We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, beautiful resort full of Southern hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing, beautiful resort full of Southern hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to visit. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The food was amazing at the Woodland Grill. All the staff we came in contact with were friendly and amazing... Earl, Chad, Doug, Adam, Blake B, Carl. The rooms are nice and a perfect size with a common area to share between 4 private rooms. There are fire pits on the grounds to use at night that the staff lights for you. It is a drive from Atlanta to get to it, but well worth it.
They have skeet shooting, bocce ball, horse back riding, golf, restaurants, a pool, a spa, fly fishing, and more. I'll definitely recommend and be back someday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    82
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
81
177
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary and decided to go back to Barnsley gardens. It was an even better experience than we've had the past 3 years. not my first massage, and my 60 min deep tissue with Brian Schultz was absolutely the best. We spent the afternoon at the beergarden with James as our bartender whose service was impeccable. The food, ambiance, and service was five star. It's the most relaxing way to spend your time off of work

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BNewcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I hate to give Barnsley a bad review: the restaurants were amazing, the grounds were spectacular, the spa was everything we hoped it would be... However, when it comes to lodging cleanliness is everything. We were awaken in the middle of night by a critter in the attic crawling across the ceiling. It got louder and louder throughout the night and sounded like it was going to come through the ceiling at any time. When we turned on the lights in the morning, we got the dreadful surprise of roaches scattering across the bedroom. It was disgusting to say the least. We called Guest Services to report the problems, and the guy just replied they'd have someone come spray. By this point, we were done. Packed up the car and left. Extremely disappointed in the way the whole issue was handled. Not the way we wanted to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bchuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear bchuston: I very much appreciate your making us aware of the issues that you encountered during your stay and sincerely apologize for your poor experience. I assure you that this is not the experience we strive to offer our guests and is the exception to the rule. With the evenings getting cooler and as we begin placing firewood on our cottage porches, outdoor critters including wood bugs do sometimes make their way inside. This is not caused by sanitation issues, as our housekeeping and pest control standards are some of the most rigorous in the industry. Thanks to your notification we were able to find and release the squirrel that had gotten in the attic of your cottage! Again thank you for choosing our property and if you return to the area I would love to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Warmest regards,
Jennifer Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have traveled the world and stayed at many of the very best resorts and hotels and this rates up at the top of our list.

It is a beautiful almost picture perfect resort built around an incredible historic mansion called Woodlands that dates back to the 1850s. Wonderful old mansion and gardens and an amazing history.

They built the resort around Woodlands and it is made up of these magnificient Victorian houses along beautiful tree lined streets. Each house is an old classic reproduction - beautiful on the outside and very nicely furnished inside with a lounge, seperate bedroom and ensuite.

Lots to do there - golf, shooting, walking trails, pool, spa, gym or just walk around the magnificient village, old mansion ruins and the gardens and relax.

They have an on site historian who can take you thru the history of the site and the Barnsley Family story. Fascinating.

The restaurant was very good over looking the golf course and the beautiful woods.

Service was fantastic - they went out of of their way to make it all go like clock work. When there is a problem it is how they fix it that makes the difference. We had a small issue one night at the restaurant and Scott the manager fixed it immediately.

Bath and shower products are great as well.

Excellent place to visit. We had 3 beautiful days there - I hope to get back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adriand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband & I went for 1 night away, it's only 2.5 hours from us. We were so impressed with the lodging...the cottage was so spacious, clean, & cozy! If only it had been cooler so we could've enjoyed the fireplace!

We enjoyed lunch at the Woodlands Grill and dinner at the Rice House. We tried skeet shooting while we were there, too. My husband loved it, me not so much! It was cool to experience, but wasn't my thing!

It was a very peaceful resort...we just enjoyed relaxing & walking around the ruins with a glass of wine in hand. One night there was enough for us though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkdj96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent three days at Barnsley Gardens Resort on our way back home to Naples, FL. The accomodations, activities, service, food and staff were outstanding. We have recently stayed at Blackberry Farm, The Ritz Carlton at Half Moon Bay and The White Barn Inn. Our choice for overall satisfaction, value and going beyond expectations is Barnsley Gardens. Definitely a five star in every category.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 112546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited Barnsley Gardens for a very short stay for a wedding. I had never heard of it so didn't have high expectations. Now I wish we had stayed longer to enjoy all the resort has to offer. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Parking was very convenient and while you could walk all around the grounds to see the various parts of the resort, the staff offered to take us there via golf cart if we desired - very cool.

The wedding ceremony was in the coolest part of the resort - called "the ruins" - the remains of an old brick building with gorgeous gardens. It was a fantastic setting - nature but well kept and mixed in with the old timey feeling of an old building. It made for a beautiful ceremony. The reception was indoors due to rain and that building (can't remember the name) was great - high ceilings, wood beams and floors but very modern and comfortable. The wait staff and food was excellent.

I only briefly visited one of the bar/restaurants on site after the reception and walking back to our room we noticed these giant fire pits surrounded by adirondack chairs scattered through the buildings where the rooms were. (The room we stayed in was in a building that looked like a large house, but was divided into I suppose 4 different rooms - very cozy feeling.) There were people hanging outside late into the night at these fire pits - it looked like so much fun! I loved that you could have a semi private experience like that in the safety and comfort of the resort property.

I'm not a golfer but the course looked great and next time I go I'll take advantage of the spa services! Definitely worth a return trip to see more, and located only a short drive from midtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cartersville
Hampton Inn Cartersville
#1 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rome-East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Property: Barnsley Resort
Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing