We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$272
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)
$147
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$127
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$92
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$269
$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$108
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
154
27
5
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
27
5
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssapphire villawater taxiambergris cayeromantic beachgolf cartbelize citygrocery storesea grassorder groceriesfishrojo barair conditioningdirt roadin townthe property manageran amazing vacationeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 191 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

We were super excited to arrive at la Perla. We had been in email contact with a lady at the resort who then met us at the jetty. She failed to welcome us in any way... she simply marched us to our villa, pointed at the info book inside and left... no warmth, no chat.... nothing. Very underwhelming.
The villa itself (amber) was ok. Spacious. The kitchen equipment was old and a lot of it, unusable. There was no oven ware at all. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and the bedding old and scruffy. The bathrooms were ok but the curtains did not cover the windows properly and we were overlooked by another villa which was not ideal! The villa was however clean. On our last day the cleaners left the villa unlocked which is highly unprofessional.
The resort itself was tidy and clean . The pool area was tired and uninviting.
We hired a golf buggy for the week. Agreed in advance a charge of 300 dollars. Upon arrival we were told it would be 600... they only agreed our price upon showing the email proof of quote. The buggy itself was old and broke down 3 times. Very frustrating.
We were looking forward to long walks along the beaches which are described so beautifully in the resort info. In reality the beaches were disgusting. Vile. Every stretch was deep in litter.... no exaggeration .... even piles of bin bags that have been dumped. Our bit of beach in front of the villa was clean but one metre along the rubbish begins and it does not stop. No chance of a pleasant meander along the coast.
This is not a luxury resort. The people working there have lost interest and don't seem to want people there.
Avoid.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
5  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 17, 2017

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at La Perla del Caribe in Belize. We apologize for any negative experience you had during your stay and have worked to correct the issues. La Perla del Caribe hired a new manager on property with many years of Belize resort experience. We have gone through each villa to make sure they have all the amenities, linens and kitchenware necessary for guests and made any needed maintenance repairs. Our professional reservation service offers reservations for local tours, local flights and golf cart rental from reputable San Pedro companies. La Perla del Caribe takes our guest experience and feedback seriously and will continue to provide an amazing Belize vacation for our guests.
- La Perla del Caribe Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

We rented 2 villas. A 2 bed and a 5 bed. Both were very nice. Staff was wonderful. Provided bottled water and ice whenever needed. Location was perfect. Pool was nice. Walking distance to several great restaurants.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Settingsllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

The houses at La Perla are about a 20 minute golf cart or water taxi ride from San Pedro. Far enough so that there's no traffic around the complex, it's only guests.
Last Perla is about 7 individually owned castitas of different sizes, grouped around a common shared Pool, with one management company and an office on site. There is no restaurant or gift shop, but most days Toshiba the maintenance supervisor is on site to help out and answer questions. The pool area was always well maintained and never crowded. There is also beach frontage and a pier, but some sea grass that requires raking. The beach is OK.
We rented the Sapphire, 3 bedroom unit (5 day minimum), and it was huge! Probably 4k sq ft! It was plenty of space for a group of 8. Beach level was Grandpa's suite, with a bedroom, TV room and 2 bathrooms.
The Main level had a full kitchen, great room and table that sat 10. Also office, full bedroom and bathroom as well as 3 verandas. Top level was the master suite with full bath and room top access. The house was nicely decorated and felt comfortable. Staff came by most days to tidy up and freshen the linens.
We arranged for groceries to be stocked through Mata Grocery, a 5 minute cart ride away. Convenient, but not the best prices (everything is a bit pricey since it's an island) they carry cinnamon bread from a local bakery that's out of this world!
We really enjoyed La Perla. Town was too busy for us, we liked being farther away. And there are a bunch of markets and restaurants along the way. We went back and forth most days, depending on activities.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank DuncanDonutAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Ambergris Caye Belize was everything we thought it would be and much, much more. Beautiful and well furnished villa directly on the white sand. The Belizean people are warm and friendly. Did not have one bad meal as the food was amazing. Will definitely return. A+ all the way.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank susie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

We performed our wedding at La Perla Del Caribe, and it turned out to be better than we could have imagined. Planning a wedding at a place that you have never visited is definitely stressful, but the staff were so very helpful in the process of pre-wedding/pre-vacation planning, always easy to contact, and quick to respond. When we arrived, Jackie showed us around, and the place is awesome! During our stay their, there was only one other guest checked in, so we pretty much had the resort to ourselves. We used the kayaks, the bikes, and all of the staff (Jackie, Deona, Victor..I think is his name, etc. etc.) assisted us with getting around, setting up the golf cart rental, helping us/facilitating the excursions, even assisting us AFTER we left with an issue that pulled up with the golf cart rental company, which had nothing to do with La Perla. They were more than accommodating with our wedding. The location is about a 25 minute golf cart ride from the main town of San Pedro, but with that comes privacy and I felt safe. Despite the fact that it was a public beach, there were minimal people, they had multiple docks, there was a guy that came around in the morning and afternoon every day that we were their, selling burritos and tamales, for dirt cheap, and it was well worth it. The resort responded to our needs, be it assistance with excursions or providing us with ice/dish soap. The whole villa was cleaned daily, and I as well as all eleven of our group would stay here again!

Room Tip: The places are amazing, you can't pick a bad room.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews