We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay for Business Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Alpharetta
Certificate of Excellence
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good Stay for Business Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn Windward during a recent business trip to Alpharetta, GA. It wasn’t my first choice as it was further way from my business location in Alpharetta, however liked that it was a suite room. The location was located not far from the intersection of 440 and Windward, but far enough away where you could not hear the road traffic. It was also located near many strip malls with quick dining options. Off of Windward parkway the location was a bit difficult to find. There was a sign off of Windward, but it was small and you could be confused as it is front of a Holiday Inn too. This location is behind that Holiday Inn. Check-in was very quick and professional. There was a lot of good service from the front desk.

Rooms – Despite their age, the room still seemed new. The wear on the rooms has been minimal but you certainly do not smell a new building anymore. The main bedroom had a king bed. It came with a couple different styles of pillows. I liked that the bedroom had a large closet for storing my stuff and not getting in the way of the cleaning crew. The rooms did feel a bit small and was emphasized by the small cabinet under the tv. The bedding on the bed was adequate. The bathroom was on the smaller side too, but didn’t feel super cramp for a big guy. My biggest complaint was on the first day I was there it was bit cold and the hot water ran out.

Main Living Area – Was surprised to have a fireplace in the room, but didn’t get to use it. Both the bedroom and main living area had flat screen tvs. Both had a wide selection of channels. My biggest complaint about this area is that this is hotel that seems to cater to business travelers but lacked a good working surface. There were two blocks that were a coffee table and work area. It was ideal, but got the job done while sitting on the chaise lounge/couch. I was confused by the internet in this hotel as initially said that I would have to pay for anything over a certain time period. After complaining about this I was informed by the hotel that this was a mistake they were resolving and that they do not charge for internet.

Breakfast /Manager Reception – I found this lacking compared to other chains such as Drury or Embassy. I found the breakfast items to be lacking. The ham didn’t meet my liking. The juice cups were very small. I ended up hitting McDonalds the other days. Hit the Managers reception one day. There was Chex mix and a cheese and meat tray for food. Drinks were Miller light, cans of Pepsi (yes….Pepsi in Atlanta did seem odd), and wine.

Overall –Would I go back…maybe. Overall it was nice stay. I was comfortable, minus some minor annoyances such as the cold shower and lack of workspace. The customer service was very good.

Room Tip: Didn't see elevators so mobility challenged travelers and seniors might want to choose a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Schoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    48
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
15
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is clean and in a great location. It has tons of shopping and eatery in walking distance. Its a short drive to the city of Atlanta. The hotel's breakfast buffet is really good and it has a lot to choose from. It does have a pool and outside grilling area. The rooms were spotless and spacious with everything you need. More like staying in an apt than a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaB437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for two months from end of August to November. Staff were so friendly accommodating helpful just great. Treated u like family. Especial kudos to Elysee & Naomi (food staff), Kenya (housekeeping), & Vicky (front staff). Rooms were clean spacious. Had living room kitchen n 2 bedrms, tv was in every room, kitchen had all the utensils n pots n pans, housekeeping was always spot on, cleaned thoroughly. Kenya always did a super job cleaning our room and catering to whatever we needed that we ran out of. Thanks sooo much, kids can be so messy. Super friendly front desk made stay memorable n bearable living n a hotel with kids for so long. Pool was clean n good for the kids, had basketball/makeshift tennis court, fitness center. Love that they have a shuttle that'll take u to the north point mall, love the laundry facility on site, the place will also take u to the grocery store to pick up groceries too. Plenty of parking. safe area to walk around at night, close to some major companies. Breakfast food was a good spread overall fine can have eggs benedict, pancakes, ham, potatoes, sausage, bacon with usual breads n cereals yogurt n fruit oatmeal breakfast sanwhiches, somewhat concerned that people off the street drive up n just walk n to take the breakfast for free, i'm sure they were not guests at the hotel. seen a whole family pull up in their jalopey car n just grab plates of food to go. Both breakfast n dinner varied which was important - hamburgers, pasta, spaghetti, always salad, pulled pork sandwiches, cold sandwich spread lots more that I can't remember now. The food staff Elysse n Naomi were so helpful n provided great service. We didn't have any issues whatsoever with this place. Really turned out great for temporary housing. Lots of restaurants nearby, walmart n target nearby. Really home away from home. Recommend this place highly. So close to the ramp to hwy 400 so convenient to get to city or north. Great stay!!!

Room Tip: Accessible to hwy 400, great for American girl at north point, great clean friendly hotel for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklegirl_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn Windward Parkway in Alpharetta while visiting family for Christmas. The property has just gone through a complete remodel and everything in the rooms and on the grounds was clean and new. The rooms have a spacious living room, bedroom, bathroom and kitchenette. Granite counters in kitchen and bath, along with stainless appliances. Flat screen TV's in the living room and bedroom. The free breakfast was great and had eggs, sausage, potatoes and pancakes. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will most definitely will stay here again while visiting family in Atlanta.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My niece turned six and wanted an American Girl birthday celebration. The hotel staff made her feel so special. With a private AG checkin, baby doll bed in the room, the pink theme in the room, fresh cookies, movies....this hotel has it all. We had a two bedroom two bath suite. It was roomy and clean. Breakfast each day was fabulous! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my 3rd trip to Alpharetta but the first time I was staying in this place. The staff at the Hotel was absolutely FANTASTIC! I had read some reviews about this place and on getting in started inquiring about the different problems that other travelers had faced. The person on Front desk took time to explain that all those issues have been sorted out. He walked with me to my room which was in building 4 and en-route showing the different features of the hotels.

Later there were some problems with the travel card and on expressing concern, the staff promptly drafted a letter and sent it to the bank for the excess charges to be dropped.

One thing that i would like to definately write about ... is that the Room Service Staff is excellent and honest. A colleague of mine traveled with me on this trip and he had misplaced $500/- The room service staff had picked the money and left it bedside for us to find it when we returned. I don't say, that you can be careless about the money , but just pointing out the honesty of the staff

Just to update on the previous few comments

1. The refurbishing of the place is complete - so no more noise and paint smell
2. You do have to take an additional key - I some times faced that the one dint work (Thankfully I had read the review and asked for an additional one :) )


Breakfast was good - The staff kept it opened a little later than the timings so people dont miss breakfast. Over all had a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My stay was absolutely amazing. I could not think of anything that would of made it better. They room was very well equipped and the staff was top notch!!! I really enjoyed my extended stay and I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnreagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alpharetta hotels
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Alpharetta North Point
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alpharetta
0.7 mi away
Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta
Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta
#1 of 24 in Alpharetta
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#5 of 24 in Alpharetta
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Windward Parkway
Hyatt Place Windward Parkway
#10 of 24 in Alpharetta
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta North/Alpharetta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward
Address: 5465 Windward Pkwy, Alpharetta, GA 30004-3894
Location: United States > Georgia > Alpharetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alpharetta
#11 Business Hotel in Alpharetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Alpharetta/Windward Hotel Alpharetta
Residence Inn Alpharetta
Alpharetta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing