We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steakhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pampas Steakhouse

Pampas Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Pampas Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 510 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $65
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jones Bridge Road
Suwanee,GA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Husband and I have eaten here twice this year. We've eaten is some really good steakhouses over the years, and this has got to be one of the best, both in food and service. Very knowledgable wait staff. Water glasses never went unfilled. The steaks are to die for. The atmosphere is nice- has an intimate feel, lighting is perfect. We laughed both times at the size of the red wine glasses- they are huge! :) The sides are good- large portioned and rich, but then again, we aren't eating grilled chicken breasts. You will not leave feeling hungry, so definitely bring your appetite!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    65
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Watch out for Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

What a wonderful evening. Great décor. Excellent service. Delicious food. The wine listed a wine that was "reserva" When the bottle arrived, it did not say reserva so I inquired. The sommelier quickly admitted that it is not. So they are selling the lesser vintage at reserva prices? His response was "Then choose another". Deceiving charging for a wine as not what is offered and then he does not even apologize. His attitude was not appreciated. The prices are high enough to offer the better wine at that price, they should not make more profit on a cheaper bottle.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to enjoy good appetizers and live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I went to Pampas a couple of times. I love that place, the food is very good, service is good and the wines are the best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, pretentious service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

If the food wasn’t so good, I would have given it one less star. This was probably the best steakhouse I’ve ever been to. Everything was prepared to perfection, with one very minor exception. On the menu they carefully describe the difference between rare, medium-rare, medium, etc. So I would have expected that they would have been just as careful in the preparation. I ordered a medium steak. It came medium-well, but it was so tasty that I didn’t comment to the waiter about it.

But the service wasn’t up to par. The waiter knew that this was our first visit, and he knew that my wife was celebrating her birthday. When the meal was served, my wife asked for horseradish. It never came. We each ordered two side dishes. They were enormous and we commented that each were easily enough for two people. The waiter said that he forgot to tell us that. We ordered desert and when we got the bill we learned that it was comp’ed because of my wife’s birthday. That was very nice, but it would have been nicer if they told us in advance.

Finally, the ambiance would have been perfect except that there was a baby nearby that shrieked loudly every so often. I don’t think restaurants like this should allow babies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
228 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

As our home office is close by, we ate an early dinner at Pampas Steakhouse. While walking inside you could smell the wood burning on the grill which is something different for a steakhouse. The staff greeted us promptly and we were seated at a booth just off the front door. Our two servers came over and took our drink orders after informing us of some drink specials. Apps of empanadas arrived which were okay, they were small and of the puff pastry version. The meat filled ones were better than the cheese filled ones. The salad selection was good as was the wine selection which was half off per bottle during our visit. The steak presentation and explanation was superb. The cooking process on the open grill was detailed by the servers. Each of our steaks arrived hot and with the ordered sauces. My steak was slightly under-cooked but was still very good. I would return to Pampas Steakhouse again when back in Alpharetta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pampas Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing