We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Albany's best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Catch Seafood Room & Oyster Bar

The Catch Seafood Room & Oyster Bar
Ranked #4 of 177 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One Albany's best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Catch is considered one of the best restaurants in town, a deserved reputation. Food is good. Service is good. Not a fancy place, but clean and nice. Worth going.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaAndLovingIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    18
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We ate here when we were traveling through Albany for business. The food was very good. The service was good too. I had the filet mignon, blackened with a side of chipotle Gouda grits and a spring mix lettuce salad with balsamic vinaigrette. The balsamic was a bit too vinegary but not too bad. I might suggest they add a little less balsamic vinegar in that. I also had the grilled shrimp as an appetizer and that was gOod too. Not the best shrimp I've ever eaten but no he worst either. I guess I expected better shrimp since we are only 4 hrs from the gulf of Mexico.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union,SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just down the road from the everyday national chains-AND GREAT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's cool....it's like you're walking into an ole timey fish camp..but them you walk in and you're in an urban restaurant. Upscale-great date place. Classy!
Bar drinks generous. Food was best I have had in years. Trip Advisor review said crab cakes are good. YES! - As good as ones I eat in Maryland in my travels-YUM!! The charred salsa and chipotle gouda grits-Hmm,Hmmm Goood!!!

No scrimping here-all efforts at full speed ahead to help guest feel well served!!

I can only imagine how great Oyster Monday must be- Susan

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

What it lacks in atmosphere and decor is more than made up by the quality of the food and service. The ahi tuna and fried oyster appetizers were perfectly prepared. The pan seared red grouper over charred corn salsa was as well. Decent wine list. Young man who served us was sincere in his efforts to make our dining experience a pleasurable one, and it was.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice menu and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The decor is...unusual, but comfortable. Bar in same room as small dining area. However, the fish is high quality and well prepared, the servers are knowledgeable, and the chefs seem to enjoy their work (we know because you watch them as their cooking area is basically in the dining area). So the ambience may not be fancy, but the food certainly is. Dress casually, prepare for an informal and very friendly setting, and relish their modern and delicious entrees. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdrinkand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Catch Seafood Room & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Catch Seafood Room & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing