We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
358
88
20
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
88
20
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstackle boxsan pedrohol chan and shark ray alleyfishmexico rocksdive masterdive shopbudget roombarrier reefbaby oilboat trafficnurse sharksaquarium restaurantremote locationminute boat ridesea grassgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 483 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is our sixth day at the resort and we have enjoyed every minute. The service is fantastic and all of the staff are very accommodating. Plenty of activities are available including snorkeling, kayaking, cave-tubing, zip-lining, Mayan ruin tours and fishing. One can walk the beach for miles--nature is simply out your cabana door. Tranquility Bay lives up to its name as an excellent place to relax as well. We are already planning our next visit--next time with our colleagues for an academic retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StutterDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Doc

Thanks for the review. Look forward to having you back at the resort with your colleagues.

Cheers,
Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had such a calm and relaxing time at Tranquility Bay that we didn't even do any of the offered trips. After a busy time in Guatemala and mainland Belize it was so pleasant to just lie on a lounger and read a book or watch the scene, or go for a walk down the beach. If there was a trail inland to the lagoon that would be good too. The beach in front of the resort is kept immaculately clean of the seaweed and rubbish that is constantly coming ashore. All the staff were very friendly and easy going, and the food was consistently excellent at each meal. Yes, sometimes items were "off" but it is a remote place so you need to bear that in mind. The remoteness away from all the other hotels is one of its charms, along with the good snorkelling just off the beach and the lovely, laid back atmosphere. It is not a luxurious or chic resort, as Carlos the manager was keen to point out. The rooms are rather dated. Only the tiny bedroom was air conditioned and it was either on and freezing or off and too warm - which is why I only gave an average to sleep quality. Although we kept turning up the temperature on the remote control it did not make any difference. Bedside tables and lamps are essential in my opinion, and could perhaps be added. Laundry is available at $10 US a load. It would also be helpful to have information in the room about trips etc. Everything was explained to us when we arrived but it was quite a lot to take in all at once, especially for people who perhaps have just arrived after a long journey from the US or Europe. If you can read at your leisure about what trips are available, how long they last, how much they cost etc rather than having to find someone to ask about it then that would be better. More subdued lighting in the casual and charming jetty restaurant would also be good. But we enjoyed watching the fish off the jetty and sitting there for sundowners.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2011

Thank-you for the great review. You have brought up a number of points that are true and we will work to rectify. We have been changing out the air conditioners however there are a few that remain that are the older models that don't seem to respond well to the remote. Hopefully all of the air conditioners will have been changed by your next visit to TBR. We have also been working on adding night lamps but have not finished all of the cabanas yet as we are integrating the night lamps into the wall to allow for more room on the night tables. (Yes there are some missing still and I will work on ordering more today!) We are also working on an excursions booklet to have in the rooms. I will try to step up the process a little as I agree that it would be much nicer for our guests to be able to read about the excursions at their leisure. I do generally try to make the impression that we are not a luxury resort but more over are offering the luxury of a private cabana on the beach! That being said we do have great service it is just not necessarily "white towel service". We are also presently working on a trail into the island where we hope to put up a bird watching lookout. We hope to see you back again soon!

Cheers,

Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I spent several days at Tranquility Bay a at the end of 2010. A special place to escape to, the location is just one of the features that made great memories for me. On the boat ride out to the resort you see civilization thin out. First the golf carts of San Pedro, then all the crowded resorts, then even the homes become fewer and fewer.

Arriving at the dock, you are immediately shown the other feature that makes TBR stand out. The staff’s welcome and friendly assistance immediately shows you that although you may be in a remote place, you will be well taken care of. Everyone there took a personal interest in helping me make the most of my trip.

If you are considering Ambergris Caye, you already know the diving and snorkeling is among the best in the world. TBR has several options available for guests. I went snorkeling at Hol Chan with a group from the resort and it was great. A small group, a great divemaster and spectacular scenery below the water. I also snorkeled right in front of the resort.

Although there’s plenty to do, it’s east to find yourself doing nothing too. I spent some real quality time in hammocks strung between the palms.

The nice selection of food was always fresh and very well prepared. The folks in the bar and kitchen took pride in what they served and it showed.

The goal of my trip was to escape and TBR was just right. A very quiet corner of paradise with all the resort comforts. With a warm, friendly staff providing anything I needed and more.

It’s great to come home from a trip and not feel at all disappointed about where you went.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Thanks for the great review and sharing our "day off" with us. The M & M tunnels were a hoot! Hope to see you back soon!

Cheers,

Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

From the moment we stepped foot on the island until the sad moment we had to leave, we felt like we were in Paradise. Carlos, Isabelle and their staff were true professionals and we felt like we were leaving family when we left. The service was amazing, with the same people greeting us in the morning until we went to bed at night. It is such a laid back and relaxing resort and when we came home we actually felt refreshed. I miss my naps in the hammock and the happy hour with the new friends we met at the Tackle Box. The food was great and the prices were reasonable. The best part though was the white sandy beach that led right to the sea from the comfort of our cabana. It was definitely our favorite vacation ever and we hope to someday return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likeprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you back soon.

Cheers,
Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The two best things about this resort are its remote location, providing peace and quiet; and the rooms, which are new, clean, spacious and comfortable. But the downsides are twofold: the restaurant is uncomfortable (hard chairs!) and the food mediocre (breakfast is the best meal), and not even with daily fresh fish (3 days old while we were there). Second, and no fault of the resort, the hard corals on the shelf are tragically dead, more than 90% off the resort (the soft corals are better off), following the 1998 heat wave. Diving is better, I'm told, but for snorkeling one has to backtrack half way to San Pedro, to Mexico Rocks, for better coral. So it's a question if it's worth going up to this area if snorkeling is high priority. The young Canadian couple that manages the resort do their best and are accommodating.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank matteoricci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank-you for the four out of five review. However I would like to address a couple of the comments.

Dear Trip Advisor reader

It seems to me that some people have been confusing our "5" rating on Trip advisor with a "5 star" hotel. The ratings on trip advisor are generated by you the client. The rating signifies how much a client liked the hotel and not necessarily the standard of the services. I would just like to emphasis that we are a small "laid back" boutique resort in the Caribbean. We are not fancy and the seats in our restaurant are made of mahogany! We try our best to give the best client services possible. The real reason to come to Tranquility Bay Resort is the location!

Tranquility Bay Resort is the only location on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the Meso American Barrier Reef. The reviewers comments about the coral are not completely fictitious. There is a lot of coral that died off due to a heat wave in the late 90's. (This is what I was told by our neighbor the marine biologist known as "The Turtleman") That being said there are still areas where the coral is alive or has started a regrowth. This is the second review that we have had this year as to the "poor snorkeling" by reviewers that have spent little time in the water in front of the resort. It seems quite strange that we will have clients go snorkeling for two to three hours and rave about what they saw, while we have people that go out for 10-20 minutes and complain. I guess you get out of it what you put into it. This reviewer was maybe not as comfortable spending the time and effort exploring the area. We sent them on a guided tour to Mexico Rocks where the guide would place them directly on the sites that where more vibrant. They enjoyed this a lot.

Our food at the resort is simply excellent and we get a lot of compliments about the food. If you read back a few years in the reviews of TBR will find that previous management tried to catch all of the fish the same day for use in the restaurant. You will also find that there where evenings where they were not able to feed the guests! This is not a practical way to run a restaurant. We purchase our fish from the fisherman's cooperative and we go through it quite quickly therefore it is always quite "fresh". Again this reviewer ate the fish one night and enjoyed it. He then opted for our burger the other nights as he had noticed that we had not had "fresh" fish delivered. Our burger is not the best item on our menu and I will make an effort to remedy that! We do offer reef fishing trips where you can catch your own fish and we also offer the service of cooking for you in the restaurant.

Our cabanas are 12 years old, guests usually describe them as casual, functional and comfortable but not necessarily spacious. We have new bamboo accents and fresh paint.

Cheers,
Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews