We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Wedding in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquility Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Wedding in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our vision of the ideal wedding was on an intimate beach without the stress of actually planning an event or dealing with endless details. We found exactly what we were looking for at Tranquility Bay Resort! We literally arrived and three days later were married on the beach outside our cabana. Isabelle and Carlos, (the excellent resort managers) took care of absolutely everything, attending to even the most minor details. Our dream of an intimate beach wedding was realized to perfection! Isabelle arranged an amazing photographer (see photos!), flowers, hair and make-up, staged the ceremony, private sunset from the boat in the bay (the driver kayaked back!) a private dinner afterwards in our cabana and breakfast delivered the next morning . We were genuinely charmed by the service we received by all of the very capable staff. At a boutique resort like this one, you get to know the staff (most of them were on the dock welcoming us when we arrived). The seafood we ate was pulled fresh out of the sea and prepared to order. The snorkeling and diving at the resort was phenomenal. The cabanas were lovely with plenty of space and nice decor. The northern location of the resort is on the northern limit of the water taxi route, which means much less boat and foot traffic. The only resort that allows safe snorkeling and diving from the beach to the reef. The cabanas, boats, snorkeling and scuba equipment were high-quality and well-maintained. No corners were cut during our stay at Tranquility Bay nor were we ever "nickel-and-dimed." We have only the best memories of our wedding weekend thanks to Isabelle and Carlos and all of the great folks at Tranquility Bay! This resort will get a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    71
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
111
244
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The best place I've ever been!!!! The staff and management have been worderful! Nothing negative to say. Everything was just perfect! The food (thanks chef! note: try the tenderloin stuffed pork, wonderful!), the beach, the cabanas were awesome! We did snorkeling each day just in front of our door!!! Tours were wonderful (turtles, sharks, rays, fishing, etc). This place is perfect to rest, enjoy nature, run on the beach at sunrise and do some discoveries!!! Too hot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at this resort in February for 5 nights with our adult children who did their padi open water divers license. Couldn't have imagined a better place to do the padi. We went snorkling every day and even saw a manatee whilst snorkling! A beautiful place to relax absolutely and completely, the underwater world is unbelievable and the staff was very joyful and more than friendly! Also, the food was amazing! The owners Carlos and Isabel with their staff did everything they could to make our stay unforgettable. Thank you very much to all of you, we would recommend anyone to visit this special place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was our first trip out of the U.S. We felt immediately at home with TBR....
We are missing Belize and our friends at Tranquility Bay Resort. We had the best vacation we've ever had.
The cabana was kept very clean despite all the sand we kept dragging in with us.
The food was amazing, the fish tacos were my favorite! The rum cake and coconut pie were awesome as well.
Having never gone snorkeling before, it was everything I'd imagined and so much more. It was so incredible, and easily accessible as you begin snorkeling only a few feet into the water.
Staff were amazing. They felt like family before we left.
The side trips to San Pedro were fun as well. It's a beautiful half hour ride in. The town is easy to walk through, and there are plenty of maps throughout town to guide you.
Missing everyone and everything, and looking forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyGray80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you back at the resort again soon! :-)

Cheers,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

For those on the 'fence' if you'd like to stay here or not, we were in San Pedro for two weeks and I called the resort and called the manager Carlos, who worked out a way for the four of us to get up there and spend the day. Realize you have to work with their boat schedule and their guests come first OBVIOUSLY, but it is well worth a trip up there to see the sights and snorkel!
It is the most tranquil place I have been too but you are remote.If you want to be away from it all, this is the place for you.
The staff was spectacular! Even though we were 'visitors', we were treated with such respect and friendliness! It was a great day!
We would consider staying if we went back, however I need to be able to cruise on my golf cart in San Pedro, so it would only be a few days for us.
I strongly suggest trying to work out a visit as you may just fall in love with the place!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for the review and coming up to the resort for the day. To others reading this review please do understand that our in house guests take priority over day visits as far as scheduling a boat as mentioned above! :-)

Cheers,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We met friends here for a week of diving fishing and relaxing.the weather didn't cooperate with the fishing,we were blow out but our guide gaspar worked like a dog and put us on multiple schools of bonefish,he was outstanding.The diving exceeded our expectations with sitings of eagle rays turtles manatees and even cuttlefish. what was best of all was the feel of family Carlos and Isabel have instilled from the food to a bar that Hemmingway would have loved tranquility bay is first class all the way,can't wait to come back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your fishing trips and snorkeling and snorkeling from the beach!

Cheers,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

In a word, unbelievable. A relaxing atmosphere, phenomenal views by day and clear starlit nights. The food was authentic, reminded me of my Mom's Jamaican cooking. All the staff was friendly, helpful and professional. We stayed in the Prime Minister's Cabana. It was kept spotless on a daily basis. The staff at the Aquarium knew my name in minutes and seemed as though I'd known them forever. Hill and Albert we're great in suggesting new dinner selections and libations. Carlos and Isabel were the most gracious of hosts going so far as to convince me to go shark diving...it was phenomenal...don't miss going to Hol Chan. Jamal was a great guide and boatsman. Orlando was very reassuring despite my phobia of deep water and made certain to outfit me so that I'd be comfortable...Thank you again. Unfortunately, as I write this, I am on my way back to work but am already planning our return trip. Thank you everyone at Tranquility Bay Resort for surpassing even my wildest dreams and expectations for this trip.

Room Tip: Any cabana is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innerdiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you back soon! :-)

Cheers,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
4.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
6.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
7.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
14.5 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Resort
Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing