We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Amethyst:La Perla Del Caribe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Perla Del Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Perla Del Caribe
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Amethyst:La Perla Del Caribe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Best vacation ever! Our villa was idyllic! We were already excited before we arrived, having viewed the videos of the villas. But actually seeing it took our breath away. It became our island home. Enrique couldn't have been more welcoming & accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He organized our snorkel trips, day trip to the Mayan ruins, spa appointments & arranged whenever we needed personal chefs. Norma, Helen & Dulcia cooked for us on many occasions & were fantastic.
Enrique allowed us to tour several of the properties. We have already booked a couple of vacations for next year, returning to La Perla Del Caribe.
We got to know a lot of the staff & we were sad to leave everyone.
I have visited & stayed at many Caribbean islands, but Belize has totally captivated me & stolen my heart. I cannot wait to return & want to thank all the beautiful people we met that made our stay magical.

Room Tip: We were 4 single friends & chose a 4 bedroom villa, to have a room each. It was perfect. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband, 23 year old daughter and I just returned from a 5 day stay in the Sands Villa. We decided to take the water taxi from Belize City to Ambergris Caye and so we arrived a little late in the evening. Upon arrival our taxi driver took us to get groceries and then to the charter destined for the condo, all set up by the property. When we arrived....All I can say is WOW! We were all blown away. The place is clean and well maintained and beautifully decorated. The beds were great and the bathrooms were beautiful and very clean. The kitchen was very well equipped. If I had one request it would be a bit more seating in the living area. We never turned on the TV but sat many evenings in the livingroom with the doors open, enjoying the breeze of the water and the sound of the sea.

We loved the ocean right outside our door. We even saw several small spotted sting rays right under our pier daily.

Toshiva, Enrique and Rene really assisted with any need we had. They helped us pick out 2 great snorkling trips with Seaduced, who were wonderful tour guides. We also opted to have the chef's come and cook for us one night. It was hands down the best meal we had on the island, with plenty of leftovers to boot. For anyone considering this condo, the chef's are truly a MUST DO!

What a wonderful experience. We cannot wait to return to our wonderful home in San Pedro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonOPolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The holiday began by a very welcomnig Enrique who organised our boat trip to our resort. We felt no hurry to rush, he was very accomodating and organised for us to collect groceries in the town before we left. The rest of the holiday was just as good. The house we stayed in, Pearl, was a great retreat. There were two families and we had heaps of room. The property and gardens were kept meticulously. Enrique organised good rates for a rental golf cart for the week (which was dropped off at the house). He also organised a chef to cook for us one night and a fishing/snorkelling day trip. The latter was a boat just for us and our tour guide (local fisherman) who was very relaxed and was happy for us to organise the day. He cooked our fish on a bbq on a beach. A great experience, we will go again.

Room Tip: We chose La Perla for the pool as we had kids. We chose Pearl for the number of rooms, there are hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

La Perla was like something out of a fantasy place to stay. We were in the Amber Villa, a charming 2 bedroom villa overlooking the water. The place was clean and orderly everyday. The house keeper would get in there while we were out, so we never saw her. Enrique and Toshiva worked really hard to make sure our trip was nice, and they were only a phone call away if there were problems. The resort is not a hotel, so do not go there thinking that. It is a condo association, so you get a really nice place with a full kitchen. (we never used it). So many places to go to eat and see we never ran out of things to do, but when we got back to the villa, just gorgeous. You can provision food from the local stores, but we chose very little. Many of the excursions provide a breakfast and a lunch, so we only had dinner to worry about anyway. We like to try new places so we sampled a number of restaurants while we were there.

It is further up north from San Pedro, but the water taxi was easy to plan for and get on and off of, so do not let that discourage you. When I go back to Belize, hopefully in the very near future, I will be staying there again for sure. We stopped at many other resorts, but this place was so beautiful and peaceful.

Thanks for a fantastic vacation La Perla.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idratherbeboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was too far from anything, and the ant infestation and wild animal spraying our steps with trash nightly was gross.
The view was great.
The staff service was not there.
It was not as it seemed from the other reviews. Perhaps because we went during peak season.
Be warned. Arrange your own excursions,do grocery shopping before you get there, otherwise you will be stranded in a remote area with nothing to do or eat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofsix1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth H, Director of Sales at La Perla Del Caribe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at La Perla. I am glad that you found the view to be amazing. La Perla is located on the quiet and less developed north end of the island – within close walking distance to some of the island’s finest resorts. Our twelve private villas are spread over almost five acres of landscaped gardens and beachfront. We encourage wildlife living on the property and in its close environs. Many of our guests are seeking privacy in a quiet unspoiled retreat. Our mandate is to balance our guests’ comfort with preservation of this natural setting.
I understand how you might be disappointed to be visited by ants. During your stay, our housekeeping staff found breakfast cereal throughout your villa. In between daily cleanings, non-refrigerated food items will definitely attract insects and other animals. I will make sure that in the future, this situation is mentioned to guests when they arrive.
Before guests arrive at La Perla, we send a recommendation that guests order groceries online and we provide contact details to a provisioning company. Our driver will also take guests grocery shopping prior to their arrival at La Perla. During a guest’s stay, our onsite concierge is available to assist with trips and tours and anything that our guests might need. We also have staff on the property during the evening hours to assist guests when necessary.
I hope that your family enjoyed their time in Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

La Perla Del Caribe is beautiful. We just got back - stayed March 25th - March 31st '13. We stayed in Villa Amber. It is right on the beach / ocean front. The property is lovely, the villa was perfect - looks like the pictures. Enrique - property manager/concierge can arrange anything you want - massages, private boat rentals for fishing/snorkeling - whatever your heart desires. Very quiet / peaceful location. There are a couple places near for food options - Portofino has a restauarant that is good and a couple doors down the other way is a Jamaican/Belizian restaurant with good food. You can have your villa stocked with food/bevarages prior to your arrival - we did and it was helpful as town is a 20 minute boat ride away. Every morning a gentleman on a bike with a cooler comes and sells burritos for breakfast - get them - they are fantastic!! They people in Belize are wonderful - kind and helpful. Can't say enough wonderful things about this place!

Room Tip: Villa Amber has a fantastic location and is very well kept inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llwalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This lovely property with an impeccable staff, Enrique, Renee, Shiba and many others made our vacation a truly relaxing experience in paradise. They helped with booking our snorkeling adventure, questions about nearby palces to eat and drink, transport to town and always a "hello, how are you" everytime we saw them. The large front porch on our three bedroon villa was great for reading, napping and relaxing while gazing out over the beautifel Carribean. The full kitchen allowed us ot eat in a number of times and feel right at home with the sand and sea only steps away. With the longest coral reef in the Western Hemisphere right on your doorstep, snorkeling or scuba diving is a must and our outing was a real treat sighting moray eels, turtles, octopus, sharks and many more creatures. Wonderful vacation. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.2 mi away
Indigo Beach Homes
Indigo Beach Homes
#8 of 28 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Del Caribe

Property: La Perla Del Caribe
Address: | 6 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Del Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strolling lazily down a tropical white sand beach, a soothing azure sea lapping rhythmically at your feet, a Caribbean breeze stealing away the cares of the world as it brushes gently across your face… This is La Perla Del Caribe Resort.This Luxury Ambergris Caye Resort is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, the most popular vacation destination in Belize. La Perla Del Caribe captures the Caribbean ambiance of Belize in elegance and luxury. You can relax in the modern indoor-outdoor style of your private beach villa between trips to the pool and snorkeling - just offshore lies one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the pristine Belize coral reef. Or you can enjoy the vibrant life of the island – participate in village fiestas or sample local and international cuisine in the restaurants and clubs.Set off on sun-soaked Caribbean adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and scuba diving at the famous Great Blue Hole.Relax on your private mahogany sun bed and watch the herons stroll through the shallows. Laze by the pool while taking in a miraculous sunset.We are here to bring you the once in a lifetime Caribbean vacation experience, unlike any other Ambergris Caye Resort, that can only be... La Perla Del Caribe.Your Ambergris Caye Paradise ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro
La Perla Del Caribe Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing