his personal workout gym since there wasn't a workout room on site. Coming from a high maintenance, very pregnant, spoiled southern woman, for the price and outstanding amenities, Coco Beach Resort is a must go!!!!

Room Tip: Go with the casita close access to everything on the resort and could not make you feel more at home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing