We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Tranquility Bay Hotel! The staff is fabulous, Catherine is a well of information as well as Emilia, Cesar and Anita from the restaurant were very helpful and Winfield the boat captain was very friendly and gave us great tips to places to hangout in town. All the staff is wonderful and unfortunately I can’t remember everyone’s name.
This place is so secluded and about 30 minutes (by boat) from San Pedro, lots of pretty fish, manta rays by the restaurant at night time, iguanas, beautiful birds and dogs! (I’m a dog lover). It was a beautiful experience and a we had a wonderful stay.
One thing; if you like the nightlife this is not a good place to stay (since is so far away from town) but if you are looking for a place that is quiet and quaint this is the place to be.
Thank you Tranquility Bay!

Room Tip: One thing; if you like the nightlife this is not a good place to stay (since is so far away from tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnahiRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    73
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
116
244
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beautiful resort away from the touristy centre of Ambergris Caye. Catherinem the manager was fantastic from the moment we started interacting through email to the end of our stay. It's really a dreamy resort, nice a small, good family feel about it. Food was excellent, breakfasts are pretty big (although the portion of pancakes and french toasts should be bigger). Evening food was fantastic, again some discrepancies with portions but overall very good quality. We stayed there 5 nights, and would recommend the budget travellers room - a really good size and well worth the money. We took one snorkelling trip to Mexico Rocks which was amazing - saw rays and nurse sharks. Easy to snorkel straight off the beach at the resort. You also get free fresh coconuts each day! Unfortunately we got bitten really bad by the sand flies which spoilt the trip a little, Nevertheless, I would highly recommend this if you are after a beautiful, quiet resort which has a real family-feel about it.

Room Tip: Budget travellers room is spacious - much nicer that the one bedroom casita we had for a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheltenhamGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoyt, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We traveled with our two small children (5 & 7)and had a wonderful stay. The staff makes a point to remember your name when you first arrive. Everyone was very nice and went the extra mile.Being able to snorkel form the beach with out going on a boat was ideal for the kids. Very secluded, pack essentials. We packed food enough for our lunches and ate breakfast(included) and dinner at the restaurant. We loved the fact that this is not a mega resort.IF YOU WANT TO RELAX, THIS IS THE PLACE!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place!

STAFF: Phenomenal. The last day felt like leaving your own family. Kathryn helped in every way she could make this a great vacation.

LOCATION: Unbeatable on Ambergris. Yes, you ARE isolated and getting anywhere requires a boat ride. San Pedro is about 25-30 minutes, and most excursions leave from there. But the hotel has a great beach and great snorkeling on site, which is exactly what I was looking for.

THE ROOMS: Spartan, but nice. Don't expect luxury, but enjoy the rustic caribbean flair. The rooms are comfortable, but could use a little updating (which obviously given the location is a very expensive deal for them). And you are certainly not paying top dollars, so I would say that for the price and the location, the rooms are more than adequate. No TV so bring your own entertainment!

THE BEACH: Beautiful and clean. We had no issues with no-see-ums.

ONSITE SNORKELING: I'm obsessed with snorkeling, I've been in dozens of places from St John to Maldives; yes, snorkeling will never compare to Maldives, but it's very very good. Some report that the coral is dead - it is not. They probably did not go far enough. Mind you, caribbean reefs are not completely covered as they are in the Pacific, but this is really quite good, and the fauna is great. We've seen everything from Sting Rays, Turtles and Eagle Rays to Sharks and of course, plenty of fish. You won't be disappointed and if you are - try again!

EXCURSIONS: We did many excursions, and enjoyed all except Lamanai. This was arranged through Searious Adventures. Here's why we didn't enjoy it: it's a LOOOONG trip: boat to another hotel, followed by a different boat to San Pedro, followed by a boat to Belize City (at this point, it's been 2.5 hours or so), followed by about 45 minutes of waiting for the other tours to depart, followed by an hour bus ride, followed by a 1-hour boat ride on a river where you don't see any of the wildlife that they claim you will see, followed by about an hour on the ruins, and then do it all over again in reverse. To top it off, we had to wait about 2 hours at the bus depot for another tour to return before we could make our way back to San Pedro. We arrived at 8pm instead of the 5.30 pm arrival time, were cold, hungry, and exausted. Don't do it.

Hol Chen, on the other hand, was amazing - and the staff did a GREAT job. We did it twice. Blue hole - as a snorkeler - is somewhat disappointing. Not that much to see.

FOOD: The food at the hotel was good albeit inconsistent. The Belizean Chicken Stew on Saturday was amazing. That said, after 8 days, the food choices do start to get old (but not the hotel's fault!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My bride and I booked a week at Tranquility Bay for our honeymoon. We wanted a beautiful, remote area in which to focus on each other which is exactly what Tranquility Bay Resort is. We booked our flight from BZE San Pedro and our taxi and water transfers through the resort. All of the connections were flawless. The resort is located just off of the reef and just south of Mexico. The food at the restaurant is fresh and delicious. Having grown up in Florida and now living in Atlanta, I couldn't wait to have fresh catch at lunch and dinner. The resort has snorkeling gear and kayaks for use and we saw an abundant amount of marine life up to and including nurse sharks, turtles and very large stingrays. Those of you who must be "connected", I witnessed several guests using cell phones and lap tops as there is wi-fi but we remained "logged off" the entire time. Highly recommend TBR if you want to enjoy the sounds of the surf while laying in a hammock reading or just some together time. Cancun it is not, thankfully!

Room Tip: All of them are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

TBR is a great place. Quiet, remote and beautiful. A few things that I would mention include provisions...bring plenty of sunscreen, food and drinks. Although the restaurant is delicious and quite pleasant, I wish that we would have stocked up on some essentials and not had to rely on buying each meal and refreshment. I'm sure that there are places in San Pedro to make purchases before getting on the boat. Trust me, once you're on the boat headed to TBR, you'll not want to go back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hungrytraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at Tranquility Bay Resort for just one night, to celebrate our 5th anniversary. The staff was wonderful, the cabin was spacious, comfortable and well stocked. We were greeted with a welcome rum punch, and given the tour. We had booked a fishing trip for the morning, and our guide Pani made our day! He was wonderful, and we caught more than 10 fish! We snorkeled all afternoon, and then had our catch prepared for us for dinner. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to relax. The beach loungers and hammocks are comfortable and plentiful, and the beds were to die for ... soooo comfortable! Thanks Tranquility Bay Resort for making our anniversary extra special! A special thank you to Pani, for the wonderful fishing trip, you are the perfect guide! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Pelican" cabin ... it was right in the middle, and had a perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
4.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
6.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#26 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
8.3 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Resort
Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing