We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azul Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveler rating
438
250
109
56
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
250
109
56
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesan pedrogolf cartswim up barwater taxibedroom villamain poolsecret beachsea grassnice resortvacation clubother resortsconvenience storecevicheresort restaurantcave tubingrum punch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 914 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. I was really excited to see that TripAdvisor gave them an award and thought we would be staying in a nice resort. We were pretty disappointed.

Front desk staff - Not helpful at all. We requested a coffee maker in our room, which was granted but never delivered. I also had to fight with them to get a late checkout when our flight wasn't leaving until 3PM. Every time I asked for something I got a scowl from the lady who was working.

Rooms - Terrible. Our room had salt water coming out the faucets and shower for half of our stay. The bedding had stains and holes in it. Cable would cut out randomly. Also, the rooms don't have phones so there is no way to call down if you have a problem or need something. The air conditioning, however, was excellent.

Bar - this was one of the highlights of the resort. We had an excellent bartender who made the best mojito I've ever had. Happy hour specials were great.

Restaurant - reviewed separately but I would give them 5 stars for lunch and dinner. Breakfast, however, was a big disappointment. Also, there is no room service. It says in the book that meals can be delivered to your room but I was turned down several times by the front desk and the restaurant.

Pools - we saw that there were two swim up bars and were really excited. They weren't open the first day but the staff said they would be open the following day. They were not open for our entire trip. The pools are small but nice for a dip to cool you down.

Staff - this was a mix of some of the nicest and most helpful people we met and some really terrible ones. Just depends on who you get, I guess.

Beach - This really isn't Captain Morgan's fault but the beach is covered in sea grass and is not very good for swimming. This is how almost all of the beaches on the island are.

If you are trying to save money this resort is pretty affordable. We were expecting a nice resort and it fell way short of our expectations. We were on our honeymoon and the combination of bad service from the front desk, poor rooms, lack of room service and mediocre pools were not what we were looking for. We ended up going on trips, expeditions and other adventures everyday to get out of the resort. We didn't book any of the trips through the front desk.

Room Tip: We checked into another room for a couple of hours before our flight and it was much nicer than the room we stayed in. One of the staff showed us a couple of rooms before we checked in. Probably a good idea to see what rooms are available when you check in.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainMorgansBZ, General Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your honeymoon with Captain Morgan’s. We offer a wide range of services to make sure couples experience a romantic and relaxing time with us, and it’s great to hear you and your partner enjoyed the bar area and service. Our bartenders are very skilled in creating cocktails and as you mentioned, our house mojito is one that our guest’s regularly praise.

The fact that you give our restaurant five starts is fantastic — our kitchen and waiting staff take huge pride in delivering mouth-watering dishes. Our staff will be happy to hear you regard them as some of the nicest and most helpful people you met, I will make sure to pass this message on to them.

Occasionally our pools require maintenance work and sadly we cannot predict when this might happen. It seems your stay coincided with a period of vital work by our ground team.

Your comments are important to us and we have noted them. The salt water may have been coming into your shower due to unusually high swells, which do not occur very often. Ambergris Caye is fairly low in elevation and sometimes unpredictable storms do arise.

Kindest Regards,

Captain Morgan's Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just a short walk up the beach from where I stayed, the Bueno Vista Restaurant & Bar at Captain Morgan's is not to be missed! I thoroughly enjoyed the staff- filled with information and good cheer.
The food is EXCELLENT. Casual Island-style poolside dining. A wonderful dining experience! I must rave about the conch fritters (I'm addicted!). Also the Snapper was deliciously prepared and beautifully presented. I'll be back!

Room Tip: I have not stayed there, only dined. I can say that the extensive grounds, pool, beachside setting, and rooms are always immaculate--and the overall atmosphere is fabulous!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Captain Morgans Retreat is the place to stay. Just got back from a 8 day stay with a group of 19 of us. What a beautiful place!!! Gilbert, Patricia, Danny Boy, Oscar and all of the staff were exceptional. The rooms were clean. The setting is stunning. We would definitely go back again. In fact, 2 of our group are headed back in January. Thanks again to everyone at Captian Morgan's for making our trip fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My sister-in-law and I stayed at Captain Morgan's for 3 nights in April. We had a 2 bedroom unit. When we we shown to the room it needed cleaning because of a sandstorm that had come up earlier in the day, which is understandable. But after it was re-cleaned, it was still dirty. The shower and the bathtub both had footprints and dirt in them. One of the 3 pools was very dirty. The newest pool was beautiful. The manager was very helpful in getting a snorkeling tour arranged and the folks there were very friendly. The food was excellent. A suggestion: I didn't know there was a store until 2 days after we got there and we had to ask other guests where to get pool towels (at the store). We could have used a little more orientation and personal touch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betsy404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainMorgansBZ, Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Betsy404,

Thank you for taking the time to posts your views regarding your stay with Captain Morgan’s, we are always interested to hear guest opinions because customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

It is great to learn you enjoyed our newest pool — our guests always have a fun time either swimming or relaxing on a sun lounge area or sitting at the bar surrounding the pool. We are also pleased to hear that you were more than satisfied with the staff service and friendliness in organising your snorkeling tour.

We will ensure only the finest in standards for the housekeeping.

Sincerely,

Captain Morgan’s Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We happened to stumble on Captain Morgans after we rented a golf cart and decided to explore the north side of Ambergris Caye. The North side was MUCH different from the south side in a few different ways 1) no paved road with lots of holes so you must go slow, 2) resorts and bars/restaurants are spread out so you cannot walk to much, 3) at times you feel alone on the road as you may go 15 minutes without seeing anyone. Nonetheless, we happened to come to Captain Morgans and greeted by a very friendly attendant at the beginning of the resort. He was essentially trying to pitch us for a timeshare, we didn't have anything else to do so we decided to listen to the pitch and check out their facilities. After a tour of the place we were astonished how nice, clean and modern it was. The ONLY reason we did not purchase a timeshare there was because (just like the rest of the island) the mangroves overtake the water off the beach. If and when we do purchase a timeshare we want to have a place where we can swim off of the beach. You do have the ability to take a canoe and go a few minutes into the water and then be able to leave the canoe and swim but it doesn't take away from the ability to be able to swim right off of the beach.

We had a tour from the owners son and he explained the entire process and the history behind the property. EXTREMELY nice, knowledgeable, relaxed persona. Again, I want to emphasize that if it weren't for the fact that we can't swim off the beach (the same is true on the entire island) we would have probably bought the timeshare on the spot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aho682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews