We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Seafood Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blu Bay Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blu Bay Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, American
Dining options: Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Good Seafood Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have few good seafood restaurants and were anxious to try this fairly new place. The interior was dark and the music was loud. The small serving/senior serving offers were an excellent idea. However, my grilled catfish was only lukewarm and somewhat soggy. My husband's fried 'whole' catfish was just as described = whole. Three whole fish were heaped on his plate. We wondered why they offered them whole, as the chance of choking on their many fish bones could be quite high. However, my husband thought they tasted good. I loved my serving of vegetables and the hush puppies were tasty if not a little dry. Service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's the fish place you want to find at the beach. Why drive to Destin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across the place. It is very fun, great staff. Food was fresh. We will be back. We had the lighter side and the portions were still huge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank productiveguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
993 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,003 helpful votes
“Yikes -- Needs a lot of Help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A pretty bad experience from A to Z. Two couples on a weekend for conversation and some seafood. Booths are pretty uncomfortable (very square and hard). Ambient noise level was high even without many people there.

My wife ordered one of 9 specials. Several minutes went by and the waiter said they were out of it. She ordered another of the 9 specials. Several more minutes went by and they were out of that too. Pretty poor menu control and communication especially for a Saturday night. Clam Chowder was poor. I had a combo scallop and shrimp main course and only the scallops arrived. The baked potato wasn't done properly. The waiter was responsive and trying to be helpful but it was hopeless.

They gave us a free entrée without us asking which was nice. They also delivered a free dessert which was mediocre at best.

One person took the order, a different person delivered the food, another person took plates away. Butter and sour cream came in small separate containers which made them hard to use.

Outdoor seating is not private and next to a busy strip mall parking lot.

Pretty disorganized and not good. There are other seafood choices in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“They got Seafood - Big portions!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The seafood nachos was a hit, the fried clams were large & tender. Good combo selection of grilled & fried: shrimp, scallops, fish & more. The owner is attentive and a pleasure to talk to. Going for the crab legs next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Did not care for Blu Bay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I went there for lunch -- average price for a strip mall seafood restaurant. My fried shrimp were okay, but the cole slaw had obviously been in the refrigeratornclose to some fish as it had a distinctly fishy flavor. There were very few people in the restaurant... There's a clue.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Bay Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing