We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend escape- but go in Spring!”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2005

I chose Barnsley Gardens as the place to go for an all girls weekend of relaxation (and mom's birthday celebration) after reading all the good reviews about the resort's service. We went for two nights and got the spa indulgence package-which we all loved.

We were disappointed when we got there because our cottages, which were supposed to be next to each other and sharing a porch, were not. However, the staff was very helpful and apologetic and managed to put us together for the second night, in addition to giving us a discount.

Other than that, everything was wonderful! The service was exceptional. I mentioned it was my mom's 65th birthday and she got lots of surprises from the birthday fairy! We had our fireplace lit up every night and stayed in the room--which was very nice and cozy.

There are many activities to do at Barnsley (which is good, because there is nothing to do in Adairsville)--horseback riding, golf, biking, hiking, fly fishing, croquet, etc. I couldn't help thinking that it was like a luxury summer camp for grown-ups! The spa treatments we got were great.

The only downside to our visit was that the gardens were quite dry. I can only imagine the beauty of that place in Spring!

I definitely recommend Barnsley for a weekend stay or even just a Sunday brunch and spa day, for those who live in Atlanta. It is a great escape form the city and a wonderful pampering experience!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leisurepax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 440 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2005

spent my wifes 50th birthday at Barnsley, and it was a wonderful experience. Service was exceptional. Food was excellent. Accomodations great. Enjoyed the golf. Wife enjoyed the spa treatment. Grounds are awesome. Mentioned to the staff when we made the reservations that it was my wifes birthday. Just mentioning that once they delivered balloons to the room, and had a desert with a candle for her at dinner. Nice touch. One night they had wine tasting at the grill which was nice. This is such a great spot in the middle of nowhere, yet just an hour from Atlanta. The resort is so peaceful and tranquil it made for a great get away.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2005

After finding Barnsley Gardens Resort on a luxury travel site, I checked it out on trip advisor before going any futher. Everything sounded really nice about the resort, so I decided to book a 4 night package for our anniversary for the last week of May. My husband was a little sceptical, but it turned out to be one of the best vacations we'd ever taken!

Check-in
Check-in at the resort was great. We had no problems and it was quick. A guide took us to our cottage and explained a little of the history of the estate to us. He gave us a map of the resort and explained where everything was located. Basically everything is within walking distance of your cottage.

Cottage
The resort has only 33 cottages. Ours was really nice and elegantly decorated. It had a front porch with rocking chairs and a back porch with wicker furniture. The inside had a livingroom with a fireplace, a bedroom with a kingsize bed, 12' ceilings, and a bathroom with a large bathtub with clawfeet and a seperate shower. Terrycloth bathrobes were hanging on the bathroom door for you.The bedroom had french doors leading out onto the back porch. The only thing I can think of it didn't have was a microwave.

The Resort & Gardens
The resort & gardens were breathtaking. There were all kinds of trees and flowers in bloom while we were there. Each cottage is landscaped different and each one beautiful. We saw several kinds of wildlife and the grounds included the original Manor House Ruins. It also had a museum that explains all about the history of the Barnsley Estate. They also have an outpost where you can purchase snacks and gifts.

Dining
The food was fabulous!. The chefs do a wonderful job at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We felt like we were dining in a world famous restaurant. The food was, by far, the best we'd ever had on vacation. We live apx. 3 hours away and I would drive here to have dinner for an anniversary or special occasion anytime. They also have a beer garden that is open seasonally.

Golf
The golf course was immaculate with flawless greens. The 18 hole course was designed by Jim Fazio and is very challanging. The course is ranked 13th in the State of Georgia by Golf Digest.

Activities
There are several activities available at the resort. They have golf, sporting clays, a swimming pool, hiking, mountaing biking, horseback riding, tennis, a spa & fitness center, fly fishing, and lawn games. We took our bikes, but bikes are available at the resort. The 2 longer hiking/biking trails were a little strenuous for bicycles.

Pool & Spa
The pool was nice and quite. Even though the resort was pretty much full, we rarely saw anyone, except at dinner. We swam and laid out at the pool everyday and never saw over 2 or 3 other people there. This was great! They also had a small snack bar at the pool where you could get snacks and drinks (including alcohol). The fitness center had excercise equipment, a steam room, whirlpool, and sauna. The spa was nice. They offer probably 25-30 different spa treatments, from a facial to a full body wrap or massage.

Service
The service was incredible. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we felt pampered and special. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Our waiter was helpful in suggesting something on the menu if we weren't sure what we wanted. We were never dissapointed in what he recommended. We had a picnic basket delivered to our door one day for lunch. We ate out on our back porch and the food was so good! They also brought us champagne and hors d'oeuvres to our cottage one night. If you wanted, they would deliver your dinner to a private location inside the gardens, such as the Manor House Ruins. The staff came in everyday and refilled our refrigerator with bottled water and cokes if we needed them.

Overall Experience
This was a truely a wonderful vacation! We are already planning to go back sometime in the future. We've recommended it to our family and friends. This place is more beautiful than the pictures. It would be a great place for a wedding, honeymoon, or just a weekend getaway. After getting home, I found Barnsley Gardens Resort listed as one of only 48 luxury hotels listed in the Unites States. I can definetly see why! If you decide to travel here, I'm sure you would not be disappointed.

14  Thank Deb19583101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2005

Received a gift of the Art/History/Garden package fora combination birthday/Mothers Day surprise. Unbelievable! English countrycottages right in the middle of the Georgia woods. Beautiful flowers, interesting history of the property, the most attentive staff I've ever seen, elegant restaurants, and special activites-golf, spa, etc. --all within a stroll from your cottage home. The "little things" added up to a perfect experience--soft drinks in the cottage upon arrival, chilled bottled water placed by your bedside at night, picnic baskets transported to location of your choice, even large umbrellas placed at the doors of your cottage. We were thoroughly spoiled!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2004

I thought this was built by Disney it was so perfect!!
Everything was done so well.My wife would not stop gushing! The cottages are amazing, very large and very luxurious. Food in both restaurants is very good especially in the Rice House.
Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We went horseback riding, hiking, golf etc. The spa is top notch.
The golf course is one of the top courses I have played and is very scenic with deer, turkeys, rabbits, lakes, huge elevation changes, great staff.
I was at the Ritz Carlton Reynold's Plantation in March and Barnsley Gardens is far superior.
There is plenty to do for everyone.
We even saw fireflies, which being from the west coast is kinda cool.

12  Thank CaryandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, Ga
115
Reviewed August 19, 2003

I've stayed at several nationally recognized spas and Barnsley is now one of my top 3 faves. The resort is a short trip from Atlanta and offers a wonderful (easy) weekend getaway. The spa is truly amazing - the staff is attentive, but not overly invasive. The cottages were elegant with beautiful decor (not too overdone). My boyfriend and I took a short daytrip there, played billiards and enjoyed some great imported beers - it's an amazing place.Would consider it for a romantic weekend get-away, a spa-day for the girls - and/or incredible place for a wedding & reception.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
Thank Bgshj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
12.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
131 reviews
12.3 mi away
Super 8 Calhoun
Super 8 Calhoun
#1 of 17 in Calhoun
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range: $262 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing