We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. One of our favorites”

Ray's at Killer Creek
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's at Killer Creek is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 523 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mansell Road and Georgia 400
Description: Enjoy this rustic yet casual setting while dining on a menu combining the finest elements of a fresh seafood and steak house, with the creative comfort foods of the South. Experience the views of the open kitchen from our main dining room, or enjoy the beauty of the surrounding nature on our covered patio during warmer months.
ATLANTA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place. One of our favorites”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Killer Creek is one of our favorite restaurants in North Atlanta. Always good food and service. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CINCYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    85
    38
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Serious disappointment - the new normal?”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Historically Kller Creek has provided a decent meal at a slightly elevated price in a nice setting with good service. Last night we were a group of five with an early (6 pm) reservation. The first hitch was the wine list listed a 2007 vintage, the server brought out a 2008 as if that was what was on the list. When the vintage was noted as an important consideration he tried to "sell" the 2008 instead of checking to see about 2007 availability. Picky? Maybe.
The next hitch was missing an entre - only four of the five arrived from the kitchen. When the mistake was noted they rushed to bring out the final entre and the medium rare filet was seared but clearly not medium rare.
The rest of the food was well prepared, tasty, albeit a bit cold. As compensation they did deduct the appetizers from the bill. The consensus, "disappointing". We are not ready to commit to another celebratory dinner here when there are so many other options available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unusually Mediocre”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Maybe it's because the restaurant is renovating, but the food was over cooked, over sauced, and over seasoned this time around. The strip steak was charred, cooked well, even though I asked for it to be medium/well. The shrimp etoufette was much too spicy and too saucy. The last five or six times we have been, our meal was outstanding. The steaks were juicy, and the seafood was delightful.

I should have known something might go awry when I noticed the valet service gone and the blank wall in the foyer. This time it was hard to enjoy myself because of the wood planks up everywhere and no live music. Hopefully once the renovations are done, we can start to see the energy of our beloved Rays Killer Creek pick up again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 75peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice for Friends or Family”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My family and a number of business associates really love this place. The service is normally great and the food has always been fantastic. We go for family meals and business dinners and both seem to be great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Attractive Restaurant - Enjoyable Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Dining on a Monday night when the crown is sparse should always lead to excellent service, and our visit was up to par.

Excellent appetizers(pricey) and your standard steaks ($28-$42) and seafood ($28+), and don't forget the pricey side items.

Buying a bottle of wine here is like getting a small mortgage. Guys - 3-4 times markup? C'mon man, it's not that fancy of a place!

You will enjoy your dining experience (my petite filet was good - not great) and the buttermilk mashed potatoes were a bit watery - but still gave me a stomach ache due to too much sourcream, or buttermilk.

All in all, an enjoyable dining experience with good food and ambiance, but the check will leave you with heartburn.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's at Killer Creek also viewed

 

Been to Ray's at Killer Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing