We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambergris Caye Paradise at Villa Sand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Perla Del Caribe
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ambergris Caye Paradise at Villa Sand”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I (27 and 25) and his father found La Perla through a Groupon deal and decided to try Belize for the first time. Thanks to this wonderful resort, the trip was one of the best of our lives. Before our trip, we gave the staff at La Perla the information for our flight into Belize City and they took care of everything from there, scheduling our short flight from Belize City to San Pedro, a taxi service to take us from the airport to the waterfront, and a private water taxi to take us up the coast to the resort. Our travel plans went very smoothly and we didn't have to worry about a thing.

We stayed in Villa Sand, one of the 2 bedroom cottages right on the beach, which was beautiful inside and all very clean and well-maintained. The full kitchen had all of the equipment we needed to cook, and we ordered provisions ahead of time (recommended on the La Perla website) so we didn’t have to worry about grocery shopping. The view from our front deck was unbelievable, and the constant breeze kept the temperature cool throughout the villa and kept the bugs away.

Our concierge, Enrique, arranged all of our activities for us through SeaDuced by Belize (I definitely recommend any of their trips--we did the Lamanai ruins and zipline/cave tubing). On the days that we did the trips, we were picked up right on the end of our pier, and our travel and meals were all included. Enrique was great about planning the trips to fit your schedule, the weather, etc. and came by daily to make sure we had everything we needed. On days that we stayed at the resort we were able to relax by the gorgeous pool and take the complimentary kayaks out. There is a restaurant/resort a few piers down that rents snorkel equipment for cheap, so we were able to kayak out to the reef right from the resort and do some amazing snorkeling whenever we pleased.

Overall, our vacation was outstanding, and the staff at La Perla took care of all of our needs so we were able to sit back and relax. The accommodations were an ideal mix of modern conveniences with natural island beauty, and we felt like we got a five star vacation at a three star price. We will definitely be back, and I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom villas are right on the beach, but all of the villas are built with great outdoor/roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eworsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and two boys, 17 and 13 stayed at La Perla for two weeks recently. Our stay was more than perfect. The guys went out on several dives, including a night dive and I was more than comfortable staying back at Villa Opal alone. At times you feel as if you are on a deserted island because it is so private. It was truly the most relaxing vacation in every way. Enrique and Toshiba were always there to take care of your every need. If we chose to leave La Perla and have a boat pick us up to go to dinner, or if the guys wanted to plan and excursion, they made it happen. Blanca and Sandra were there every day to freshen our villa to perfection. We had the chefs come in the night before we left to cook for us and if we had planned that earlier during our stay, we would have had them come more than once. Their menu was spectacular! It was as good or better than any restaurant. It is so convenient to order groceries from Mata Groceries. Whatever you need they will deliver the same day. Most mornings we would walk to Portofino for breakfast or wait on the guys on bicycles to bring homemade burritos. We also had lunch and dinner at Portofino as well.On the days it rained, we loved having a pool table in the downstairs game room. We have many fond memories of playing pool together. We also rented a golf cart and one of our favorite outings was going to
Rojo Bar on the beach just down from La Perla. We loved their food and drinks. Overall, La Perla was a perfect vacation for my family and we will certainly try and get back there soon. It truly was our home away from home in Paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at La Perla as part of a combo trip. We split our time in Belize between Ambergris Cayae and inland at Hidden Valley Inn. The staff at both places worked together to make all the arrangements for travel between the two separately-managed properties. It was as easy of an experience as it possibly could have been, big props to the staff at both places.

At La Perla, we had my wife and two sons (7 and 9) in Villa Sapphire, and eight more family members right behind us in Villa Amethyst. What a perfect way to vacation. Enrique made sure that we were well taken care of, even while a tropical depression bore down on Ambergris Caye, knocking out power and internet several times. The wind was so strong, a few pieces of the door frame came off, and Enrique was on top of it, with his crew hammering in new strips of wood in the driving wind. Above and beyond the call of duty, really.

If you want to have an adventure-filled stay, there are plenty of activities that are easily accessible from La Perla, and the staff will arrange just about anything you want. Sea kayaks are just outside your door anytime you want to paddle out to the reef. The pool is great for kids. But if you just want to unwind and relax, La Perla is great for that, too.

Our villa quickly took on a "home away from home" vibe, and we were truly sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinsdale IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and our kids 10 & 11 stayed at La Perla in June. The weather was great. Our stay was more than excellent. Enrique took care of all our needs. We had time to relax in the villa and the day trips were planned & executed with perfection. We ordered groceries ahead and made most of our breakfast and lunch at the villa. We also had the chef for a dinner. THe meal was delicious and fresh. THe cave tubing and zip line trip was awesome, the kids really enjoyed it. Taking the planes from San Pedro to Belize city is the way to go, really convenient and not waste so much time traveling on boats. The fishing and beach BBQ was great, Alex & his son took care of us. We caught a lot of fish and the meal was excellent. Better than any restaurant. We highly recommend La Perla and Enrique without any reservation.

Room Tip: Villa Amber is right on the water. We had about 20 feet from our door step to the beach. We had unob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healthylivin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our third stay at La Perla del Caribe and we're both ready for our next. The villa (Amber) was exquisite and we could not have been more pleased with the accommodations. But the staff, is the true Pearl of the review. Enrique has put together a wonderful group, who really go out of their way to make us feel at home, and treat us as if we were family (Toshiba, Daniel, Blanca, Rosa, Jose, Ricky). From the moment we landed in San Pedro, we were picked up by our taxi driver, taken to a wonderful local store (!!!) for groceries , and then dropped off at our chartered water taxi, to begin a 20 minute ride to the property, met by 2 staff members at the boat and escorted to our villa, ready for our next La Perla adventure to begin. We've done quite a bit of traveling in our day but we both agree, we enjoy staying at La Perla the best; everything is taken care of, attention to details, about what we want to do, are handled quickly and reasonably, and you cannot beat the view from your villa. Spectacular! While staying this trip, we were treated to a wedding on site (which was quite lovely and managed very well by the entire staff), one of the BEST days of fishing we've ever had (Ramon was our flats fishing guide, arranged for us by La Perla), and a nice snorkel adventure to the Hol Chan Marine Sanctuary and Shark-Ray Alley, with Palma from SEAduced (also arranged by the folks at La Perla). Golf cart rentals, Lobsterfest2013, water taxis into town, exploring more of what we love about Ambergris Caye, relaxing days spent in the pool and just hanging at our villa, learning about "Wish Willys", lazy walks on the beach; it's all just too nice for words. We will be booking a return trip, we just feel so comfortable there. La Perla del Caribe really is our home away from home, in Paradise.

Room Tip: We seem to enjoy the 2 bedroom villas on the beach, they are perfect little bungalow-type dwellings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Best vacation ever! Our villa was idyllic! We were already excited before we arrived, having viewed the videos of the villas. But actually seeing it took our breath away. It became our island home. Enrique couldn't have been more welcoming & accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He organized our snorkel trips, day trip to the Mayan ruins, spa appointments & arranged whenever we needed personal chefs. Norma, Helen & Dulcia cooked for us on many occasions & were fantastic.
Enrique allowed us to tour several of the properties. We have already booked a couple of vacations for next year, returning to La Perla Del Caribe.
We got to know a lot of the staff & we were sad to leave everyone.
I have visited & stayed at many Caribbean islands, but Belize has totally captivated me & stolen my heart. I cannot wait to return & want to thank all the beautiful people we met that made our stay magical.

Room Tip: We were 4 single friends & chose a 4 bedroom villa, to have a room each. It was perfect. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband, 23 year old daughter and I just returned from a 5 day stay in the Sands Villa. We decided to take the water taxi from Belize City to Ambergris Caye and so we arrived a little late in the evening. Upon arrival our taxi driver took us to get groceries and then to the charter destined for the condo, all set up by the property. When we arrived....All I can say is WOW! We were all blown away. The place is clean and well maintained and beautifully decorated. The beds were great and the bathrooms were beautiful and very clean. The kitchen was very well equipped. If I had one request it would be a bit more seating in the living area. We never turned on the TV but sat many evenings in the livingroom with the doors open, enjoying the breeze of the water and the sound of the sea.

We loved the ocean right outside our door. We even saw several small spotted sting rays right under our pier daily.

Toshiva, Enrique and Rene really assisted with any need we had. They helped us pick out 2 great snorkling trips with Seaduced, who were wonderful tour guides. We also opted to have the chef's come and cook for us one night. It was hands down the best meal we had on the island, with plenty of leftovers to boot. For anyone considering this condo, the chef's are truly a MUST DO!

What a wonderful experience. We cannot wait to return to our wonderful home in San Pedro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonOPolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.0 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
10 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Indigo Beach Homes
Indigo Beach Homes
#11 of 30 in San Pedro
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Del Caribe

Property: La Perla Del Caribe
Address: 6 Miles North of San Pedro | 6 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#31 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strolling lazily down a tropical white sand beach, a soothing azure sea lapping rhythmically at your feet, a Caribbean breeze stealing away the cares of the world as it brushes gently across your face… This is La Perla Del Caribe Resort.This Luxury Ambergris Caye Resort is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, the most popular vacation destination in Belize. La Perla Del Caribe captures the Caribbean ambiance of Belize in elegance and luxury. You can relax in the modern indoor-outdoor style of your private beach villa between trips to the pool and snorkeling - just offshore lies one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the pristine Belize coral reef. Or you can enjoy the vibrant life of the island – participate in village fiestas or sample local and international cuisine in the restaurants and clubs.Set off on sun-soaked Caribbean adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and scuba diving at the famous Great Blue Hole.Relax on your private mahogany sun bed and watch the herons stroll through the shallows. Laze by the pool while taking in a miraculous sunset.We are here to bring you the once in a lifetime Caribbean vacation experience, unlike any other Ambergris Caye Resort, that can only be... La Perla Del Caribe.Your Ambergris Caye Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Perla Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro
La Perla Del Caribe Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing