We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
Nearby Hotels
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$298
$289
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$183
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$390
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
$399
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$320
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$217
$208
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
326
34
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
34
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden cabanahonor barthe main houseresort dogbeach pathbeachfront casitawater taxiin townambergris cayegolf cartfull kitchenfree bikesfront porchself containeda short bike riderum punchbring a flashlight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 361 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Cocotal Inn and Cabanas in Belize. We stayed in the Casita beachfront which was really nice, clean, and at a great price. The view we had drinking our morning coffee or our afternoon cocktail was breathtaking from the front porch. Our back door opened up into the pool area which was very nice and clean. Cocotal is very quiet, peaceful, great location, wonderful caring staff, and away from the crowds. Ernesto and Melida were very helpful in arranging our snorkel excursions. You must snorkel at Hol Chan Reserve and Shark Ray Alley. We went twice to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley seeing different fish and turtles each time. The cost was very reasonable.. We went on a 1/2 day excursion through White Sands and a whole day through Searious Adventures and both were fantastic. I must mention the famous dog "Mara" at Cocotal. When we walked to the restaurant for dinner, Mara tagged along and she would look back at us to make sure we were still on path. She would sit by our table and wait until we were finished and then escort us back to the room. Everyone at the restaurants would greet Mara by name and knew she was with Cocotal's guests. When we returned from our excursions Mara would greet us at the pier. She is very protective and such a sweet dog. There are several good restaurants to mention. Capricorn, Aji, and AkBol. We were not pleased with our Sunday barbecue lunch at Palapa Bar. Our experience was overall great at Cocotal Inn and Cabanas and we will be back.

Room Tip: Even though our Beachfront Casita was near the beaten path, it was still quite and the view is unforgettable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatonRougeTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and wish we never left. We had a horrible experience our first night at a hotel in the downtown area of San Pedro, and we were dying to go to the north end. When I read Cocotal's website and saw the pictures of their Cabana's we knew we had to get in there!! From the very second we were picked up by Jesus to bring us to the resort we knew we found what we were looking for. The staff is so amazingly attentive, friendly and helpful. Ernesto was so gracious in welcoming us, giving us tips showing us and always had a smile on his face. We stayed in the Peach Cabana and it was pure luxury!!! Everything about it was perfect. We LOVED having a full kitchen and didn't even care my friend and I had to share the bed. On the day one of the caretakers saw me trying to clean a conch shell and offer to do it for me because he said he had the right tools so I agreed. About an hour later not only did he bring the conch shell back clean but he had Varnished it as well!!!! That is what I call guest service. I will never stay anywhere else in San Pedro. All the extra amenities they offer are based on thoughtfulness and consideration for the guests. Free bikes to get around and explore. See kayaks for snorkelling trips. Honour Bar and Drinks so there was no time limit. Games and Books at the office for those rainy days. Such an great little resort! We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the ocean are more buggy at night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanteDog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and had a wonderful time. The staff is amazing, the location is divine and Belize is the best !! We stayed upstairs for the first 5 days and it was great to have some space. The porches are awesome. The bedrooms have a/c but not the living space. It was a bit toasty at times. Then we moved to a Cabana and that was awesome. We had a great view and loved how cozy it was. We kayaked out to the reef almost every day and rode the bikes around some. Lots of great local restaurants within walking distance and only went into town once.
I would return here and recommend this spot to anyone ! We loved it !!

Room Tip: They are all great ! Depends on what you want.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaoirisheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week and loved it. Initially, we had some reservations about the distance from San Pedro town (2.5 miles); however, it turned out not to be an issue. We used the free bikes to ride into town along the beach path (very fun). Another time, we rented one of their golf carts. Beyond going to the supermarket or liquor store, there isn't much reason to go into San Pedro. The Cocotal Inn has free use of Kayaks and snorkel gear to paddle. It is situated by several nice restaurants, bars, and a casino...all just a short beach walk away. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The Cabana's have full kitchens and are very cute. As of this writing, the Wi-Fi is not great, you will need to take your device to the outdoor "honor bar" area to catch a reliable signal. Management is aware of this issue and is currently working on a fix.

For dinner I would strongly recommend Ahi just a short walk down the beach to the right of the hotel. For snorkeling, take the kayak to one of the many buoys just to the left of Captain Morgans resort.

Room Tip: Cabana 5 is quite.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from Belize trip with my wife, daughter, her fiancé, my sister and law and wife's 80 year old mother. Spent a week at Cocotal. The service was great, the pool refreshing and we took full advantage of the kayaks and bikes. Great dining north at Capricorn and south at Aji, both easy walks even for our 80 YO. The mini reef at the dock was fun - even saw a nice lobster there. I chose Cocotal because I heard the bonefishing off the beach in that area would be good. While we did spot tailing bones every morning along the beach south, we were better at chasing them off that catching them. We've been to Belize 6 times and always hit Ambergris because we have a flyfishing guide we love there. This is easily the best place we've stayed.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Pleibig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews