We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Colony Island Villas
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Location”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family has just returned from a trip to San Pedro and Stayed at the Grand Colony Villas. It is THE place to be because of the convenient location, excellent service, and comfortable amenities.

Situated on the south end of the island, The Grand Colony is close to two of the best restaurants on the island - Rico’s and Victoria House. There are several good groceries and a fruit stand within a short walk’s distance. Downtown and the airport are minutes away. On the beachfront, there is a dock, which is readily accessible for boats to drop off and pick up. For water activity, the villas overlook the channel that leads to shark ray alley, so snorkeling adventures are easy to reach.

The service at the Grand Colony is impeccable. When we arrived, Frank Habet, the property manager had our golf cart ready, food stocked in the kitchen from the provisioner, and had booked a snorkeling outing for the next day’s adventure. He was gracious and accommodating. The staff was very friendly and assessable. Housekeeping kept the villa immaculate and security kept a watchful eye without seeming omnipresent.

The villas themselves are beautiful with mahogany built-in cabinetry, granite countertops, and a large kitchen. The children loved the big screen TVs in all of the rooms with a variety of channels that satisfied everyone’s interests. I am particularly picky about bedding and enjoyed the sheets and fluffy pillows.

Everything was clean – including the outside areas. The pool never saw a leaf. Even the beach was raked on a regular basis, and that is difficult to maintain due to the sea grass that is a fact of life on the island – hence the opulent seas life.

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on the island and recommend that you check it out.

Room Tip: This is a small, intimate facility. All locations have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for your great review, we all make sure that you our valuable guest have a great and relaxing vacation here with us. Our staff like to hear and the they make sure you leave with great memories of us.

Thanks again and hope you hear from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    34
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
124
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a great visit, me and my family loved it. The customer service was great, but I disliked that there wasn't a formal front desk. The room was fabulous, great beach views and a quick hop to the beach. The beach was disappointing, with seaweed and trash, and you couldn't snorkel there. We chose to go out on a boat and snorkel, which was AMAZING. I highly recommend Hol Chan and the Shark and Manta Rays snorkeling spots. It was a once in a lifetime thing. The pool was great, and our favorite restraunt was Rico's. My personal favorites were the banana pancakes and the fried shrimp. The seafood here is the best I've ever eaten, we watched the fisherman bring in the fish and shrimp for our dinner. Overall it was a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachPrincess3733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks for the Review.
We currently have someone dedicated to cleaning the beach but there are time of the year where no matter what isdone, there will be seaweed and trash that floats in. It has been speculated that the trash is from cruise ships that dumps their garbage out at sea and end up on the beach.

The snorkeling is definitely great at Hol Chan and Shark Ray. All tours or sight seeing needs to be done with a guide and boat since the entire beach is enviormentally protected and so we cannot take out the sea grass that is growing close to shore, but we do try our best to keep our beach clean everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Many thanks to Frank Habet, Carlos, Junior, Silvia and the entire staff. You made our vacation one the best ever. Everything was perfect, Pan met us at the airport and gave us an explanation of where we were and how to get around. Our room (s) had the most wondrful citrus aroma daily thanks to the ladies who took care of our room. the appliances were all first class and we had coffee provided so we could make our own in the morning. The pool sparkled, the landscaping was immaculate as was the beach. We appreciated the daily breakfast, snorkling and the bikes. We put a lot of miles on those and saw most of Ambergris Caye by using them instead of the carts.

El Divino next door is first rate and the breakfast was always first class. Dinners were exceptional and probably the best grouper we have ever had.

Ricos is the secret or as some may say "Da Bomb" - Ruby is the chef and makes the best ribs we have ever eaten - had those 2 nights in a row, Lobster grilled and Thermidor is not to be missed. Minnie, Manual, Domingo and (Olivia?? young lady with child) made each meal memorable as well as a lot of laughs during dinner and Happy Hour.

Carlos from security was a wealth of local knowledge and mesmerized us with the way certain herbs, clear stones and other remedies were (still) used due to the lack of medical facilities in remote locations.

Got to meet Dennis Wolfe and listen to his songs which were great!

Thanks to all

Room Tip: I would say you cannot miss no matter which you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Our staff and management would like to thank you for staying with us. We sincerely hope we met your expectations and that you have a handfull of memories(good ones) of Grand Colony.
If there is any thing you feel that could have helped in making your stay much much more enjoyable, please do let us know.

Thanks again and hope to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My other half and I have been visiting Belize since 2006. We have stayed at several places on Ambergris Caye; but, Grand Colony has been our home away from home for the past 4 visits. The staff is very accomidating, the rooms are spectacular, one just couldn't ask for more. We enjoy the free bikes to ride into town and they have new kayaks for the guests. You will not be dissapointed with your stay at Grand Colony.

Room Tip: We enjoy the third floor room views. The stairs are a hike but worth it for the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrgnfli37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
It was a pleasure having you here with us as always and look forward hearing from you again.
Many thanks for your review as we continue our best to make our valuable guest as yourself,
have an ejoyable and relaxing time here at Grand Colony and the Island of San Pedro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I were the lucky winners of a free 5 night stay here. We've stayed at many different places on Ambergris Caye; but, this one was, by far, the best! We were promptly greeted and taken immediately to our room which had tile floors throughout. The master bedroom had a beautiful jacuzzi tub and there were granite countertops everywhere. The kitchen was filled with stainless steel appliances - dishwasher, garbage disposal, trash compactor, etc...and plenty of granite counter space. We had a very nice sized balcony with a table and 4 chairs overlooking the pool. Big flat-screen TV and leather furniture in the living room. Pretty much- all the comforts of home PLUS more! The staff was super friendly and eager to help. Would highly recommend Grand Colony to everyone! Just wish we could've afforded to buy our timeshare here!

Room Tip: There are no restrooms by the pool so you may want to get a 1st floor room right by the pool if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tstiles007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Manager at Grand Colony Island Villas, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you so very much!!! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We do try to offer our guest the best service possible!! We do hope you return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Five of us spent 6 wonderful days at Grand Colony. The resort was fantastic and the people were helpful and knowledgeable. Carlos. one of the security team, was helpful at providing information. The Grand Colony also provides free bicycles for riding into town. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 104Johnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend 3 wonderful weeks at GC, first week with 2 other couples and the last week with just one other couple. It was our second time here and once again it didn't disappoint. The staff, Romar, Frank, Maria, the guards, everyone, all treat you like family and cater to your every need. Highly recommended to anyone going to Ambergris Caye, for any reason.
Thanks to all!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallrejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
974 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
5.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
844 reviews
6.5 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Colony Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Colony Island Villas

Property: Grand Colony Island Villas
Address: Sea Grape Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Colony Island Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colony Island Villas features luxurious suites. 3 bedrooms beachfront, 3 bedrooms partial sea view and 2 bedrooms partial sea view. Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, with spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea and the barrier reef. Kitchen is fully equipped, central air conditioned, with washer and dryer. Pier 366 Seafood House by the beach serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reserve a tour with the onsite dive-shop and tour center or just relax in our 3-tiered fresh water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Colony Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Colony Island Villas Hotel San Pedro
Grand Colony Island Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing