We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Colony Island Villas
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We absolutely loved the Grand Colony Island Villas. Super nice and very large villa with state-of-art kitchen. The pool is beautiful and the grounds are meticulously manicured. Staff went above and beyond -- always offering helpful information and catering to our every need. We highly recommend this gorgeous resort and would definitely feel honored to stay again upon our return to San Pedro.

Room Tip: We stayed in a partial ocean view villa and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mhender433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHabet, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks Mhender433. It was our pleasure having you here with us and allow us, the entire staff,to make your stay a memorable one. Thanks again and hope to here from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    34
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
124
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Grand Colony Villas December 2013 for 4 nights. We had just come from San Ignacio, and as much as we loved that, it felt so good staying in this air conditioned and comfortable room. The staff was very helpful and always greeted us with a smile and were more than willing to help us whenever we wanted to use the free bicycles or kayaks. The Villas are just a short bike ride into town or the staff can hail you a taxi. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivetoTravel8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHabet, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Liveto Travel,

It was a great pleasure having you here with us and do appreciate your sincere comments greatly.
The entire staff thank you and wish you the best of 2014. Hope to keep in touch in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Valencia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Grand Colony offers one of the best places to stay on Ambergris Caye. The luxurious, but relaxing accommodations include two or three bedrooms, each with its own full bathroom, gourmet kitchen, and living room with a couch with a hideabed. The hand- crafted furniture is made of Belizean multicolored wood. In the master bathroom, there is a Jacuzzi tub. Grand Colony has a limited number of rooms, which keeps the property relatively quiet. We usually stay in a villa facing the pool, which is a few short steps to the beach, but there are also accommodations right on the beach. The villas all have a nice outdoor patio area ideal for morning coffee or using the free wifi. Staff will arrange flights from and to Belize City, where commercial flights from the U.S. land; they also pick up villa guests or pay for their cab fare to the villa. Grand Colony is conveniently located just south of downtown, within walking distance to San Pedro, as opposed to some of the hotels or condos which are well north of San Pedro that necessitate taking a boat taxi into town. Grand Colony is a fantastic place for families as it allows time together, but space for time apart. Reservations as far in advance as possible are recommended, especially for school holidays like Christmas and spring breaks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHabet, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Dear. It was a pleasure having you here with us.Thanks for your review. The weather has been great today as we continue going forward and finding ways to better our service to you all.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here and it was great. Quiet, clean (no evidence of previous guests), peaceful and a short walk into town. Very spacious for the money and excellent attentive staff. Our initial space was on the lower floor which didn't work for us and they quickly prepared another unit for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHabet, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you EECP for choosing us for your short vacaton. It was our pleasure having you here and hope that your next visit is longer as there is so much to do. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just spent a week at Grand Colony with our family in Unit 1. I cannot say enough about all the help Frank and Romar gave us during our stay. Frank made flight arrangements for 7 of us on Maya Island Airlines before we arrived, provided our requested food list for our first night,
and gave us the same room for our entire stay even though we came in a day early.
Frank and Romar gave us excellent restaurant suggestions. We went to "Hidden Treasures" twice. We also enjoyed "Hurricane" a very local small restaurant right on the water.
We rented a 6 seater golf cart which worked well for our main mode of transportation on the island.
The dive shop personnel treated us so well from beautiful dive and snorkeling trips to a great all day BBQ fishing and snorkel trip. We caught several fish including a large Pompano! Victor, Louis, Pedro, Tony, Ian and the entire staff were very accommodating to all of our requests. I would highly recommend Grand Colony and Belize Pro Dive Center for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean front room but all the rooms face either the pool or ocean. The resort is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHabet, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Foodie44. It was great having your family with us and we are very pleased to hear that you all had a great stay and enjoyed all the tours. Our staff continue to do their best to make all valuable guest as yourself enjoy what we have to offer here in Belize.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We loved Grand Colony. The entire staff, from Frank, Romar and Sylvia at the front desk, through security Louis and Victor, as well as housekeepers Maria and Maria, were wonderful and satisfied our every wish. We had a great cab driver, Juan, who showed us a bit of San Pedro Town and a great place to buy seafood. The restaurants, especially The Hidden Treasure, were all terrific. It was a very needed and relaxing vacation week. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Unit 6 is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clcaviness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHabet, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Dear,
:Thanks for being here with us. The entire staff enjoyed serving you to make sure you stay
with us was a relaxing and memorable one. Hope to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This year will be our fifth year vacationing in Ambergris Caye. Spending much time traveling this world, prefer to vacation in Ambergris Caye at the Grand Colony. We plan to retire in 2015 there. When we visit for a vacation we always stay at the Grand Colony. There are no better accomodations on the Island. Mr. Frank and his staff provide a five star level of service measurable by worlwide standards. They are there to help with every detail. Don't waste your time looking any further for your dream vacation accomodations on Ambergris Caye.....you will find it at the Grand Colony. Perhaps some day we will bump elbows at a local beach bar and raise a toast. Travel safe my friends and visit the Grand Colony as soon as you can. Eva Dittrich

Room Tip: Every room in the Grand Colony is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank eva d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHabet, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Friends from Baltimore. Thanks for your review. it is alway great having you here with us.
The Staff conntinue to do their best in making sure our guest all have a memorable vacation here with us.
Thanks again and see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
973 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
5.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
843 reviews
6.5 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Colony Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Colony Island Villas

Property: Grand Colony Island Villas
Address: Sea Grape Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Colony Island Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colony Island Villas features luxurious suites. 3 bedrooms beachfront, 3 bedrooms partial sea view and 2 bedrooms partial sea view. Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, with spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea and the barrier reef. Kitchen is fully equipped, central air conditioned, with washer and dryer. Pier 366 Seafood House by the beach serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reserve a tour with the onsite dive-shop and tour center or just relax in our 3-tiered fresh water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Colony Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Colony Island Villas Hotel San Pedro
Grand Colony Island Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing