We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair food, fair prices, decent atmosphere”

Tara Humata Mexican Grill & Tequila Bar
Ranked #68 of 513 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fair food, fair prices, decent atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I found it to be a glorified Frontera's with lesser service and slightly higher prices. I don't like my shrimp fajitas with the tails on, but that is no big deal. Many families were there, so were many singles. I didn't like the rap music in the bathroom with the racial slurs. Waiter was either overworked or short on personality or didn't like his job. I'd give the place a B minus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tannertucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield,IL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great aviance, music and Lemon Drop Martini's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited some friends in Alpharetta and were taken to Tara Humata for dinner. What a treat! They had a live band playing music and the colors were bright, food was fabulous and it was a great time had by all. Oh, Did I mention the cocktails? The Lemon Drop Martini was very smooth, and delicious.

Have since been back to Alpharetta and of course visited Tara Humata. Guacamole was made fresh at the table, and the four of us shared nachos which were large enough to have been our meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I really can't remember what was on the menu as alternative to what I got, but there has to be something better. I told the server I wanted tacos and he recommended the steak tacos. It was served very plainly, steak chunks in 3 small tortillas with a few onions and peppers. No other veggies nor cheese. It was served only with a cup of beans and two salsas. I was underwhelmed.

The margarita was also recommended and when served it was all foam! Took a while to settle but tasted like and Orange Julius (that's not a compliment).

Server passed me by a half dozen times before taking my card so I could check out.

Meh. I'll try something completely different next visit to Alpharetta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bn_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great food and good ambiance.. good music too..
must have the Guacamole Dip have them make it right in front of you.. its awesome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ketansweta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENEVILLE, TENNESSEE
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food and live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice ambiance and live music. Food was very good and large portions. Very authentic, homemade taste. Strawberry margarita was larger than I could drink...size medium. Only complaint was food was ready too fast. We were dining on a Saturday night and wanted a bit less aggressive dining experience...but food was fabulous! Wait for a while to order because food literally is there in 7 minutes! Will return again

Helpful?
Thank CATHYRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Humata Mexican Grill & Tequila Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tara Humata Mexican Grill & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing