We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottage suites and it was beautiful. You walk in to a beautiful living room complete with fireplace and large TV over the fireplace. On your front porch is firewood complete with a starter kit for easy firemaking. In the next room is the bedroom with a bathroom that is jack and jill style with the shower/tub/sink combo in one area and the toilet/sink in the other area. Our living room also had a refrigerator which was quite nice to put drinks, snacks in. They also had supplied it with 2 complimentary waters which was also nice. The grounds are beautiful and we really enjoyed the tour of the historical Barnsley Manor. We also went in the indoor whirlpool at the spa and that was very relaxing. One night is not enough, plan to stay 2. You will love it!

Room Tip: Any of the cottage suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiabethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    82
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
81
177
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunwoody, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived on Sunday and left on Tuesday. Barnsley Gardens is approximately 60 miles or 1 hour ,depending on traffic, from Atlanta and was a great getaway venue for our anniversary. The Cottage was warm with its own fireplace. The food was good and the staff was both helpful and courteous. The antebellum ruins and grounds were well maintained

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at Barnsley gardens in a cottage. The cottage was very well done. Very clean nice sitting room with fireplace, porches with rocking chairs and claw foot tub are a few of the highlights. The grounds are beautiful. Lots of ponds to fish in walking trails. Excellent spa. The downside to Barnsley is the food. The Woodlands Grill just wasn't good and very overpriced. One day after lunch my husband was still hungry and we walked to the beer garden. The live entertainment there was good but we waited over an hour for a hotdog and lays potato chips. It was ridiculous. The Rice House was better but no where near worth the price of the meals. Over priced food is fine as long as it is good but bad over priced food at a resort really puts a damper on the trip. We waited an hour for a hotdog there were people waiting an 1.5 hours for a bratwurst. It was crazy slow. I will consider going back because of proximity to my home but I'll try to minimize my eating at the resort. The accommodations are great but the food is not.

Room Tip: It appears that all cottages are really nice you can't go wrong. Dine at rice house it's mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acorn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort! When we got to our room there were balloons and a very nice note wishing use a Happy Anniversary! Enjoyed the golf course and the food was excellent. Staff was very gracious and always called us by our names. Will definitely return!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Everything was fine, second straight year we have been here. Accomodations and dining
very nice, staff helpful etc.

Golf course seems a little more difficult but then again we are a little older (thankfully).

Golf facilities don't seem to have same level of management attention as the remainder of
the Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

just had the awesome experience of staying at this magnificent resort. This is one of the most impressive resorts I have ever been to. Having our own little bungalow and then sitting by the fire pit at night making smores. We cannot wait to go back for another visit. Got to meet one of the historians that has written a book about the history of this awesome place. The history of this plantation/resort is very fascinating. You will not be disappointed visiting this historic, unbelievable hotel/resort. A must place to go!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are private bungalows --- just awesome set up. The rooms are set up like individual duple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and an afternoon on a business trip but what an amazing time I had even in that short amount of time! From the minute you turn down the tree lined drive, you feel like you've stepped back in time and into a relaxed piece of heaven in the south. The staff were friendly and helpful, the accommodations beautiful and the spa was wonderful! We were given a ruins tour with a history of the estate. Had an excellent dinner of rainbow trout with butternut squash risotto and bread pudding for dessert at the Woodlands Grill. The bed was so comfortable I skipped my plan of a morning walk, snoozed for a bit and then enjoyed a cup of cocoa on the porch swing of our cottage. Ordered room service for breakfast in my large but cozy bedroom. Breakfast potato pancakes were yummy!
Later in the afternoon we returned for lunch before heading over to the spa for treatments. I had selected the Tiger Shell Massage which was really nice and then headed out to sit by the beautiful pool. We were all very sad to have to leave so soon. I truly plan to return when I can stay longer and enjoy the other amenities like the miles of walking trails, gorgeous golf course, beer garden and s'mores at the central fire pits surrounded by Adirondack chairs at night! I would highly recommend this to individuals looking for peace, couples looking for romance, families looking to get away from their busy lives or newly engaged couples looking for a place to be married where you can have your closest friends and family all staying in one place but with a home-like feel instead of a hotel.
It was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisysue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cartersville
Hampton Inn Cartersville
#1 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Property: Barnsley Resort
Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing