We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great service nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Rio
Save
You added Hotel del Rio to your Saves list
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great service nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

very good place to stay, with great service and help from staff. this is a quiet location, and has great views, and a perfect choice if you are looking to spend only a few days in san pedro.

The location serves well for the nightlife and to the many restaurants accessible in the main region, yet quiet enough and along the waterfront to wake up to an awesome sunrise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anubhavshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    64
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
86
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Javier at the office is awesome. So helpful and friendly. Not too expensive at Hotel del Rio and has a great location. Only downside is occassional barking dog to wake you at night, so bring earplugs. However, that one small aspect does not leave any negative impressions of the place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Javier Tomas and Ruth will treat u right! Fifteen minute walk from town center, quiet and yet funky neighborhood w bakery and small shop meters away! Beachside Casita is a bargain...gotta love mangrove shaded beach for morning yoga!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was a friendly, clean, quiet base in San Pedro. The location is perfect, just south of the bridge so easy access to the busy centre at the south of the island, as well as the resorts and bars to the north.

Our room was simple and clean with an en-suite bathroom, fridge and small balcony with sea glimpses. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful and the room was kept really clean and well maintained. We felt at home and at ease for the duration of our stay (one week).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have been to the Ambergris caye twice now and stayed at 4 of the most recommended hotels under $100. Hotel del Rio has been the best! Great location, not far from the action.The staff are amazing, and always available to help. We got our room cleaned every day, even on Christmas day. The towels and sheets are brand new and very soft, the rooms are clean, and the ground are well cared for. I will say the bed was on the firm side. We stayed in the second floor palms veranda and had a great view. We did not find the room too rustic for the price it was quite the opposite, with new paint, art, and nice tile floors it was very comfortable without losing the island charm. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff went above and beyond the call of duty, especially with Jock our dog. They helped us enjoy a very nice quiet stay. While staying there Javier helped us book another two days for the 'End of the World Party' and a place for the next day Just in case. ha ha They just ran out of space on the Mayan calendar. Javier went out of his way to help us, along with the house- keeping staff and her children who took care of Jock and would not take any money for a tip.

Room Tip: Two South Palapas have best view of the Carabbean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobaCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i spent a few days there and this was the best anyone can ask for==we were welcomed by javier who booked mayan ruins visits and snorkeling trips for us on the great barrier reef... it is a place where u and ur boys can come lay low for a bit..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#27 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Property: Hotel del Rio
Address: 1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#31 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing