We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good!!”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #11 of 177 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
hereandthere
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm from the north east and we do not have bbq chains up here, so I try to hit Sonny's when I'm travelling on business once in a while. I know people are picky about their "Q" throughout the country and I'm sure many of disagreements have been started (just watch Man vs. Food). I just like going here and enjoying some great pulled pork and some ribs even some chicken. If I have room then the peach cobbler is a great finish before rolling my [--] out the door!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OGnouseforaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, OGnouseforaname! We're happy to hear that you enjoy the pulled pork, ribs and chicken. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reynolds, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Ribs”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We like the pulled pork and the ribs. I enjoy the sald bar and think the chicken salad on it is the best any where around. They are very accomidating in making substituttiions and have always been very friendly. They "cater " to the little ones to make sujre they are are happy. When I had knee surgery and went there they made sure I had room to stretch my leg out and not get hit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best bbq in the south”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The sweet bbq that georgia is known for! always wonderful and messy messy messy. If you are craving bbq then this is the place to go. I love the sweet, but they also have other flavors here to fit everyone's needs and tastes.

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best valuues... how do they keep the lights on?”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Wow. Sonny's is a chain I always have on the radar... there just need to be more of these franchise places! The 'all you can eat' options and sauce choices really do provide a great value with taste variation. They have slightly acidic to very spicy to down right sweet sauces to make everyone's tastebuds happy. Tip - the corn bread... get the corn bread. Mac n' cheese is always pretty good too, as with this visit. Pulled chicken, pork, ribs, anything... in my several visits to Sonny's around the region from Kentucky to Florida I must say I have yet to have a bad meal. Oh... if they have it - the 'bread pudding' squares are great and remind me of something my grandmother would have made. A good choice... one worth driving out of the way for.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewSouthernYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBANY,GA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Over priced BBQ”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went to sunny's with a friend. Neither of us were real hungry and just wanted a sandwich. I ordered a small beef brisket BBQ sandwich only no sides. There were (3) slices of meat on my sandwich and the price was over $6.00. They had a special on wednesday for all you can eat BBQ wings for $14.00. The sandwich was so so but certainly not worth the price. I would haft to be hard up to return again to pay these prices.
SIDE NOTE: THE BBQ SANDWICH AT BLACKBEARDS IS BETTER AND BIGGER FOR ABOUT THE SAME PRICE.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank southernpilot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing