We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Piano Bar”

Altobeli's Italian Restaurant & Piano Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Altobeli's Italian Restaurant & Piano Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 521 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Haynes Bridge Road
Description: Serving our patrons since 1988 we always work to exceed our guests' expectations with better and friendlier service, cozier atmosphere, great food and top notch live entertainment six nights a week. We strive to accommodate our guests' dietary needs and special requests. We are very fortunate to be part of the Roswell/Alpharetta/Johns Creek's boom during the last two decades and we have celebrated with you many happy occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, wedding rehearsals and receptions, bar mitzvahs, business meetings, and more. We have and always will, appreciate your patronage. Relax and enjoy your evening here with us, have a fine cocktail or choose a wine from our extensive wine list and enjoy our entertainment and hospitality. Your host, Al.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Piano Bar”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Everyone here seemed to know everyone here. However the food was not very high quality, but it was reasonably priced

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccrawf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bring your own flavor”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's been a while since we've eaten at Altobeli's and now I remember why. Three of us went there this evening. One of us had the escargot appy. While these weren't terrible, there was definitely a lack of seasoning, especially salt of any kind. We ordered three entrees- veal parmesian, veal saltimbocca and chicken florentine. No salt. Not a bit. Also, no flavor. All three dishes were like eating indescribable protein. The saltimbocca has one tiny piece of prosciutto in the entire dish and it was covered with a very heavy, almost leaden brown sauce. Saltimbocca means "jump in the mouth" and this most certainly did not. The pasta that came with it was covered with an equally thick alfredo type sauce that honestly tasted like it was from a bottle at the nearby Kroger. Even the Coke that one of us ordered was off and when this was brought to the waiter's attention, he told us that "it was fine- he drank it all the time" before finally getting another glass of Coke.

A trip to the restroom was almost as shocking- apparently the woman's restroom is also where they store their extra chairs- approximately 12 of them- blocking much of the aisle. These chairs and a couple of unused tables also almost totally block the back emergency exit. Isn't that a fire code issue? There are faux fruit baskets hanging above each toilet that appear not to have been dusted since Clinton's administration. Since the walls in the dining room are COVERED in framed photos and signatures from semi famous people, one wonders if they ever get dusted and what the overall cleanliness of the place really is. I also think that if you have to try to tell your patrons how wonderful you are by having autographs everywhere, you might need to concentrate on actually having good tasting,well seasoned food.

The warm rolls were nice, but again, no significant flavor. I enjoyed my glass of wine. The music was lovely. I did feel that we were getting the bums rush towards the end of the evening, even though there was plenty of seats left in the house. It was 8 pm and they close at 10 and there was no reason to rush us out, as the conversation was the best part of the evening.

Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galateasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I Ate It !!! All before I took a photo”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

YUMMY !!!
What a meal !
The veal is to die for !
Fun music ... At times it is listing not talking time .. The singes can go at it !
The serving is just right .. They don't try to impress by loading the plate ...
Also had a good glass of Pinot Noir !
AND room for desert ... All of it is good !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Special Italian restaurant in Atlanta”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food, the ambiance, the service and entertainment (piano bar) is always great. A great for valentine dinner if you reserve early enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place with good piano music and food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We come here a few times a year. The food and service are always good. You can choose to sit on the side where the music is or on the quiter side. They always have various specials. Be sure to register your birthday and anniversary dates to receive discounts. I also found. 50% coupon on Foursquare

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altobeli's Italian Restaurant & Piano Bar also viewed

 

Been to Altobeli's Italian Restaurant & Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing