We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need to know about Tranquility”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family just stayed at Tranquility for 12 days and loved it, but it's not for everyone. Here's what you need to know:

Who should stay there: Nature lovers that enjoy seclusion. It's a great place for "nature" kids.

Who should not stay there: Night life lovers, people who do not want to deal with the elements, technology addicts, or people who want to go to town often.

Beach: Beautifully groomed, all white sand (no mud in the water), plenty of comfy chairs and hammocks, amazing view. TIP: Bring cheap rafts for kids to play with and leave them for other guests.

Accommodations: Spacious two bedroom place with nice kitchen area, good sized frig, amazing views, and located right on the beach only 50 feet from water. TIP: Cabana 6 has AC in every room! Other cabanas do not have AC in living room.

Food: You are very remote so don't expect a million restaurant options. That being said, the complimentary breakfast was the best we've ever had. The staff was friendly, knew our names the first day, and were very attentive. For being so remote, there were a wide range of menu items. TIPS: Grocery shop in town when you land. Buy liquor in town to save a bar tab. Bring microwavable meals (such as Zatterans Black Beans and Rice) for lunches and easy dinners. You CAN order dinners from the lunch menu for more variety and cheaper options.

The elements: there is usually a strong wind at all times (if the wind dies, misquotes and biting flies will descend in swarms), the sun is hot (though the wind cools things down), and the water is pretty salty. If you do not like wind, do not go to Ambergris Caye.

Costumer Service: Catherine was our manager, Caesar our bar tender, and Nelson our waiter, and we felt very well cared for. Trips were well organized and our daily needs were well attended to! They provided us with everything they could.

Transportation: Your are remote, 40 minutes from the nearest town San Pedro. Tranquility will not take you to town anytime you want; they will coordinate transport with the arrival and departure of other guests. You will not have a good time if you want to go back into town often. The resort provides only one free transport into town (along with the free initial pick up and return).

Nature: I've snorkeled all over the Caribbean for 25 years and only found the snorkeling at the resort average at best. (There was a huge die off of the reef in 1998 due to high water temps). If you are a novice snorkeler, it's a perfect place to start (the water is shallow and the reefs easily accessible), and you'll probably enjoy what you see. For more advanced snorkelers (and novices as well), take the trips to Hol Chan, Shark Ray alley and the Mexico Rocks. You will also see iguanas, geckos and a variety of birds (7-8 species) TIP: Don't forget to snorkel under the restaurant and save time by asking other guests where the best snorkeling is.

Day Trips: The resort offers several day trips for snorkeling, and they will arrange day trips with other outfits (we used Seaduced and were fairly happy). Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley are a must, and Lamani is great if you really enjoy remote ruins and do not mind the 6 hours traveling round trip.


I hope this info helps you determine whether or not Tranquility Bay is for you. For us, this was the best family vacation ever, and our best stay in the Caribbean after 25 years of travel there!!

Room Tip: Book for Cabana 6 for families!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Tranquility Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 451 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

First off, let me start off by saying we did not stay at this resort. My family and I took the water taxi to Secreto and then TB sent a boat to take us to their resort. We came up for lunch and snorkeling. This is a very nice looking resort, but very far from San Pedro, about 30-40min from town. When we first arrived, we were told the restaurant was closing within 15 minutes. I thought this was odd since it's the only one on site. The lunch menu was very limited and the food was not very good at all. My wife and I ordered cheeseburgers that were nasty and we couldn't even choke them down. We also ordered the humus. The humus tasted like someone had added taco seasoning to it. The rest of our family was not happy with their meals either.

After lunch, we went snorkeling I front of the cabanas. There was not much to see. You can swim/walk out to the reef, but it's about 2-300 yards from the beach. Before the reef, just a bunch of sand and grass. Out at the reef though, we did see some nice fish and a sting ray.

As we were leaving, we asked the manager what time the water taxi left Secreto for San Pedro. We were told 5:15 and that they would take us to meet the taxi at 5:00. As we were about to get on the boat, we were informed that we needed to each pay $10USD for the round trip. I don't mind getting charged, since we were not guests, but they should mention the fee before they bring you out there. Oh, and management said even guests must pay the fee! So, if you stay there, that bill will add up quick! When we got to Secreto (next resort down/water taxi stop) we were informed that the actual taxi pick up time was 6:30 and not 5:15.

So, I am glad we were not staying here. It's a nice looking resort, but from our limited experience, it seems to have a few downfalls.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank joshr911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Tranquility Bay Resort over a long 4th of July week. The resort is isolated and quaint. The people who work there go above and beyond to make you happy and help you out. They learn your names in the first hour of your stay and constantly greet you with a warm smile. Katherine set up all of our activities and made sure we were never bored. We got to swim with sharks and rays at Shark Ray Alley, snorkel daily on the reefs there, fish every evening off the dock, scuba dive at the resort and at Hol Chan Reserve, head into San Pedro for some shopping, catch some barracuda on a fishing charter, comb the beach for treasures... it was simply paradise.
Ceasar, Anita and Nelson at the bar are such warm, friendly people. We will miss their faces and personalities. There is a local boy whose dad works there who helped us fish every day. Thank you Lionel! The staff who is in charge of keeping the place clean and running smoothly is never intrusive, but always present. They are like a family and our adventure wouldn't have been the same without all of them going out of their way to make our week special.
The staff in the kitchen is so talented. I almost licked my plate one night when I had garlic shrimp in white sauce with rice. OMG! Every meal was great, but that one was one I will never forget. After our fishing trip (where we came home with at least 15 fish) we had the kitchen cooks prepare them for us and we feel 10 people like it was Thanksgiving. I've never had such light as air fish strips in my life. I'll likely never eat anything but fresh caught fish again.
The cabanas are comfortable and clean. The beds were an easy sleep. The weather was beautiful and so were the grounds.
It's all been said before and the positive reviews are spot on. This place is quiet, restful and a little slice of Heaven that should not be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TakeMeToCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 6 nights at TBR resort on the last half of our anniversary trip. If you are looking for a quiet and quaint place to unwind and relax in paradise then this is it. TBR is very secluded and was perfect for us as we could sit by the ocean and read our books all day. The snorkeling you can do off the beach is great and so much fun. The water is truly beautiful and so clear! We were at TBR on our actual anniversary and they set up a lovely and very romantic private beach dinner for us. It was my favorite date I have ever been on with my husband!

All of the staff were very nice and knew our names by the end of the first day. The only complaint I have is that on an excursion we took there was a miscommunication and we were left at another resort on their docks waiting for an hour past the time that TBR had said they were going to pick us up. After being gone and out on the water all day from 7am-5pm being stranded at another resort was not very fun! But, Catherine was very apologetic when we arrived back and we did appreciate that.

As this is a very small resort (only 11 cabanas), it would be a great place to travel with friends and family. We stayed in Cabana 11 (budget travelers) and really enjoyed it. It was plenty of space for the two of us and we had the beautiful view of the beach/ocean to the front and the jungle to the back which is where the sun sets! It's also the only room with a king bed and it was extremely comfy.

All in all, we loved our time at TBR and would love to return again one day.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Tranquility Bay Hotel! The staff is fabulous, Catherine is a well of information as well as Emilia, Cesar and Anita from the restaurant were very helpful and Winfield the boat captain was very friendly and gave us great tips to places to hangout in town. All the staff is wonderful and unfortunately I can’t remember everyone’s name.
This place is so secluded and about 30 minutes (by boat) from San Pedro, lots of pretty fish, manta rays by the restaurant at night time, iguanas, beautiful birds and dogs! (I’m a dog lover). It was a beautiful experience and a we had a wonderful stay.
One thing; if you like the nightlife this is not a good place to stay (since is so far away from town) but if you are looking for a place that is quiet and quaint this is the place to be.
Thank you Tranquility Bay!

Room Tip: One thing; if you like the nightlife this is not a good place to stay (since is so far away from tow...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnahiRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beautiful resort away from the touristy centre of Ambergris Caye. Catherinem the manager was fantastic from the moment we started interacting through email to the end of our stay. It's really a dreamy resort, nice a small, good family feel about it. Food was excellent, breakfasts are pretty big (although the portion of pancakes and french toasts should be bigger). Evening food was fantastic, again some discrepancies with portions but overall very good quality. We stayed there 5 nights, and would recommend the budget travellers room - a really good size and well worth the money. We took one snorkelling trip to Mexico Rocks which was amazing - saw rays and nurse sharks. Easy to snorkel straight off the beach at the resort. You also get free fresh coconuts each day! Unfortunately we got bitten really bad by the sand flies which spoilt the trip a little, Nevertheless, I would highly recommend this if you are after a beautiful, quiet resort which has a real family-feel about it.

Room Tip: Budget travellers room is spacious - much nicer that the one bedroom casita we had for a night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheltenhamGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We traveled with our two small children (5 & 7)and had a wonderful stay. The staff makes a point to remember your name when you first arrive. Everyone was very nice and went the extra mile.Being able to snorkel form the beach with out going on a boat was ideal for the kids. Very secluded, pack essentials. We packed food enough for our lunches and ate breakfast(included) and dinner at the restaurant. We loved the fact that this is not a mega resort.IF YOU WANT TO RELAX, THIS IS THE PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
4.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 53 in San Pedro
11 reviews
6.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
646 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#27 of 53 in San Pedro
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range: $125 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing