We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of our favorite places!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramar Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miramar Villas
Save
You added Miramar Villas to your Saves list
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have been to Ambergris Caye before and have tried a couple of different places to stay. We are kind of particular in that we have to have free WIFI and definitely prefer a television in the bedroom. We also love to have enough room to have people over if we like. We went to Ambergris Caye in March and ended up booking Miramar as a default because several of the places were already booked up. I was nervous after reading some of the reviews but was hoping for the best. Mary was very helpful in getting us booked and answering all my questions.

Miramar is south of town by about 2.5 miles which was okay by us since we wanted to get a good feel for being on the south side. We rented a golf cart knowing that it was too far to walk and after being in town and listening to music, the hours could be late that we would be returning to the condo. We arrived about 3:30pm into the San Pedro Airport and Brittany was there waiting to pick us up. We piled into the van and headed south. When we arrived, they were still cleaning our condo so Brittany sent us over to Mr. Joe's (a small restaurant across the street) and bought us a beer. Soon the condo was ready and we started unpacking. We stayed in Unit 6 which is on the top floor with an incredible view and the condo was beyond beautiful. Very roomy with granite counter tops in the kitchen and stainless steel appliances. The only complaint I had was that the balconies are very small but still big enough for a couple chairs and a small side table. The bedrooms are large and the bathrooms are a nice size as well. There were 3 of us and we had plenty of room to move around. Lots of closet space and a couple of safes to lock your valuables in. The property is very quiet and relaxing and the pool, while small, was big enough! We were provided with minutes to use on the phone in the unit which proved very helpful when our golf cart got a flat! There is also a washer and dryer but you will need to buy your own detergent. The ladies come every other day to clean the condo and wash the sheets and towels and they do a great job!

If you are looking for a party crowd or a property with a bar, this isn't it. We prefer the peace and quiet and when we are looking for more we head into town. You are close enough to everything and Mr. Joe's is now a Tex Mex Restaurant from what I understand and I can't wait to try it. On your way to town you will find plenty of fresh produce and markets and when you come back late at night, there is always security at the beginning of the south end. There is a strong neighborhood association and they take great pride in their part of town.

If you have any questions about this property, please feel free to email me. We are headed back in 2 weeks and guess where we are staying? Yep, Miramar!!!

Room Tip: Unit 6 rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParadiseDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I am so eager to write my review of my stay at Miramar Villas. We have just returned from our trip and am feeling absolutely relaxed. We were on the first floor in a two bedroom villa with a pull out couch in the living room. It was so nice to feel at home because we had all the ammenities we are use to at our own home. The views were extraordinary with a perfect breeze everyday. Even though we were a few miles out of town, that was not a problem. We had a golf cart which made it so easy to get from place to place and it alowed us to see all aspects of the island. One of the most convenient aspects was the fact that Suya tours picked up right at our dock for our snorkeling adventures. The pool was perfect for my family and child as well not to mention their staff from the cleaning service to the property manager were all very helpful even to the point of cutting down a coconut for us to try. I can't say enough about our stay and encourage others to rent from Miramar Villas. I have never had a better vacation!!! Thank you! Stacy

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper36554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed in Unit 3 of the Miramar Villa Dec 31-Jan 8, 2011. There was loud construction in progress as well as music playing throughout the day from the building under construction next door as well as unit #4 in the building (this construction should be completed now). The owner failed to disclose the situation to us when we signed the rental agreement in November or prior to our arrival in December. As a result, we could not stay in the unit during the day due to the noise. Also, several "ammenities" in the posting are not accurate. There is no wi-fi in the unit, the beds are small, the cookwear in the kitchen is worn and in poor condition, the window coverings are very sheer and do not block the sun in the morning (we had to hang blankets over the window so we were not up at 6AM), the couch in the living room is an old futon which has lost its form, the pool is in shade for most of the day.....and it goes on. I STRONGLY suggest you stay at another location....we found much better accomodations available at a lower rate when we were looking to move because of the noise. If you decide to stay at this unit, be sure to obtain written confirmation from M&M that the ammenities posted exist and there is no noisy construction in progress in the building as well as next door.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squaredw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalpalmvillas, Manager at Miramar Villas, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
This posting is completely inaccurate. The unit next door had unforeseen emergency tile repair done by the owner. This work was completed quickly and we compensated this couple
$400 to enjoy a nice meal out from the Management Company personally. The advertisement is for a queen size bed, her husband is 6'2 so I think a king bed would have been more suited which we do not offer. There were problems with the internet which now have been resolved and all the units have free WIFI
Our staff did everything they could to make sure this couple was happy
and my manager offered for them to enjoy a relaxing time at the resort and restaurant very close
to Miramar Villas while the tiles next door were being repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Visited Ambergris Caye Saturday, 01/08 through Saturday, 01/15. We were picked up at the San Pedro Airport by Britney of M&M Rentals and escorted to our 2BR,2BTH condo at Miramar Villas (10 Unit Facility) about 3 miles south of town. Quiet location overlooking a great pool and beach area that is protected by a concrete break wall. Wonderful view, from pool or condo dining/living area, of the protected waters inside the reef with access to salt water swimming via a long pier that stretches out into the bay. Well equipped condo; full kitchen, washer/dryer, internet, cable TV, housekeeping, cell phone and lots of room. M&M arranged for our golf cart, to be delivered to Miramar, which is necessary to get to and from town; which we enjoyed each evening going in for drinks and dinner. Caesar and Marfa (Grounds & Housekeeping) are great people. There is a small store (Mr. Joe's) with very good cooked food and drinks nearby. During our visit, our two daughters (19 & 23) dove all week with Rudy Duran of Island Divers. They did 16 dives between them during the week including an all day trip to the "Blue Hole". Island Divers picks you up at your dock, so you avoid the early trip to town. Great people with vast boating and diving knowledge and experience. Upon leaving Britney picked us up at condo and took us to the Airport. We flew Mayan Air in and Tropic air out to Belize City Muni Airport. Great peaceful vacation with wonderful weather, food and people. Much fun! Looking forward to our return next January.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OHIODIVER1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We just returned from Ambergris Caye and wanted to report that we had an amazing stay at Miramar! The accomodations included all of the comforts of home, including comfy beds, plenty of space, laundry in the unit, great kitchen, and very clean. The grounds are very well maintained. The staff is friendly. It truly is a gem hidden on Ambergris Caye. If you want a new, clean, updated place to stay on the island, this is it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunandfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed here for a Family vacation.
This was our second visit to San Pedro.
We were very disappointed with this Lodging, and feel that the property is Very Misrepresented !

The Rooms are Way overpriced, compared to others on the Island.
Our room was very dated looking and run down for a "newer condo".

Lots of "clutter" and "stuff" laying around the ground of the property.
The Pool is very small, and was not working during our stay.
There is a small sandy area for the kids. But Nothing else for them to do.
No Staff on site, and out of Town location makes it inconvenient.
Loud - Kept the kids awake all night, and crabby the next day.

I would Not Stay here Again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiggleSnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenk2, owner at Miramar Villas, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Many of the items listed negatively are clearly stated in the descriptions and on pictures of the property. It is a small, residential complex, and we do not have a restaurant, tour guide, activities desk on-site, etc. However, the rental staff are always available to answer questions, book activities, etc, and there is various other staff available 24/7(housekeeping, maintenance, security, etc). There may have been building maintenance going on during this stay, if there was "stuff" and "clutter" on the property. Regular repairs and upkeep are often completed during low season when we typically have the least amount of visitors. The owners take great pride in keeping our property in great shape. Regarding the interior of the units, since each is individually owned, the decorating style is reflective of the owners' tastes. There may have been construction nearby that contributed to the noise, but usually, this area is very peaceful. As the other guests can testify, Miramar is a great, small property that is not located in town but is easily accessible from town. More information can be found by viewing our websites or contacting us for further information. Thanks for your interest in Miramar Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We had a 2 b/r unit,
Pros:
- Unit was nice enough.
- Full kitchen
- We had a good view.

Cons:
-The complex is far out of town, and not near food - drink - shopping or activities.
- The complex is very small with no "beach area", just a sea wall.
- There is no staff on-site to help or answer questions.
- The pool is very very small.
- There was a lot of construction going on. (this is probably temporary)
- after looking at other properties during our stay, we found that there are many other Nice condo's at much better prices.


Not bad - but I would not stay there again (depends what you are looking for - not my first recommendation)

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teek-e-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenk2, owner at Miramar Villas, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
In response to this review, it appears that the travelers did not find out enough information about the property before they booked their stay. Many of the items they list as cons are specifically stated in the public descriptions of the property. The complex is 2.5 miles from town. It is a small residential complex with 10 units. Because it is a small complex, it has a small pool. Because it is a residential complex, we do not have a restaurant, tour guide, activities desk on-site, etc. However, the rental staff are available to answer questions, book activities, etc, and there is various other staff available 24/7(housekeeping, maintenance, security, etc) in case of emergencies or to get a quick suggestion about places nearby to eat, etc. There may have been construction nearby. As with any destination, the activities of the owners of nearby properties cannot usually be controlled. This is a temporary issue, as the construction will cease when the adjacent property is completed. As the other guests can testify, Miramar is a great, small property that is not located in town but is easily accessible from town. More information can be found on our websites. Thanks for your interest in Miramar Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribe Island Condos
Caribe Island Condos
#45 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
#9 of 28 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Villas

Property: Miramar Villas
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Villas offers beautifully-appointed two and three bedroom, oceanfront suites. Every unit has been individually furnished and decorated by the owners. Wireless internet, washers/dryers, televisions with cable access, ceiling fans and central air conditioning are standard at Miramar Villas. Units have private patios with unobstructed views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests at Miramar Villas can use the infinity pool, palapa and private pier. Miramar Villas is located 2.5 miles south of San Pedro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miramar Villas Hotel San Pedro
Miramar Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing