We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for your Buck!”
Review of Hotel del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel del Rio
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Bang for your Buck!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I gotta say the place is located in one of the best spots on the the island. AMAZING view!! As soon as you step out of the hotel you are looking at the beach front! We had a room on the second floor with double doors! We opened them up and felt such a nice breeze come in the room! Its not a 5 star hotel like other reviewers will say, but its got everything you need and its comfortable. If you are looking for 4-5 star accomodations I recommend you go to Cancun or elsewhere. This place is to be enjoyed "as is". One of the few places where you still get the authentic island feel. The hotel does not have A/C in the cabanas but the breeze from the sea is so nice! It does include WIFI and hot water, clean sheets, frige.

Room Tip: choose room No.# 7 on the second floor. It gives you a nice view to the sea and you can also open u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    65
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
92
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 3 nights and found the quality of the hotel to be the best bang for you're buck on the island. The rooms were clean, AC efficient and frequent housecleanings. While it is located north of the main town, and requires a 10 minute walk to downtown, its very worth it. It allows for peaceful quiet nights away from the noise at night and is still close enough for downtown to be easily accessible. The best highlight was the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful, especially Javier. He would recommend places and services from companies that were very reliable and highly rated as opposes to other hotels who recommend a company to get kickbacks. His advice for places to eat and things to do were also invaluable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Owner at Hotel del Rio, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
We appreciate your stay with us at Hotel del Rio. Jim Seale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I love this little hotel. The little cabanas just far enough off the beaten path and on the water. While the hotel doesn't have air conditioning, the breeze from the water and listening to the birds in the morning was wonderful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimjacomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here the first week of March 2014. I must admit that I am spoiled on high end hotels, but in this case, it was well worth not having A/C as there is always a breeze blowing through. We stayed in an upstairs, Rm #8. It's sparse, but I get great vibes from this place. We originally scheduled 2 days, but decided to stay the rest of the week. Really friendly staff and can't forget the thatched roofs and palm trees really adds to the vibe. The beach is right out front and it's far enough away from the hustle of San Pedro but not to far to walk to town.The price is very reasonable,especially considering the exchange rate. Staying here gave me more of a feel for Ambergris Caye and San Pedro than staying anywhere else. This place has REAL charm ! I will definitely stay here my next trip.....and we are coming back !!

Room Tip: There are air conditioned rooms available, but they are downstairs and do not have a view or balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1brainiac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If great value and a cool local vibe is what you are looking for, I think the Hotel del Rio is great! We stayed in a palapa upstairs with a balcony view of the palms and sea. There was always a nice breeze in our room and slept with the balcony doors open. We had a small kitchen, but didn't use it. Very helpful and friendly staff....if fact, everyone in Belize is friendly. There is a table outside which ended up being a gathering place for travelers to share drinks and tell stories of their travels....kinda cool!
One word of caution: we did encounter some frustration with neighboring dogs barking/fighting in the night. The only bummer about staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjmillerDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We picked Hotel del Rio based on tripadvisor reviews. Upon arrival, we loved the authentic belizian feel of the outside, and it was a nice location - gorgeous views. The staff was excellent and helpful. At first, I was a little put off by the simplicity of the room. Very thin bedding, very simple decor. I soon realized this was the belizian way and we needed nothing more. We loved waking up to the thatched roof, the sea breezes, the sparkling waters. Amazing.

Internet is available here, but only in the common space. We wanted a golf cart one day, and the staff called F&S rental who brought the cart to the hotel and picked it up when we were done. Terrific! The bakery behind the hotel had wonderful pastries and was an excellent breakfast option.

We used Chuck and Robbies for snorkeling and diving and the hotel helped us coordinate that. It was located on the north side of San Pedro city, near a great park, and its location made it both accessible and quiet.

We had a great time. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Loved the Casita's.... private and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmiller915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was probably my third or fourth time to Ambergris Caye and I still love it. I love how close HDR is to everything. It's just a walk away. The fact that you can walk on the beach to get everywhere is super nice. I really loved the bakery across the street. We went there every morning! The Cabana Casita is nice but small. The Cabana Grande is fabulous and great for larger families. The staff was very helpful and friendly and never hesitated to do anything for us. Great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Property: Hotel del Rio
Address: 1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#33 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing