We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate with the mean himself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearly's Famous Country Cooking

Pearly's Famous Country Cooking
Ranked #1 of 177 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Ate with the mean himself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

While driving through on our way to Alabama we stopped here for breakfast. We expected a sit down type restaurant so we were slightly thrown off when we realized it wasn't. With having a baby we didn't want to have to wait in line then carry our food to a table. This gentleman noticed we were about to leave so offered his seat to us. We asked if he would like to join us, not knowing it was Mr. Pearly himself. Great food, very friendly staff, and fast service. So glad we decided to stay. It is our stop for breakfast when passing through from now on!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acoupleofButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The First Place to Go for Southern Cooking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Don't bother to go anywhere else...the food is great and the atmosphere is just what you will want. Of course, don't eat here often or you won't fit your clothes anymore.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe people really go here to eat. I visited Pearly's because a friend suggested the restaurant...so i tried it. The food is horrible!!!! I ordered a simple sausage biscuit sandwich. The biscuit was floury and doughy. They could have popped some can biscuits and did better. And the link sausage was tough as leather.
I'll never go here again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KFRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast. Excellent price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are traveling through Albany, Pearly's is a must for breakfast food. The service is quick, efficient, and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodtravelsavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
namibdon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly folks; fake food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Country cooking, for me, means fresh cooking. Canned gravy is NEVER going to get good votes from me. I had the smothered pork chops: overdone pork chops simmered in canned gravy. I will admit their biscuits are fresh-made and delicious and that the broccoli salad was good...but not good enough to overcome to poor main course.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank namibdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearly's Famous Country Cooking also viewed

 

Been to Pearly's Famous Country Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing