We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel del Rio
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hotel del Rio was a great place to stay. They were very reasonably priced and offered great rooms. Management was very friendly and helpful. We felt that they went out of their way to provide simple things for us to make our experience enjoyable. The rooms were very nice and clean and the location was great. Only one complaint, we did find two cockroaches hiding under our hand towel one evening. We did exterminate them, so if they were the only two there should be no problems for future guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    65
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
92
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel for my entire stay on Ambergris Caye. I initially booked the bungalow that was closest to the road but asked to be moved to a room with air-conditioning. I found the bungalow far too hot, noisy and we did encounter some cockroaches. Luckily, we were able to be moved to a room the following night, which had air-con. It made a huge difference to have air-con and the room was located towards the back of the property, which meant it was quieter. The hotel is basic but it is cheap. All the staff who work there were very helpful during our stay. I have to comment that although the website states that there is high-speed internet available in all the rooms, this is not the case. We could not get internet from both the bungalow and the private air-con room. In order to get wifi, we had to leave our room and stand closer to the office in order to obtain access.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this quaint hotel. It was managed by the sweetest family. The rooms were clean and the vibes were awesome!!

Great view of the beach and only a few minutes walk from everything!!

Best deal in Ambergris Caye!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dj-dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
We appreciate you staying with us at Hotel del Rio. Thanks Jim Seale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I gotta say the place is located in one of the best spots on the the island. AMAZING view!! As soon as you step out of the hotel you are looking at the beach front! We had a room on the second floor with double doors! We opened them up and felt such a nice breeze come in the room! Its not a 5 star hotel like other reviewers will say, but its got everything you need and its comfortable. If you are looking for 4-5 star accomodations I recommend you go to Cancun or elsewhere. This place is to be enjoyed "as is". One of the few places where you still get the authentic island feel. The hotel does not have A/C in the cabanas but the breeze from the sea is so nice! It does include WIFI and hot water, clean sheets, frige.

Room Tip: choose room No.# 7 on the second floor. It gives you a nice view to the sea and you can also open u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 3 nights and found the quality of the hotel to be the best bang for you're buck on the island. The rooms were clean, AC efficient and frequent housecleanings. While it is located north of the main town, and requires a 10 minute walk to downtown, its very worth it. It allows for peaceful quiet nights away from the noise at night and is still close enough for downtown to be easily accessible. The best highlight was the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful, especially Javier. He would recommend places and services from companies that were very reliable and highly rated as opposes to other hotels who recommend a company to get kickbacks. His advice for places to eat and things to do were also invaluable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
We appreciate your stay with us at Hotel del Rio. Jim Seale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I love this little hotel. The little cabanas just far enough off the beaten path and on the water. While the hotel doesn't have air conditioning, the breeze from the water and listening to the birds in the morning was wonderful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimjacomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here the first week of March 2014. I must admit that I am spoiled on high end hotels, but in this case, it was well worth not having A/C as there is always a breeze blowing through. We stayed in an upstairs, Rm #8. It's sparse, but I get great vibes from this place. We originally scheduled 2 days, but decided to stay the rest of the week. Really friendly staff and can't forget the thatched roofs and palm trees really adds to the vibe. The beach is right out front and it's far enough away from the hustle of San Pedro but not to far to walk to town.The price is very reasonable,especially considering the exchange rate. Staying here gave me more of a feel for Ambergris Caye and San Pedro than staying anywhere else. This place has REAL charm ! I will definitely stay here my next trip.....and we are coming back !!

Room Tip: There are air conditioned rooms available, but they are downstairs and do not have a view or balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1brainiac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Property: Hotel del Rio
Address: 1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#33 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing