We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquility Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at this resort for a week and just got back two days ago. Everything was wonderful! We got too much sun, drank too much, and had a great time all around. :) The people were fantastic and we miss them already.

A word of warning, though. This place is remote! If you want to go into San Pedro, it's a 30 min boat ride. This was perfect for us, because it forced us to unplug for the week. But if you want to be able to head into town on a whim, this place is not for you.

Pro tip: If you're drinking, buy what you can at the duty free at the Belize City airport. Our bar bill was very high (did I mention we drank a lot?), but it would have been much worse had we not brought liquor with us.

We are already talking about going back, although we'll go in February this time and skip the high winds (hopefully). It'll be nice to see the staff again (Miss Katherine, Cesar, Norman, Ugo (sp?), and more).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melodie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    71
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
112
244
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you enjoy kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving, quiet beaches, hammocks, beach sunsets sunrises and friendly "yes, we can" oriented service and don't require "all you can eat" buffets, grand lobbies, telephone and wifi in your room, nightly pillow fluffing, and a menu or wine list that read like mini-novels, you should strongly consider staying at Tranquility Bay. First, realize that this portion of Ambergris Caye is all about remoteness, peace and tranquility. There is nothing else around for miles. Catherine, the manager, does a great job of managing a well oil machine of satisfied, "ready to serve" and cohesive employees. Our dive master, Abi, the highlight of TB for us, was extremely safety conscious, double and triple checked everything, gave informative briefings and led us on four excellent dives, including a night dive at Hol Chun. He was also a ton of fun. We would love to dive with him again and again. He was complemented very well by Winfield, a cool cat captain who skillfully piloted us out past the reef and on our night dive in some pretty rough conditions. Behind the bar, I'd match Cesar up with any else's mixology-whether making smoothies or virgin drinks for the kids or his special twist on rum punches. I basically gave him free license to make whatever he pleased for me, with an emphasis on Belizean rums and he did not disappoint. In the restaurant, Anita met us at each meal with a welcoming smile and very gracious service. All of our meals were average or better. We really enjoyed the fresh seafood, fresh tortillas (breakfast burrito and wraps), warm rum cake with coconut ice cream and coconut pie. For San Pedro transfers to TB, Jacob was our "capitan" and got us exactly where we needed to be smoothly and on time. Overall, this was a great experience and we thank each member of the staff, including our reservation agent, JeriSue, who answered all of our questions and helped tremendously with logistics.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjmesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The location of this small ten unit resort was fabulous--lovely sand beach with the reef just offshore. It is very remote; accessible only by a 30 minute boat transport. The staff was excellent, attentive, and cheerful. The units, casitas with an air conditioned bedroom and loft, were well designed with patio doors opening directly on the beach. The interior though was run-down and in need of cosmetic renovations. Be cautioned too that while it is advertised as having an efficiency kitchen, it has only a microwave and refrigerator. The reef can be reached by a short swim or with kayaks provided, but the reef itself was somewhat disappointing. Much of the coral is dead and there is not an abundance of marine life. A final note we had communicated with the resort and scheduled a pick-up upon arriving at San Pedro. No one was there to meet us. We found a helpful restaurant owner who made several attempts over two hours to reach them. We were picked up nearly three hours late.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginkadink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 9-day vacation in Ambergris Caye. We spent our first 4 nights at Traquility Bay, and absolutely loved every minute of it. That being said, it is important to know what you are getting (and not getting) at this resort so as not to be disappointed should your expectations be unrealistic.

"Tranquility" is exactly what you get here. The resort is isolated, there is no nightlife to speak of, the restaurant scene consists of the one restaurant at the resort, and there are no TVs in the rooms. We spent our time there with no blackberry, internet, television or newspapers...just each other, and it was exactly what we wanted. The water was fantastic for swimming, you could kayak out to the reef and snorkel, and lounge on the beach reading a book and working on the tan all day. If you need lots of diversions beyond what nature can offer, you stand to be disappointed.

The restaurant offers very good food. Breakfast was included, and the dinner menu consists of several standard items. We brought lots of snacks to eat, and got by on breakfast and dinner, although there is a lunch menu as well. Service was impeccable and friendly (legitimately friendly - not that phony-touristy friendly you often get at resorts). Caesar, Anita and Norman were the best and we felt truly welcome here. We had the beach to ourselves every day, and chose not to go on any excursions, preferring to do these when we were staying closer to San Pedro.

Being back home now and already dealing with the stress and bustle of daily life, I wish I was back on the beach swinging in a hammock looking out at the sea. We were upgraded upon arrival to the "Prime Minister" suite, a two-storey building with a huge patio which was a very welcome touch. The accommodations were very comfortable, and we were able to buy a bottled water jug that lasted us the whole time we were there. From what we saw, all the other one-storey beachfront suites are identical more-or-less. The weather was perfect, not a mosquito to be found. It was quite windy some days, but a tropical breeze is really not a bad thing and made life comfortable. The heat was definitely noticeable when the wind died down.

All in all, a perfect getaway. If our travels take us back to Belize we will definitely be making another stay here.

Room Tip: The "garden view suite" or "budget suite" is attached to the Prime Minister suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shakkazulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a short, first visit here at the end of a vacation in the rainforests of Cayo and Guatemala, our first trip to Belize and Ambergris Caye. The comments on other reviews are pretty accurate, so won't rehash all of them here. Rather, I'll point out what we think are some key takeaways.

The quality of the location itself is terrific. The beach is very white and the reef is very close. The overall effect of the place is superb. The views are as good as the photos suggest, the water is just as clear.

You are far from everything else. We didn't find this to be a problem but don't plan on staying here if you are interested in checking out the town, or other resorts, at least easily.

The 1BR cabanas are not equal. We stayed in cabin 1, which was formerly the office. The manager lives upstairs. We didn't have a problem with noise but the view from the unit is more obstructed by the dock complex and restaurant than other units. There is no loft in the unit and there is air conditioning in the entire thing with no opening windows in front, so no opportunity to get a breeze or fresh air. The interior stairway has been removed so the kitchen area is strangely large and odd shaped. Resort staff walks to the rear of the property using a path right next to this unit and there is no privacy from people looking in.

Breakfast was good. We thought the few other meals we had were just ok. Don't come here for the food.

While it was quiet for the most part there can be groups into drinking a lot in the bar and they make noise. You will hear it because there isn't a sound from anywhere else!

The quality of the lodging is fine but not elegant. This is not a flower petals on the bed or turned down at night sort of place.

There is sea grass not far from the beach, and sort of a strange smell just offshore. No impediment to snorkeling and kayaking, but we wouldn't have enjoyed swimming right off the beach and didn't see anyone do this as opposed to swimming out to the reef. As noted elsewhere, the reef in this area is not pristine. We did not take a boat trip to snorkel elsewhere due to lack of time, that could be good. Such trips are expensive however, and there is a definite undercurrent of trying to sell them to you. And yes, the beach areas outside the resort are filled with plastic trash, most unappealing.

We've been to beaches all over the world. Can't compare it to other spots in Belize.

Room Tip: Request units with a number greater than 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vida, or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I have been at this resort three times. We love it each time. Its away from town about 12 miles up north of SanPedro, last resort. The beaches are wonderful and the Snorkling is heaven. Its a national park in the water. The cabanas are fantastic. I have stayed in all of them and not a one is better than the other. We stayed in the budget room and it has A/C through out the room. Plus its the only one with a king size bed. I would stay their again. Its doesnt have oceanfront like the other cabanas, but you aren't in your room that much. I would suggest going to the local store and buying a few issentials like beers, sodas, and snacks before heading out to tranquility bay. They are more expensive out their. Catherine the Manager is right on the ball. She has greatly improved the place. I will be back to this resort

Room Tip: Internet service is alittle slow. The rooms 7-11 do not have internet availablilty. Bone fishing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we stayed at tranquility Bay and miss Catherine the manager has raised tranquillities Level to new heights. The food was excellent the fishing and diving world-class , The service is personal and incredibly friendly. This is our third visit we took family this time and will be back again and so will they

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
4.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
6.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
7.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
14.5 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Resort
Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing