We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$104
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveler rating
438
252
112
56
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
252
112
56
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesan pedrogolf cartswim up barwater taxibedroom villamain poolsecret beachsea grassnice resortvacation clubother resortsconvenience storecevicheresort restaurantcave tubingrum punch
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 919 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was my third trip to Captain Morgan's and as expected a fantastic time. It's on the northern end of the island and slightly remote but if you don't want loud noise, traffic sounds or crowds, it's the perfect spot to get away from it all. Rustic yet modern with exceptional staff and hospitality. The only thing missing from this island getaway is the lack of in-room telephones. The rooms come with kitchenettes with a general store on the grounds all with great views of the white sugar sand beach and swaying coconut palms. You can easily get to the town by water taxi, walking or golf cart. Bikes are also available at the resort. If using a golf cart be warned it is a very bumpy ride into town but fun. Snorkeling and fishing are wonderful. Needless to say I will be going back.

Room Tip: The cabanas at the far end have the best views of the water.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in a nice apartment with a perfect view of the ocean. The restaurant and bar is central to the resort. The drink and food quality was good. There is an on site convenience store and they have golf cart rentals. Very friendly staff, good service.

The only down side was transportation to and for the resort was disorganized and confusing. Getting there was difficult; their booth at the water taxi dock was not attended and we had to have the water taxi operators call the resort to pick us up. When we left the resort, the resort dock attendants put us on the wrong boat and we ended up in Ladyville on the mainland. We had to spend extra money getting a taxi back to Belize city and then a water taxi back out to the islands and it cost us most of one day of our vacation.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Reviewing777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainMorgansBZ, General Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank for taking the time to note down your thoughts regarding your stay at Captain Morgan’s. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the panoramic views of the ocean from your apartment, so too our Bueno Vista Restaurant & Bar. It is also great to learn that you were very happy with our staff as we take great pride in ensuring all who work at Captain Morgan’s are polite, friendly, and go the extra mile to make guests comfortable.

The confusion you experienced at the resort dock is very rare, we have never heard of one of our guests being put on the wrong boat. Getting to Ambergris Caye from Belize’s mainland is usually a very simple journey. Captain Morgan’s organizes transport for guests all year round to ensure arriving here is as stress free as possible.

Kindest Regards,

Captain Morgan’s Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We did not stay at Captain Morgan's but booked the Cave Tubing and Mayan ruin excursion through them. First of all, we got an EXCELLENT price on the package. Second, they were so wonderful setting everything up AND we also got our own personal tour guide for our small group for BOTH excursions, when cruise ships were coming in with HUGE groups of people and only one tour guide. They picked us up at our resort, stooped and got us breakfast and made sure we made in onto the boat to head to Belize City for the day (ALL included in the price!). We had someone waiting for us when the boat arrived at Belize City, and we went to the Mayan ruins first, and were able to spend as much time there as we wanted. Our tour guide,Junior, was excellent and made sure we made it before the cruise ship rush. Next we had lunch, which again was INCLUDED in the price and was excellent, and headed to the cave tubing. My ONLY 'complaint' was that one couple in our group booked zip lining, along with cave tubing and the ruins, and the rest of us had to wait for them to finish… But overall, a wonderful experience!! We were treated wonderfully by the staff, and anyone affiliated with them, with the small groups, transportation, great food, personal tour guides!! BOTH excursions a MUST, in my opinion!! The cave tubing and Mayan ruins both left me speechless and I feel so grateful to not only experience such amazing thing BUT also get treated so wonderfully all day!!

Room Tip: This is a DAY TRIP! Meaning, the boat ride from San Pedro, Ambergris Caye to Belize City is about 2 hours one way, followed by an hour and a half car hour, with an additional 45 min or so car ride to the 2nd excursion. if we knew this we probably wouldn't have booked BUT I would not be happier that we did!! DO IT!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JodiLynneMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a few nights in one of the villas at Captain Morgan's when we had a conflict at a rental home.

The place is hard to find at night. From a prior visit to San Pedro, I knew which resort it was but We struggled to find the front desk. We actually gave up and drove back to the Grand Caribe but they were full. We finally walked into the resort and found the front desk.

The resort is nice and every member of the staff we talked to were great.

The food was good. The menu was not very big but the food was delicious.

My only concern with Captain Morgan's is the distance from town and the quality of the road to get there. It is only a few miles but it is very rough. The combination makes it a bit isolating. A quick trip to San Pedro is close to 30 minutes, one way.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We did not stay at Captain Morgan’s but we did venture over to eat dinner at the Tuesday night Belizean buffet and it was very good. They set up tables around the pool area and have live music. The food was great and they had a coconut cream dessert that was absolutely wonderful. The casino looked very nice but we didn't stay and play.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRK_JJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews