We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“Great place to relax!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

We visit this great resort at least once a year and sometimes more. It is very close to Atlanta and has all kinds of leisure type activities. It is a great place to take a walk to see ruins or just some great walking/hiking trails. They also have an awesome golf course that ranks up there with the best around. They also have very good food not to mention horseback riding, skeet shooting, spa, fitness and pool facilities. All the facilities are top notch and you are sure to enjoy your stay. The best part is the great cottages that you get to stay in that you just can't really describe when comparing it to any other resort they are just so charming and not easy to compart to anything.

  • Liked — Cottages/Rooms
  • Disliked — Food service can be a little slow at times but sort of by design since it is a leisure type place
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gitate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    82
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
81
177
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Barnsley Gardens is undoubtedly Atlanta’s best kept secret! The European village setting is lovely and peaceful. The cottages are elegant yet very comfortable and cozy. I love sitting out on the porch and watching people go by or just looking out into the picturesque village. The gardens and ruins at Barnsley are absolutely beautiful to walk through. While the men played golf, we hiked through the trails and took advantage of the natural landscape which included creeks. The pool is wonderful, again with a lovely view of the golf course. The food at the Rice House and at The Woodlands Grill was delectable. The service was wonderful. The staff appears to anticipate your needs before you speak them. I always look forward to our stays at Barnsley because I know I can count on a beautiful setting, great food, and a sense of being pampered.

  • Liked — The beauty of the village like setting and gardens and the service.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank efy0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

Barnsleyhas always been number one for me to host a meeting with my clients. I normally host about 20 clients for a three day meeting that includes golf, spa services and meetings. The location is to my advantage as it is about an hour's drive from Atlanta but is perfect in that my clients enjoy the meeting/social aspect of Barnsley. Once you are at the resort, you don't need a car and walk to all meeting and sports related activities.

The rooms consist of upscale cottages and most are one bedroom. Barnsley also has larger cottages and my female clients normally stay in a group in a large cottage that has at least four bedrooms with a common room in the middle. The linens and service are first class and the rooms include working fireplaces.

Food service is very accommodating in that some of my clients have special needs for their diets and have no problem at Barnsley. The golf course is very challenging and has a full service pro shop as well as a large driving range and practice area. Other activities include skeet shooting, horseback riding, fishing and a full service spa.

I have also stayed at Barnsley personally when I was not hosting a meeting and enjoyed it very much. My daughter has had several "theme" related birthdays at Barnsley and they did a great job organizing activities for the teenagers from horseback riding to a ghost tour.

I highly recommend Barnsley for either personal or business.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cbraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

My wife and I needed a break from the kids so we booked a one night getaway to relax and de-stress. Our experience could not have been any better. The grounds of this resort were more than we could have dreamed of between the golf course, pool, walking trails and outdoor beer garden. To top it off we had dinner at the restaurant on property (that was amazing) and when we returned to our cabin The Barnsley Garden "fairy god mother" had left us a bathroom full of light candles and a bottle of champagne on ice. We truly did not want to leave the next morning and are already planning our next visit.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chacha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Barnsley Gardens once again delivered a phenomenal experience across the board for my family and I. We spent two nights at Barnsley during the Christmas holiday and had an exceptional time. The service was outstanding as usual and our visit was memorable. This made for a great Christmas gift for our entire family and we look forward to our next visit to Barnsley in the summer.

  • Liked — Service is top-notch!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ld12367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

I have been to Barnsley many times and for many different reasons throught the years, but when my husband, two sons, and dog needed a weekend get-away, Barnsley was the perfect choice. We live in Atlanta, so it is an easy trip, but it does feel far away ! Our cabin was clean and laid-out well for our needs. The fireplace was clean and pre-set for an evening fire and roasted marshmellows with the kids. Perhaps best of all, Barnsley is a self-contained little haven so I felt comfortable giving my boys permission to go outside and run around with the dog without our constant watching eye... They felt grown up and I knew they were safe. Dinner was delicious, the staff was accomodating, the grounds are always well groomed, and I got a great massage at the spa. I think that Barnsley is the perfect balance of "relaxed with luxury" and I am sure that we'll be there again and again...

  • Liked — clean, relaxed, "special", privacy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrapinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

Our favorite place - feels like home. If you want an exceptional experience, go to Barnsley Resort. This location is very historical, relaxing, enjoyable, warm, welcoming. You can play golf, biking, canoeing, horseback riding, clay shooting, walking or do nothing but sit on the porches and drink wine. We love their wine dinners, always the best!!!

  • Liked — Very comfortable, home like
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Porsche03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cartersville
Hampton Inn Cartersville
#1 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Property: Barnsley Resort
Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing