We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Perla Del Caribe - The Pearl by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Perla Del Caribe
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Bulverde, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Perla Del Caribe - The Pearl by the Sea”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our dreams came true at La Perla a true pearl by the sea. We have been married for eleven years but never alone on vacation. Even our honeymoon was spent on a cruise with all of my husband's family. Now with our daughter in college, we packed eleven years into 11 days. Staying in Emerald was amazing. We dove, snorkeled, went to ATM in the jungle (which we were unprepared for, so do your homework), delighted in the food and beverage at MataChica,Portofino and the Jamaican restaurant within easy walking distance. The couples massages at MataChica were out of this world, so much so we rescheduled for the 90 minute couples massage before we left. The people at the resort were very friendly and we enjoyed interacting with them all. Jose, alway smiling, made it special for us when he would climb a coconut tree and return with a fresh coconut for us. That's an example of those little details that made the trip spectacular. It was surreal. We had the trip of a lifetime but now we will do this a couple of times a year. Having this to look forward to, will motivate us and carry us through the months of "reality." Security at the property was top notch.

Room Tip: Emerald was a gem directly on the ocean. I would swing in the hammock on the screened in room for h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at La Perla del Caribe two times in the last three years, and I definitely plan to return. My first stay was for my 40th birthday celebration with my girlfriends. We were amazed at the ease of which it was to arrive at the island and transfer to the resort with the assistance of the resort. Everyone at the resort was very helpful. We were also thrilled to arrive to find all of the groceries we had ordered prior to the trip wonderfully displayed and put away...thanks to Lagniappe Grocers!
My second trip was taken with my current fiance' this summer. I had such fond memories of my stay a few years ago, that I wanted to share the experience with him. Enrique was so helpful to us and helped arrange massages, jet ski rentals, and a fishing day! The villas are amazing in that they are located right on the beach, giving you the feel of your own private beach. They set out beach chairs for you and have kayaks there for your use at any time, no extra charge.

We plan to bring friends back for future visits! Thanks La Perla, and Enrique!

Cheers,
A Champagne

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom villas are directly on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went here and fell in love... not only with the man of my dreams but with the most beautiful place I have ever seen. We plan on returning often.

We stayed at Villa Sapphire, right on our own little beach. The accommodations, staff, and surroundings are breathtaking. This is the type of place you dream about. It was the single best vacation of my life.

The pictures and videos do not do this paradise justice! Take everything you see and multiply it X 10 on beauty.

A must is going to snorkel in shark/ray alley and neighboring hol chan. I would even say it is better than diving! We swam in a school of 20 nurse sharks as huge rays swam below us. Sounds scary but it's not they are there for the chum being thrown over the boat not to eat you :) Then the reef at hol chan is you and the entire ocean. Schools of fish, eels, a 5 ft grouper slowly swimming under you to check you out and slowly say howdy, a sea turtle having his lunch on some sea grass, an eagle ray swimming by your side as you head back to the boat. Magical.

After a day at the ruins we returned to our villa for an amazing meal prepared in our "home" by the cooks at la perla. The best lobster & shrimp ceviche with fresh chips was amazing after a long but thrilling day in the jungle.

Go, fall in love with Belize, have a great time. We can't wait to go back. Until then we will be dreaming of you La Perla!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pammyp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

ambergris caye: La Perla, Auction Divers, La Bella fishing guide, Carumba, Jambel's, Mata Chica, gracious hospitality, and the La Perla staff : A few of the fabulous experiences my husband, son 11, and I enjoyed during our recent visit.
the La Perla staff arranged our diving with a small dive company (action divers) so our son (11) would have the dive masters complete attention, which helped me enjoy the underwater beauty
we are already planning our next Island trip and enjoying the comforts of La Perla.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I (27 and 25) and his father found La Perla through a Groupon deal and decided to try Belize for the first time. Thanks to this wonderful resort, the trip was one of the best of our lives. Before our trip, we gave the staff at La Perla the information for our flight into Belize City and they took care of everything from there, scheduling our short flight from Belize City to San Pedro, a taxi service to take us from the airport to the waterfront, and a private water taxi to take us up the coast to the resort. Our travel plans went very smoothly and we didn't have to worry about a thing.

We stayed in Villa Sand, one of the 2 bedroom cottages right on the beach, which was beautiful inside and all very clean and well-maintained. The full kitchen had all of the equipment we needed to cook, and we ordered provisions ahead of time (recommended on the La Perla website) so we didn’t have to worry about grocery shopping. The view from our front deck was unbelievable, and the constant breeze kept the temperature cool throughout the villa and kept the bugs away.

Our concierge, Enrique, arranged all of our activities for us through SeaDuced by Belize (I definitely recommend any of their trips--we did the Lamanai ruins and zipline/cave tubing). On the days that we did the trips, we were picked up right on the end of our pier, and our travel and meals were all included. Enrique was great about planning the trips to fit your schedule, the weather, etc. and came by daily to make sure we had everything we needed. On days that we stayed at the resort we were able to relax by the gorgeous pool and take the complimentary kayaks out. There is a restaurant/resort a few piers down that rents snorkel equipment for cheap, so we were able to kayak out to the reef right from the resort and do some amazing snorkeling whenever we pleased.

Overall, our vacation was outstanding, and the staff at La Perla took care of all of our needs so we were able to sit back and relax. The accommodations were an ideal mix of modern conveniences with natural island beauty, and we felt like we got a five star vacation at a three star price. We will definitely be back, and I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom villas are right on the beach, but all of the villas are built with great outdoor/roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eworsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and two boys, 17 and 13 stayed at La Perla for two weeks recently. Our stay was more than perfect. The guys went out on several dives, including a night dive and I was more than comfortable staying back at Villa Opal alone. At times you feel as if you are on a deserted island because it is so private. It was truly the most relaxing vacation in every way. Enrique and Toshiba were always there to take care of your every need. If we chose to leave La Perla and have a boat pick us up to go to dinner, or if the guys wanted to plan and excursion, they made it happen. Blanca and Sandra were there every day to freshen our villa to perfection. We had the chefs come in the night before we left to cook for us and if we had planned that earlier during our stay, we would have had them come more than once. Their menu was spectacular! It was as good or better than any restaurant. It is so convenient to order groceries from Mata Groceries. Whatever you need they will deliver the same day. Most mornings we would walk to Portofino for breakfast or wait on the guys on bicycles to bring homemade burritos. We also had lunch and dinner at Portofino as well.On the days it rained, we loved having a pool table in the downstairs game room. We have many fond memories of playing pool together. We also rented a golf cart and one of our favorite outings was going to
Rojo Bar on the beach just down from La Perla. We loved their food and drinks. Overall, La Perla was a perfect vacation for my family and we will certainly try and get back there soon. It truly was our home away from home in Paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at La Perla as part of a combo trip. We split our time in Belize between Ambergris Cayae and inland at Hidden Valley Inn. The staff at both places worked together to make all the arrangements for travel between the two separately-managed properties. It was as easy of an experience as it possibly could have been, big props to the staff at both places.

At La Perla, we had my wife and two sons (7 and 9) in Villa Sapphire, and eight more family members right behind us in Villa Amethyst. What a perfect way to vacation. Enrique made sure that we were well taken care of, even while a tropical depression bore down on Ambergris Caye, knocking out power and internet several times. The wind was so strong, a few pieces of the door frame came off, and Enrique was on top of it, with his crew hammering in new strips of wood in the driving wind. Above and beyond the call of duty, really.

If you want to have an adventure-filled stay, there are plenty of activities that are easily accessible from La Perla, and the staff will arrange just about anything you want. Sea kayaks are just outside your door anytime you want to paddle out to the reef. The pool is great for kids. But if you just want to unwind and relax, La Perla is great for that, too.

Our villa quickly took on a "home away from home" vibe, and we were truly sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.0 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Indigo Beach Homes
Indigo Beach Homes
#11 of 30 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Del Caribe

Property: La Perla Del Caribe
Address: 6 Miles North of San Pedro | 6 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#31 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strolling lazily down a tropical white sand beach, a soothing azure sea lapping rhythmically at your feet, a Caribbean breeze stealing away the cares of the world as it brushes gently across your face… This is La Perla Del Caribe Resort.This Luxury Ambergris Caye Resort is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, the most popular vacation destination in Belize. La Perla Del Caribe captures the Caribbean ambiance of Belize in elegance and luxury. You can relax in the modern indoor-outdoor style of your private beach villa between trips to the pool and snorkeling - just offshore lies one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the pristine Belize coral reef. Or you can enjoy the vibrant life of the island – participate in village fiestas or sample local and international cuisine in the restaurants and clubs.Set off on sun-soaked Caribbean adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and scuba diving at the famous Great Blue Hole.Relax on your private mahogany sun bed and watch the herons stroll through the shallows. Laze by the pool while taking in a miraculous sunset.We are here to bring you the once in a lifetime Caribbean vacation experience, unlike any other Ambergris Caye Resort, that can only be... La Perla Del Caribe.Your Ambergris Caye Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Perla Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro
La Perla Del Caribe Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing