We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquility Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$138
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$163
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$138
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$123
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Morgan's Retreat(Ambergris Caye)(Great Value!)
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
$239
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$290
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayo Espanto(San Pedro)
$1,695
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
354
88
19
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
88
19
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstackle boxsan pedrofishhol chan and shark ray alleymexico rocksdive masterdive shopbudget roombaby oilbarrier reefsea grassminute boat rideboat trafficnurse sharksaquarium restaurantremote locationgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 478 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at Tranquility Bay in early Feb. The resort is small and private which we liked. The beach is beautiful and the water was warm. We had a great half day snorkelling trip. The restaurant was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaints are that the windows in our cabana , # 6, could not be opened, and the snorkelling and fly fishing at the resort grounds were disappointing. Overall we had an enjoyable time at the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishNewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want lots of activity and hussle bussle go closer to San Pedro. If you want a great room, wonderful food, snorkling, sailing, and kayaking done at your own pace tis is the place. Oh I forgot to say the view is second to none.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This picturesque spot is further afield than other options in the area, but if you want an isolated location with a gracious staff, Tranquility Bay is ideal. With only about 10 beach-front "cabanas," the grounds make for a small compound. Beautiful views of the reef, the sunrise and the crystal blue-green waters. And with no TVs, no phones, and wireless service only available outside of the "office," you can truly unplug from the rest of the world. Any minor issues we had (one with the microwave, one with the second air conditioning unit) were resolved immediately or as soon as reasonably possible. Very sad to leave (my wife actually teared up saying "goodbye" to the staff), as this place left us with a top notch first impression of Belize.


Upside: The people. The outstanding staff members are phenomenal with the guests and seem to enjoy each others' company as well. Diving/snorkeling are available right off the resort's beach or through arranged half/full day tours. It was some of the best diving we've ever done; dive masters made all involved very comfortable even those that are only occasional divers. Fry jacks - yum. Did I mention the people?

Downside: Captive audience. A single restaurant and bar is the only food/drink option unless you bring your own. Otherwise, you can take a daily boat trip into San Pedro to re-stock with other/cheaper options. This wasn't an issue at all for us (the TB food was great and we didn't mind paying for drinks) but if you're here for a week or more it could get repetitive.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a long overdue review of Tranquility Bay. While I have relied on TripAdvisor for vacations we have taken all around the world, this is finally the first review I am writing - this place deserves it! We were there in late December 2011 with our family (including three daughters ages 8, 10, 13). We had a fantastic trip and absolutely loved this resort. I could not say enough good things about Carlos and Isabelle (the property managers) and also all the staff.

The resort has about 10 brightly colored bungalows on an amazingly beautiful beach that is second to none. It is at the very north end of Ambergris Caye and is very remote. It is like your own little paradise - no crowds and your own private beach where you rarely see anyone else. You won't compete for a hammock or a beach chair. It is paradise. If you are looking for a big resort/all inclusive then don't stay here and save it for those of us who want a unique, quiet and charming place without the crowds! This is secluded and picture perfect gorgeous.

The little bungalows are perfect for families. They is a bedroom downstairs and one upstairs in a "loft" area and each house also has two bathrooms. There is also a little kitchen area. While this is not a 5 star "luxury" resort, it is a beautiful casual beach resort and perfect for this secluded island location.

There is a restaurant right over the water for all the meals. It is as fun as it looks in the pictures. You can sit outside and see fish swimming underneath you . . . we even saw sting rays. There really isn't another option for dining because you are very remote but we found the staff to be BEYOND amazing and the food was delicious and there was plenty of variety. They had wonderful drinks and enough variety of food that even our very picky 10 year old loved it there. Despite that there were plenty of menu options, I could have eaten that Belize shrimp dish every night - delicious!! The food was moderately priced - I wasn't expecting inexpensive as I had read in the guide book that the food on all of Ambergris Caye is more expensive than the mainland because is has to be shipped out to all the restaurants. One other fun thing in the restaurant is they have many different games for guests to use and we enjoyed playing some of them while waiting for our meal.

When researching hotels on Ambergris Caye I noticed in some of the reviews for other resorts that you could not snorkel right off the beach - you had to take a boat out. At Tranquility, you can walk right out and snorkel. They also have some kayaks you can use to go out further which was amazing. I was a little worried about being so remote and so far from San Pedro town (it is a half hour boat ride), but we did the shark ray alley trip (HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!) and they stopped in Caye Caulker and San Pedro Town and the few hours there is really all you need - small but quaint towns.

The service of the staff was AMAZING. Carlos and Isabelle are quiet and friendly and very accomodating for any request we had. My husband had not been diving in many years so when we went out to shark ray alley they sent the dive master along to give him a refresher course. (I don't recall the cost for this service but it was very reasonable and much less than we would have expected). My youngest daughter was a little apprehensive snorkeling and our guide made sure he stayed very close to her so she was comfortable. And talk about going well beyond expectations for customer service . . on our flight home we got stuck in Houston overnight . . . and when we got home my oldest daughter realized her jewelry container was missing out of her bag (it must have disappeared while in the luggage storage at the Houston airport) - she was very upset as she had some souvenir earrings she had bought in San Pedro Town in there - - and Isabelle did a HUGE favor for us and bought an identical pair earrings on her next journey to San Pedro Town and mailed them to us!! Talk about SERVICE!!!!

This is somewhere we will definately come back to - - we are in process of planning a trip to the Carribean and our girls were begging us to come back to Belize. They loved this resort so much.

Thank you Carlos and Isabelle!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are awesome!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TikiTiki_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

You only need ten minutes in San Pedro to appreciate that you are staying 12 miles up the coast at Tranquillity Bay! Great 30 minute speedboat delivers you to the hotel jetty and as you speed up the coast, the touristy hotels fall away. At Tranquillity Bay there is nothing else. Powder sand and crystal clear water. The review by Tom K below says what needs saying about the cabanas. They are in dire need of updating but exceptionally roomy. The food is simple but very well prepared and excellent value if you like seafood (also brilliant chicken satay!).If you don't unwind here, you are incapable of unwinding!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebabyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews