We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquility at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Rio
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
St. Lucia
2 reviews
“tranquility at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

i spent a few days there and this was the best anyone can ask for==we were welcomed by javier who booked mayan ruins visits and snorkeling trips for us on the great barrier reef... it is a place where u and ur boys can come lay low for a bit..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    65
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
89
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This extremely well located hotel is north of sSan Pedro major attractions, in a quiet, breezy environment directly on th beach
Beautiful well equipped cabanas give you the confort you re expecting form a good hotel, and you ll find a team that welcomes you like a real guest who deserves attention : they are always helpfull and ready to take care of you; if you like it you can meet and play chess with the local Kasparov: his name is Javier and he will take care of you in any information you require

Room Tip: try cabanas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATANGANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved staying at the hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and helped us find excursions to our liking. The owner stayed on the property during our stay and we thought he was another guest. He mingled with everyone in the common area. The hotel was in a great location and we literally walked everywhere we went. Unlike many other hotels, the website accurately depicted the rooms and property. Our cabana was directly off of the beach and the breeze was beautiful. There certainly wasn't a need for AC. Even though the cabana was directly off the beach, there was privacy. Sitting off the dock or on the hammock at night with the ocean breeze, I don't see how anyone would have trouble relaxing. I was sad to leave the hotel and island, but can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Reserved the casita and was pleasantly surprised that I did not miss TV or A/C.
The hotel is right on the beach and has access to a dock for swimming. The cool
night breezes actually had me closing the windows! Javier was most helpful acquiring
a golf cart for me to rent. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We loved this place! It is nicely situated on the north side of town (an easy, waterfront 5-10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of town), which is perfect because downtown is pretty loud at night.

The views everywhere on the Caye are spectacular, and Hotel del Rio's are particularly wonderfully enjoyed from the center courtyard.

We stayed in the cabana casita in July, and we were fine with just the breeze at night. Don't let the lack of AC scare you!

Javier and Tomas were very friendly and tried to help us with any and all of our requests.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa3695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The people that work here made us feel incredibly welcome. They were extremely accommodating and went above and beyond.

The units are small and quite rustic. The bed is HARD and small for two adults. But this part of the island is the place to be. It is close enough to walk to the restaurants and clubs but still on the less touristy side.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niecespieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willard, mo., usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Wonderful place. The people are very helpful, and will go for the extra mile to keep the guests happy. The hotel is right on the Caribbean sea, with a beautiful beach. The rooms are very clean and breezy. We have come back almost a dozen times in the years.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jethrot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedrano Hotel
San Pedrano Hotel
#44 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Property: Hotel del Rio
Address: 1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#32 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing