We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster Ceviche, Papusas, and Hospitality!”
Review of Papuseria

Papuseria
Ranked #108 of 214 Restaurants in Ambergris Caye
Cuisines: Central American
Restaurant details
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Ceviche, Papusas, and Hospitality!”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We just wanted a bite of late lunch without a lot of fuss, and stopped into this small and bustling little gem of a restaurant. Our server was great, the Belikins were cold, and the Lobster Ceviche was the single best food choice we made on our entire trip - a great value, extremely tasty, and generously portioned. We also loved the quesadillas (chicken) and papusas - offered with large jars of self-serve cabbage slaw and mild red sauce (traditionally served with Papusas) stationed on the tables. Can't go wrong here!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusansRoadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Salvadorian Papusas - Yummy!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Toti and his mom serve up delicious food, especially the jugs of fresh tomato juice and the spicy cabbage slaw they put on the tables for spooning onto your papusa! Mom has been making papusas since she was 9 years old, and watching her shape, pat and grill at the front of the restaurant is an entertaining part of your dining experience. Staff are friendly and eager to please. Sit, drink, eat and chat with Toti, his mom, and other locals. Located in the more central, near the airport "downtown" area, walk there and see another part of Ambergris Caye.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kept going back”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I must have eaten here like 4 times. Just loved it. The pupusas are amazing and the service is very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliagoolia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Papusa virgin”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband I were strolling around San Pedro and wanted something to eat. Never had a Papua before, took a chance and stopped in at the papuseria. We had the mixed papusas which had cheese, beans and pork filling. It was good value, tasty and very filling. We ordered 3 each and were stuffed afterwards. Good option for gluten free as the shell is made out of corn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tornado_pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
1 review
“Always a great meal!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just got back from Ambergris Caye for our 2nd year in a row. We stumbled upon this place with our first visit and made it a main stop for our second visit. Authentic Salvadorian papusas and the burritos are out of this world. You will love the prices as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PastorBobAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papuseria also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Papuseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing