We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ritz-Carlton type property in Central America!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Colony Island Villas
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is our 4th trip to Grand Colony and we will always stay here. We are timeshare owners here and it is one of the best investments we could have made for our vacation experience and value. We own a 3 BR oceanfront villa and it is a 5 star property by a mile. Beautiful huge patio overlooking the ocean. Gorgeous granite countertops in the kitchen with upscale stainless appliances and Cuisinart cookware. We have been here this trip for 3 weeks and have not been disappointed one time. We started our trip with the onset of Tropical Storm Alex and ran out to collect candles and a lantern only to find out that GC actually has a generator! When the power went out around 6 pm we had an immediate phone call from the front desk to make sure we were all OK and assure us that the generator would kick on in less than 5 minutes. True to their word it did and we resumed cooking dinner and having a great time while we looked outside and the rest of the island was dark.

We were also promised wireless internet in the condo and I have been happily Facebooking away and blogging vacation photos. Great wireless connection. The furnishings here are beautiful upscale Belizean mixed with some nice touches from home like Pottery Barn sofas and bedding. We have had fantastic daily housekeeping from Francesca that rivals my cleaning person at home! Whenever I picked up the phone to call for an extra pitcher, a barbecue grill or a large bowl we had one at the door within minutes. Service here is above and beyond!

The pool is absolutely beautiful and very relaxing. The only thing a resort of this caliber really needs is a restaurant and bar but I am informed that they have plans for one very soon so we are looking forward to that on our return. The location is PERFECT! A leisurely walk or bike ride to town but a golf cart is preferred. All of the great restaurants are within 5 minutes on a golf cart. Much better than being way up north where everything is a water taxi or 30 minute golf cart ride on terrible roads away.

Wonderful experience as always and so glad we made the investment that we did!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RP8133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Grand Colony Island Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

As an experienced traveler, I have to say that Grand Colony Island Villas exceeded my expectations. The staff was professional and very courteous and often went above the call of duty. The concierge June Flowers treated us as if we were guest in her own home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdorce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Just returned and had a fabulous time the condos fully equiped were beautiful
the staff could not have been more pleasing
the views were looking out on the reef
the units were 2 and 3 bedrooms all with wide balconys
I will definately return again and again and they had wifi

Samantha from Florida

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Grand Colony is located about 1 1/2 miles south of San Pedro Proper. They offer a van shuttle for pick-up on arrival and drop off on departure. I suggest renting one of the standard golf carts for transportation to go back and forth and exploring. The Villas are just like new and have all new appliances. It is just like being at home execpt you are on a vacation island. The air conditioners work great, the rooms are super clean, the pool is outstanding and the staff extremely freindly. Noise was almost non existant. This has to be one of the best properties on the island. We will return again and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perutraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I cannot really begin to describe all the marvelous things about Grand Colony. The staff was superb. Kindly, available, yet discreet. Frank was terrific as were the women who tended our room each day.

The accommodations are top notch. Each apartment has numerous details such as Island-made furniture that is handsome and robust. The closets were artfully designed and constructed of gorgeous mahogany. The appliances were first rate.

These details are the supporting cast to an all star line up of a fabulous view from our room of the ocean and just beneath our room, the delightful pool. The grounds, too, are wonderful and expertly maintained. And somehow a serene quiet pervaded our days there so that total relaxation lulled us away from our worries.

There are many fine restaurants in Ambergris Caye, our favorites were Wild Mango and Hidden Treasure.

A quick ride into town from our accommodations was arranged by Frank at the front desk; indeed, Frank and his staff are simply second to none!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilimarlene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Recently stayed at Grand Colony Villas in Belize. This luxurious resort is quiet and relaxing but also in close proximity to SanPedro (just a liitle south) The villas are beautifully appointed and very comfortable.
The pool area is well maintained and landscaped beautifully as well. You can view the beach while sitting at the pool sipping a cocktail or Beliken.
Although there is no restaurant on site, Rico's next door is only a short walk on the beach. You can charge at Rico's using your room number making it very convenient.

However, the best thing about Grand Colony is the staff. They are friendly, accomodating and always available. They can make reservations for any excursion and also are quite good at recommending local restaurants.
This is our second time staying here and we will definately stay again when we return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pskypala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here in June and the Grand Colony Villas were more than we expected. A/C works extremely well, rooms are immaculate with local belizean wood ceilings and marble countertops and floors, and the staff were great. June, your "activities advisor", was amazing and help us with every aspect of our day to day activities if asked to do so. She also set up some different travel necessities for us that were not just provided tours. Our balcony overlooked the pool and had a clear view of the beautiful Belizean waters beyond the beach. The GCV's has a good clean beach compared to some of the other spots on the island (even though in general Ambergris isn't known for it's pristine beaches due to all the sea grass that lines the ocean floor and drifts up onto the shore). They have a huge dock that different tour providers can pick you up from also which is a plus compared to some of the shanty things that pass for docks near by. When we were there I felt like we had the whole place to ourselves b/c there were only about 5 of the 30 or so villas that seemed to be oocupied. It's realistically about a 25 minute walk to town so having a golf cart here is very nice if you want to do things in the heart of town especially at night, but it is also nice to have a little privacy from the hustle and bustle of downtown. I would definately stay at the GCV's again if and when I go back to Belize!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookemdustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
11.9 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
6.5 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Colony Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Colony Island Villas

Address: Sea Grape Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $252 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Colony Island Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colony Island Villas features luxurious suites. 3 bedrooms beachfront, 3 bedrooms partial sea view and 2 bedrooms partial sea view. Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, with spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea and the barrier reef. Kitchen is fully equipped, central air conditioned, with washer and dryer. Pier 366 Seafood House by the beach serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reserve a tour with the onsite dive-shop and tour center or just relax in our 3-tiered fresh water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Colony Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Colony Island Villas Hotel San Pedro
Grand Colony Island Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing