We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and quiet, perfect spot on the beach!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked through Christine and were more than satisfied with the trip!! We went with another couple, that we met down there and Christine was great setting up payment options for each of us separately. We also booked a day sail, our local flights, and golf cart through her as well. It was wonderful to receive an e-mail FULL of local information, as well as recommendations for groceries, dining out, etc. When our flight arrived, she had a taxi pick us up (he was a few minutes late), and take us to Sunset Beach. We were unit C3, which is a few flight of stairs, fine for us because we are young and healthy, but someone who may not be able to make those flights - be warned. The door was open and Judy arrived to greet us almost immediately. The golf cart place drooped off our cart soon after. Everything we booked through her was wonderful!! The place was very clean, with a great view!! Nothing 'fancy' but perfect for an island getaway!!!

Room Tip: If you have any conditions that make going up and down stairs difficult, make sure to make a request...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JodiLynneMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 79 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

this is a return trip for us to Sunset Beach. The staff was just fabulous and dealing with Deb is always enjoyable. They work very hard to make your trip one you will remember forever. Again they were successful. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed in condo C1. It is on the ground floor. There were 3 bedrooms and a sleeper sofa (2 baths). There were 5 adults and 2 kids. The pool was clean, it was mostly for the kids, I didn't use it much. The beach is right out the front door. There is a concrete retaining wall along part of the beach front. The beach is relatively small, but clean and quiet when we were there. We stayed in March. It had just rained a lot for several weeks. While we were there it was warm (85 F) with a strong breeze on all but 2 days. There is a lot of turtle grass in the water, so don't expect a typical beach type swimming situation. The water is very shallow as well.

The best part of the water was a small artificial reef under the palapa at the end of the dock. See the attached pictures. There are a ton of fish under the dock, so it is a great place to get in some free snorkling, and for new snorklers to practice.

I highly recommend flying to the island from Belize City. I took the water taxi (Tropic Ferry). It was a long ride, a little over one hour. The flight is about 20 minutes. I took the flight mid-week to visit the mainland, and it was much easier.

San Pedro, the main town, is about 15 minutes north by golf cart or bike. That is where the airport is. It was nice being a little bit south of town to avoid a lot of activity and noise. I didn't get to see much of the northern part of the island.

There is a little corner store right behind the condos where you can get basic food items. There are plenty of larger markets in town. There were a few good restaurants around. We tried to avoid restaurants to save some money. Prices aren't too bad for a resort town. Dinners are $10-20 depending on what you get. US dollars are accepted everywhere ($1 US = $2 Belize).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebBennett, Owner at Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Glad to hear you like the little man made "reef" the Sunset Beach owners helped create under the pier. Nature did the rests. The turtle grass is very important to the island ecological system and helps the reef stay healthy. We love the marine park at Hol Chan- so many beautiful fish!
Thanks for your comments. Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

On our previous trips to be Belize we stayed close to town and decided to venture further south this year. We weren't sure how we would like having to take the golf cart every time we wanted to go to town. Well we loved it! Very peaceful and quiet after staying in town. Great condo and great pool. Everyone was very friendly. Best of all, great prices!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbiemU4552RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our stay at Sunset Beach Resort (Unit C4). We had a wonderful stay, and would highly recommend the resort for anyone considering a very quiet & relaxing stay on San Pedro. Both Deb and Judy were extremely helpful and easy to communicate with before and during our stay and were able to accommodate some special requests (extra person and an extended stay). The unit was very clean and comfortable and the resort was extremely well maintained. Please consider what you want during your vacation before booking on Ambergris Caye as this resort is about a 10 – 15 minute taxi (or 45 minute walk along the water front) into San Pedro (proper). So if you plan on doing a lot of sightseeing, shopping, etc., factor the US$10 (each way) for the taxi and what that will add to your overall budget before considering renting a golf cart or booking a place outside of town. We only did one trip into town each day, so it was fine for us to go the taxi route, but depending on how long you are staying and how many trips into town you make, will depend on what you decide on. Fly fishing guides and Dive operators, etc. will pick you up at the pier, so that’s a non-issue. All in all a great stay and we would definitely book again as we appreciated the remoteness, relaxation and quiet that Sunset Beach Resort offers

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was our first time to San Pedro, unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate with us a great deal. We understand from the locals that it was an unseasonably wet year. We were lucky to be here for three weeks and managed to still get a few sunny days. We managed to walk the beaches most days and noticed that this property had some of the nicest maintained grounds in a 2.5 mile stretch. Chapin does a great job keeping everything looking great and running smoothly!! The unit we had was well supplied with dishes if you wanted to do a little cooking. Plenty of towels, etc. The only thing we didn't like were the flies and they were everywhere, not just at Sunset Beach...and I understand, that was because of all the rains, or so I was told. Wouldn't be afraid to come back at all. Also, we have never seen friendlier people anywhere we have ever traveled!!!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom unit. Interior unit, so you have no side windows if you want to have windows o...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolS1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The condo and location couldn't have been more ideal! Great beachfront and terrific, charming, clean condo. Deb answered my emails promptly and the information she provided made me feel completely comfortable about arriving to a place I'd never been before. Everything upon my arrival worked like a charm- the concierge and caretaker did a fantastic job! Loved just sitting on the private pier and watching the world (and fish) go by! Food and music in San Pedro was great. I especially liked Fido's on the water for live music and Sunday bar-b-que. I will be back and would definitely recommend Sunset Beach to everyone.

Room Tip: I would say all condos are equally great. They all have views of ocean and access directly to privat...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.8 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.4 mi away
Caribe Island Condos
Caribe Island Condos
#51 of 53 in San Pedro
64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel San Pedro
Sunset Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing