We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco Beach - Secluded gem in Ambergris Caye”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coco Beach - Secluded gem in Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My fiancee spent several great days at Coco Beach.

The staff was great, the rooms clean, and the grounds exceptional. They were very accomodating in allowing us to add a day to our stay after the airline screwed us up and caused us to miss the first day of our trip.

I don't have much to add to everyone else's reviews - Coco Beach was lovely.

Only gripe is that the restaurant still isn't finished - everything else was incredible.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTK965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    236
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
378
698
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just got back from Coco Beach and loved our stay. San Pedro is a cute town, but we were so glad we stayed north on the island where it's quieter and cleaner. Our condo was fully stocked with pots, pans, and fantastic appliances. I wanted to take the coffee maker home with me!! The pool was so fun and impeccably maintained. We bought a $20 weekly water taxi pass through the hotel which worked great for getting back and forth. Will be perfect once the restaurant and grocery store open on site! Wake up for sunrise on the beach- it was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This Resort is 5 star with excellent/approachable staff. The verandas are large for relaxing, reading and looking out to the Ocean and Reef. Waves don't break on the beach but you can hear the surf just 1/4 mile away breaking on the reef. The breeze off the Caribean is pleasant even on warm days. The 2 pools offer wading to the pool bar or in the deeper pool swimming laps.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipshapecarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I booked Coco Beach Resort because it looked really nice considering how reasonable the rates were. So nice in fact, that I was certain that it would be as nice as it looked in the photos on hotels.com. Boy was I wrong! It was incredible! My amazement began when we got off the water taxi at the marine terminal and there was a representative from the resort there to pick up hotel guests. I hadn't printed out my confirmation from the hotel, but he had a list of customers for check-in that day, and verified that we were on it so we didn't end up at the wrong hotel. This guy turned out to be a water taxi driver that ferries guests to and from the marine terminal for arrivals and departures. Once we arrived at the dock at Coco Beach, we were greeted by another hotel rep who offered us towels to freshen up, walked us to the front desk, and had our luggage unloaded and delivered to our rooms. The checkin clerk at Coco Beach greeted us with a tropical drink before processing our check-in, then walked us to our room, gave us a brief tour, and explained any incidental charges that could be incurred (phone call rates, room service, etc), and showed us how to work the TV, etc. The whole resort is designed around a pool and courtyard landscaped with sand and tropical plants. All the walkways are sand and the sand goes right up to the pool, so you really feel like the whole resort is on the beach, which I loved. I didn't wear shoes the whole time I was at the resort -- I'd only put them on to go to dinner or into town (despite being from the southern US, going barefoot in public isn't typical for me believe it or not). The room was actually a condo, with an open concept living/dining area and kitchen with mahogany cabinets, stainless steel appliance, and granite countertops. The bathroom was similarly luxurious, and the bed was huge and comfortable. There was also a table on the porch outside where we'd sit and have coffee in the morning. The windows and doors blocked all noise from the outside so the condo was quiet at all times. The resort also had a pool bar, and a restaurant under construction. Re: the construction, they had enclosed the structure under construction so there was no noise or workers hanging around if you were lounging by the pool. We ate once at the restaurant at Belizean Shores, which is their sister resort next door. It was mediocre and the sister resort was in need of an update, so hopefully Coco Beach's restaurant will be up and running if and when we go back.
In my opinion, the only drawback of this place was the location, about four miles from San Pedro town. The problem is minimized by the two water taxi services that pick up and drop off guests at the resort's dock and ferry them to and from town, which takes about 10 minutes each way. The resort was offering a 5-day water taxi pass with one of the services for $20, which we bought and it was a great deal. With a little planning around the water taxi schedule, we took most of our meals in San Pedro and did some shopping there as well. The taxi service was very reliable and always on time. And my husband enjoyed the boat rides.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourgeois_Yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 8 nights in one of the villas facing the magnificent pool. We were traveling with three other couples that stayed in the hotel section of the resort. We were all very happy with our accommodations. The villa was wonderful for all of us to congregate for breakfast and happy hour. Belize is beautiful and the people so warm and friendly. I have to commend Coco Beach for their superb customer service. It was the best. Anything we needed and asked for was immediately received. A special thank you to our maid, Jaclyn. and to Larry, the very cheerful pool guy. Also want to extend our thanks to Corina and Mark for their hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2PenceTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

was supposed to stay for 10 days but stayed for 3 weeks! the staff and facilities are perfect. will go out of their way to make you comfortable. tuff e nuff provided great excursions and they take you right from the resorts beach. super easy to arrange anything you want, just ask.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metaz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Rey, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had an amazing time at this hotel/condo. The pools and condos are amazing at this hotel. I am not the type of person to lay around the pool when there is a beautiful beach, but here you could lay by the pool and still see and enjoy the beauty of the beach. You could snorkel right off the beach or use their free kayaks and see beautiful fish and turtles. The water is calm, warm, and beautiful.

We pre ordered food to be delivered to our room before our arrival which we were really thankful we had done. The restaurant wasn't open yet when we were there only the top deck next door. The food there was fine but not great which is pretty much true all over the caye. We walked down the beach by moon light almost every night to different restaurants which were all good but not great especially considering the prices but this is Belize. The food was the only down side to the entire trip, we were thankful to have bought duty free alcohol at the airport and to have the groceries in our room for breakfast and lunch, it saved us a lot of money! The little kitchens in the condo make for a very comfortable stay, we could even use the plastic cups in our room to make our own drinks to bring out by the pool. We did enjoy the happy hour a the bar though and the staff there was great as well, they also can sell you frozen pizzas that they will heat up for you or you can heat up yourself in your condo.

We booked all of our excursions at the dock next door and got great prices by asking for them. We went diving two days and did a day long inland adventure to cave tubing and Mayan ruins which was a very long day but completely amazing.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizkittyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
7.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
3.9 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing