We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but over priced,”
Review of Miramar Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miramar Villas
LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice - but over priced,”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We had a 2 b/r unit,
Pros:
- Unit was nice enough.
- Full kitchen
- We had a good view.

Cons:
-The complex is far out of town, and not near food - drink - shopping or activities.
- The complex is very small with no "beach area", just a sea wall.
- There is no staff on-site to help or answer questions.
- The pool is very very small.
- There was a lot of construction going on. (this is probably temporary)
- after looking at other properties during our stay, we found that there are many other Nice condo's at much better prices.


Not bad - but I would not stay there again (depends what you are looking for - not my first recommendation)

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teek-e-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenk2, owner at Miramar Villas, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
In response to this review, it appears that the travelers did not find out enough information about the property before they booked their stay. Many of the items they list as cons are specifically stated in the public descriptions of the property. The complex is 2.5 miles from town. It is a small residential complex with 10 units. Because it is a small complex, it has a small pool. Because it is a residential complex, we do not have a restaurant, tour guide, activities desk on-site, etc. However, the rental staff are available to answer questions, book activities, etc, and there is various other staff available 24/7(housekeeping, maintenance, security, etc) in case of emergencies or to get a quick suggestion about places nearby to eat, etc. There may have been construction nearby. As with any destination, the activities of the owners of nearby properties cannot usually be controlled. This is a temporary issue, as the construction will cease when the adjacent property is completed. As the other guests can testify, Miramar is a great, small property that is not located in town but is easily accessible from town. More information can be found on our websites. Thanks for your interest in Miramar Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IOWA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is our third stay at Miramar on San Pedro. We feel so blessed to have found this beautiful location. We have traveled to many sites such as Maui, Jamaica, and Cancun, however Mirmar villas on San Pedro is the BEST!!! It is a wonderful destination--close to town yet far enough away for that true island feel. Miramar is beautiful inside and out--tastefully decorated, one-of-a-kind ocean view, and great pool. We can't say enough about this true paradise.
On this trip we renewed our wedding vows out on the Pallappa--very romantic and unforgettable!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unbelizeable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed at the Miramar from mid Jan. until end of Feb. We found our 2 bedroom unit very clean and everything worked well. The grounds were kept clean and tidy by a grounds keeper during the day and the property manager was on site in the evening. A security service is present overnight. The fresh water pool and area is very nice, well maintained and with both sun and shade. It's not a huge pool but it is only shared with 10 units. In our 6 weeks there it was seldom crowded and there were always loungers available. There is ample parking for your golf cart (recommended). The dock has a swimming platform, ladder to access the water and lots of room for boats etc. not to mention 2 loungers so you can enjoy your morning coffee and watch the sunrise! There is a bar 3 properties south and another bar and restaurant 15 minutes walk north on the beach and stores, more restaurants, and the south end of town another 10 minutes walk. We would definately go back for another extended stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach-n-sun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nauvoo,il
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Stayed at Miramar Villas June 18 thru July 1, 2008 It was a very needed break and we could not have asked for a better getaway.
The water is clear and blue. The sand is white. You can fish, snorkel, or just lay around the pool and relax. You can eat in or go downtown equally easy.You can do as much or as little as you like. It was good for adults as well as my 12 and 9 year old boys who would play in the surf all day or searching the beach for shells. Very nice experience would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — flights
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Snorkel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

This wonderful 3 bedroom condo on the beach was a fabulous place for one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever been on. Not only was it reasonably priced, but the condo itself is beautiful and has plenty of deliciously cool air conditioning. The fridge has bottled water attached so you can easily make safe ice and drinking water. The location was a short 10 minute golf cart ride to the heart of San Pedro and a short boat ride to some of the world's best snorkeling. There were numerous restaurants and grocery stores nearby including one large air-conditioned grocery store. The locals will tell you not to go there since it is not a locally-owed grocery store but they have everything you could want and fairly decent prices. There was a night watchman every night and daily maid service. The pool is an eternity pool and a heavenly break from the warm sun. It is a small complex and very quiet. The condo owners were very friendly and helpful and recommended local restaurants. Bellikin Beer distribution center is nearby and sells cheap soda, bottled water, and shrimp. There is also a local sausage factory nearby. I highly recommend this destination and condo for your next tropical vacation.

  • Liked — The setting was incredibly gorgeous and relaxing.
  • Disliked — Nothing- it was perfect!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Miramar Apartments
Miramar Apartments
#18 of 19 in Placencia
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Villas

Property: Miramar Villas
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Villas offers beautifully-appointed two and three bedroom, oceanfront suites. Every unit has been individually furnished and decorated by the owners. Wireless internet, washers/dryers, televisions with cable access, ceiling fans and central air conditioning are standard at Miramar Villas. Units have private patios with unobstructed views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests at Miramar Villas can use the infinity pool, palapa and private pier. Miramar Villas is located 2.5 miles south of San Pedro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miramar Villas Hotel San Pedro
Miramar Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing