We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Condo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great Condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed in Sunset beach resort a total of 3 times. Every time, it's amazing!! The condo is very pretty, well maintained, has everything that you will ever need. Location is great!!! How can you go wrong with being directly on the beach? The owners have every fun thing you might need available - from kayaks to bikes. You do have to bike to town, but it only takes about 10-15 minutes to bike (or 30 minutes or so to walk) and it's well worth it to be away from the town itself.
There is a great tour company onsite - you have to use Suya (not sure of the spelling) Tours - the owner Carlos is amazing and all the people that work for him are great. We have done a number of tours with them - beach BBQ, multiple snorkeling trips, ruins, zip lining, cave tubing, the zoo. Having the tour folks onsite and having them depart from the dock of the sunset beach resort is so convenient.

There is also a cute grocery store nearby that is well priced, so you can get food to cook at home if you don't want to go out for every meal.

Deb, the owner is very helpful in providing various suggestions of things to do, how to get golf carts, etc, etc, so planning our vacation was a snap!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

You know when you're in a tough spot and you need to visualize your "happy place" to bring peace and calm? Sunset Beach is literally my happy place. It is difficult to describe the pristine beauty walking down a few steps from the condo to the beach and pier, right outside your door. You can walk to live music, good eats, and a fun local watering hole just up the beach, or grab a bike and head up the cobblestone road right into town. The accommodations inside were just what we needed - modern world amenities with local charm and comfort. If I could figure out how to work remotely, I'd live there! A true gem that I can't wait to visit again-

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a great week. Condo was clean, quiet and on the beach. I could not imagine a better vacation. Close to town, great team taking care of the property. They were very helpful. There is a great tour company on site. They will set up snorkeling, tubing or fishing for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlarson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, OH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in C2 and I loved it. Plenty of room, fully equipped kitchen (I juiced oranges every morning!) The sunrises were lovely, the porch and hammocks very comfortable. We booked two snorkeling tours with Suya Tours and we left from our dock. Our daughter was married on the beach and it will always be a beautiful memory for us.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkwdtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We were here on january 2013 , right after NY . the weather were very nice , 75-80, partly cloud, and wind ... nice warm wind ...
Location is perfect if you like to walk !! You don't have to rent a golf cart , again, if you like to walk :). It's about 30-40 min, but on vacation when you have all time in the World and trying all types of new food it IS very helpful:). On the way back to resort you can always take a cab - about $10 US.
The Condo was nice, big and clean with very convenient kitchen . We were cooking vegetables at home a lot . The best , extremely cheap way to buy food -when you go on a tour to the main land , just ask your driver to stop at the food station . They usually know the good inexpensive places .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VikaZiegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit here (C2). Nice big balcony overlooking the beach. well equipped full kitchen, stocked with lots of spices if you want to make your own meals. There is about 9 units in the development, with another similar development right next door. small pool, horseshoe pit, dock. Suya Tours right outside the unit, small corner market, small tex-mex restaurant nearby. this is at mile 2.5 south of San Pedro and at our time of travel, the paved road ends at mile 2. About a dozen bicycles available for guests for free to ride and they provide the locks as well - we took this downtown in the late afternoon and it was a pleasant ride. also several free kayaks/life vests for guests to use as well. All the snorkel/dive operators do pick up from the dock. Taxi rides are approx equivalent of USD10 one way into town.
Only complaint I have is wireless connectivity - intermittent at best. Not clear if it is the provider, or set up, or both.No tech support available but onsite manager will reboot when you ask.

Room Tip: I believe all units have balconies facing the beach, southeast facing. great for watching sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiawithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently stayed in B1 at the Sunset Beach condos. All of the condos were outwardly very well maintained. And I can only vouch for B1 that the interior was as well. The grounds were very well kept. Chapin cleaned the pool every day and was always about taking care of everything. He even rehung a hammock for us that had fallen down prior to our arrival. The pictures on the internet are exactly what the facilities look like -- not like some of the deceiving pictures that some facilities put on the internet. Dee was especially helpful with the many questions we had prior to arrival and with restuarant and shopping suggestions after our arrival. The corner market was very handy, as was the Suya tours right across the street! Very happy with the Cave Tubing tour through Suya Tours. Also took the Catamaran Snorkeling with Lady Leslie Tours. It was great! Their equipment is top notch as well as their staff. Highly recommend Sunset Beach condos!

The trip into town takes about 10 minutes by golf cart, so golf cart is a must, in my opinion. But the fact that the location was a little bit out of town made it all the more quiet and relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribe Island Condos
Caribe Island Condos
#50 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel San Pedro
Sunset Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing