We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
358
88
20
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
88
20
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstackle boxsan pedrohol chan and shark ray alleyfishmexico rocksdive masterdive shopbudget roombarrier reefbaby oilboat trafficnurse sharksaquarium restaurantremote locationminute boat ridesea grassgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 483 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Loved Tranquility. Went with a 7 and 9 year old and had an incredible bonding experience. From snorkeling, fishing, walks on the beach, swimming with sharks and sting rays, looking for shells and watching the iguanas, spotted eagle rays, tarpin and barracuda's it was a very memorable experience. The family is use to super luxury and Tranquility offers a nice blend of clean accomodations, wonderful cheerful service with nature and simplicity. I look at it as the Farimont in nature. You are (1 of only 10 units) right on the water and 20 paces from a world class reef that is in 6 feet of water, eels, queenn angels, barracuda, sea urchin, wrasses, sea fans, lobsters ... everything I saw on my 80 foot dive were right there a swim or kayak (included free) away. So yes there are bugs, you are going to get bitten by sand fleas and yes they do itch but secluded location, unbelievable nature setting coupled with clean accomodations, great maid service, great hosts in Carlos, Isabella, Hill and the gang, an aquarium you can swim in!! Priceless. Nothing here to do other then be with the family for real quality time. Bring board games, sounds lame but the family loved Qwirkle. The kids and wife all want to return and I too because no one was plugged in (no television, no phone, no real electronics) so we got to experience each other and as a working dad, it was truly memorable and heart warming. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakersRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a Belize vacation where we stayed at Tranquility Bay. We had a wonderful time. This is the place to go to seriously get away.

Cabana
The cabana was much larger than I expected and the bed was much cozier than many places I’ve stayed that have higher price tags. The cabanas are very clean and they are well maintained. It was easy to get comfortable and feel at home. It’s very cute and has the feeling of an adorable tropical village… I loved it. The highlight is seeing the ocean from the living area and being able to step right into the sand from your cabana.
Location / Beach
The hotel is pretty much secluded and for us that was wonderful. You won’t be bothered by a ton of frazzled people on vacation or by anything really because there isn’t much around expect the beautiful ocean and palm trees. There are sun flies and mosquitoes. If you are really squeamish about mosquitoes and don’t want to use bug spray than Belize is probably the wrong place for you.
The beach is great for swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking. Because the hotel is close to the reef you can swim and kayak without fear of boats going by fast if you see any at all. You are close to nature and can snorkel right from the hotel beach and see fish and coral.
Food
The food won’t amaze or offend. Expect the lobster which is delish! That said it’s extremely reasonable. The restaurant is super cute and you can watch the fish and sting rays from the deck as you eat. The location is really special.
Tours
We went out for two snorkeling tours with Oscar. The tours were amazing and I highly recommend signing up for a few for a change of pace and scenery. Oscar showed us some amazing under water wildlife and he is the life of the party! The coral and fish are so beautiful it’s like living the discovery channel!
Staff
Hill is the best bartender/ waiter ever. He made us feel very welcome and made sure we had everything we needed.
I mentioned Oscar above; he’s so much fun.
Carlos and Isabelle are very attentive, diligent, and hardworking. All of the effort they put into making TBR special is obvious as the place runs so smoothly. They are very accommodating and will go to great lengths to provide whatever is requested.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This is the place to go in Belize if you want ti kick back and do nothing or just in joy watersports. There are no crowds, souvenir shops or of any type of traffic. The cabanas are beautifully situated right on the white sandy beach with a view of the ocean and palm trees. There is one restaurant and bar that serves delicious food especially seafood which is bought daily from local fisherman. But do understand that there are no telephones, TV or shops. Bring whatever you want to read with you. When we were there it was just before the tourist season was starting and there was only one other couple staying there. It was very quite and relaxing. It turns out they were booked solid for the weeks after we left. They have fishing, scuba diving and snorkling avalable. One other note, this resort is on the winward side of the island and can get very windy if a storm is in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyz38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

On our third recent visit to Belize, my adult daughter and I had the good fortune to stay at the Tranquility Bay Resort. This was the last stop on our 16 day visit, and it was the best part of the trip. The location ( a 30 minute boat ride from San Pedro) is perfect for anyone looking for a true escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. In an area designated as a World Heritage Site, we were able to walk for miles on deserted white sand beaches. This is one of the few places in Belize where you can snorkel right off the beach in front of your cabana. The water is pristine and the reef is very close, giving you access to an abundance of marine life. We particularly loved the parade of spotted eagle rays that swam by in formation each evening (up to 14 on some nights!). From the deck of the resort's small restaurant,/bar which is built out over the water, every evening meal was enjoyed while watching the rays, barracudas, tarpons and swarms of smaller fish that were attracted to the lighting under the deck. The meals were good and reasonably priced. Our cabana was a nicely furnished one bedroom unit right under the coconut palms on the beach. The unit could actually sleep 6, as it had a loft with another bed, as well as a sofa bed. A small kitchenette (microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator) was perfect for snacks. Breakfast was included in the nightly rate. The young Canadian couple who manage the resort are gracious and accommodating. All of the staff were extremely pleasant. If you visit, be sure to ask Raul (a native Belizian who helps out at the resort) to take you on a nature walk. He's a real character, and knows all about the flora, fauna, marine life, and Mayan history of Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiegoSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this cute little boutique resort over the Christmas Holiday. We stayed in the one bedroom/one bath cabana and found it to be very roomy and comfortable. There was an air-conditioned bedroom downstairs and a wonderful loft bedroom with a ceiling fan upstairs which we loved. Access to the beach could not have been better. Staff was wonderful, especially our bartender, Hill, and the dive staff - Oscar, Max, and Gordy - took wonderful care of us and the diving was great. Thanks to Carlos and Isabelle (managers) who made our stay truly one of our best.

Di & Chap Engel - Durango, CO

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews