We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in late Feb. It was absolutely wonderful and relaxing. We went to the spa fri and sat. Both treatments we had were great. We ate at The Rice House both nights. The food was tasty and worth the price. Yes, expensive but we expected that. Sat night was esp. busy. While waiting for our food we were brought fried lobster for an appetizer. The wait staff and manager were extremely hospitable. We hiked both sat and sun mornings for 2 hrs give or take. So peaceful and not difficult. The ruins of the old Barnsley mansion were 'cool'. They were setting up for a wedding and I would definitely consider having my wedding here(if I wasn't married)very eclectic and one of a kind. We were told the resort was at 98% capacity sat night. It didn't feel like it at all!! There were people around but we had space, a lot of space. We had lunch twice at the beer gardens. Good sandwiches and nice to enjoy the weather outside. Jean made our stay!! He was always bringing wood for the fire pits outside and wood for the fireplace in our room. Ask Jean and you shall receive. The golf course is very well maintained. My husband is a golfer and stated he will be coming back to play!! If you truly want to get away, this is the place. We will be going back, probably this year. I do think children and teens would enjoy the resort as well.

Room Tip: On the green, centrally located.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twista1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for Barnsley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 432 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night on December 23. It was a very cold day, so we could not partake of golf, bicycling, etc., but this is a beautiful place and the adjacent gardens and mansion ruins have an interesting history. Each room is in a fourplex (which look like large houses), and each of the fourplex buildings has distinctive architecture. Most of them front on a long green, with the hotel's two restaurants at each end. Our room was "upscale rustic" with a comfortable king bed and two separate bathrooms (only one shower and tub). The room had a fireplace which would have been nice on this cold night, but we never turned it on. The most upscale restaurant was not open on this night, but the other one was very good---excellent food, good service, nice wine list, and with a warm, inviting atmosphere. In general, resort staff were friendly, and we had no issues at all.

The entire property, including most of the buildings, was decorated with Christmas lights, so it was really festive to stay here right before Christmas. They really did a good job on this. And the rate for this night was a bargain discounted one, which made it even more enjoyable! There were many families staying here, and apparently most of them would spend Christmas here.

Barnsley Manor and its gardens were only a 5 minute walk from our room. In touring the small museum inside the manor ruins, we met Clent Coker, the author of a book on the history of the manor and its families from the early 19th century on. We bought his book, and if you like good historical nonfiction, I would highly recommend it. Reading the book after we got home after Chrismas really put an added highlight to our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Needing a weekend away from civilization we booked a room for two adults and two canines. The dogs were welcome almost anywhere on the property except inside the restaurant so we dined on its front porch. Dinner was delicious and all of the resort employees were very friendly to us AND the dogs. The property is expansive Estate with an old American township layout and feel. The fire pits on the lawns were lit providing warmth for a late evening walk. The variety of outdoor activities seemed endless. This is a perfect escape to the country with or with the dogs!

Room Tip: If the weather is chilly ask for a cottage with fire pits in view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Barnsley several times over the last year and keep coming back. I have business in the area every other month and find the resort a mini vacation while still accomplishing my business goals. The friendly staff, quaint, comfortable and clean rooms, make for a really enjoyable stay.
Each room has a working fireplace with plenty of firewood to go around with nightly Smores fixins in the lobby if desired. The staff really does a great job of making the guest feel at home and no request is too much. I would recommend to anyone and can just imagine how wonderful it would be to be married here. Keep up the great work! See you in March.

Room Tip: I especially like the one room cottages, they have an adjoining room with a cozy den and fireplace...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

An amazing overnight getaway. The massage at the spa tops my list of best massages ever! The food at the Woodlands Grill was absolutely incredible and we tried everything. The cheese plate, lobster tails, filet, scallops, desserts, breakfast. Yes, we overindulged and it was worth every single calorie. The cottage was adorable and perfect in every way. The pay such attention to detail and it shows in all aspects of the resort. It’s clean, quiet and a perfect escape. It’s perfect for everyone too, singles, couples, romantic getaways, girl trips, boy trips, family gatherings, weddings, etc. The list of activities and things you can do is extensive and there is something to offer for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travAPRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I made a reservation for New Year's Eve, my cc was charged and I received a confirmation email but was informed upon arrival that my reservation "must have been changed". Conversations with the front desk manager and reservations manager were fruitless. I was turned away, the explanation received was a lame "I don't know what happened". A much anticipated return phone call from the general manager has still not occurred.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Malik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our 6th year coming to Barnsley for our anniversary. Even though it was pouring rain, we still had a great stay. The room was perfect, and the service was excellent. Thank you to Greg "The wine Snob" for making our anniversary extra special.

Room Tip: It is very quiet during the holiday season, and beautifully decorated for Christmas. We always get a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redandblackn10a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
#5 of 5 in Adairsville
56 reviews
12.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range: $255 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing