We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Service Great! Food Service, Meh!”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hotel Service Great! Food Service, Meh!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The gardens are beautiful, but a lot smaller than I anticipated. After going to Callaway, Barnsley is "quaint", but cute.
The hotel staff was outstanding! They anticipated our needs, greeted us with a smile, and left us wanting more. I was really taken aback by the gentlemen who rented our discs (Frisbees) to us. They were chatting with my children!!
The rooms were amazing. I was shocked at how unusual they were. It was like staying in a small cape cod, complete with fireplace, separate water closet, and footed bath tub. There was even a live plant in the room!
The food was good. The food service was terrible. We ate at both restaurants. At both venues we had to go looking for our server for refilled water glasses and the final bill. It was not a good experience, especially for the price paid. And don't bother with the carrot salad. It's trying too hard and comes off as lame. The breakfast buffet was disappointing. There was little food and no plates. Understaffed, maybe? On the upside, the picnic lunch was fantastic. We got two different baskets for four people, and it was enough to feed eight. The picnic and the smores as the highlight of our stay.
Would I come again? Probably not. We had a much better stay at Callaway Gardens, which is kid friendly and enormous.

Room Tip: There is no bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 75peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    90
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
86
187
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is pretty overpriced for what you get. I wouldn't even mind that if the resort didn't charge my card for $900, followed by the $400 a night fee. They claim they were just 'holding' the charge but they had confirmation numbers and the money had been taken out of the account. After a lot of fighting, the 900 was credited back. That's fraud. Watch out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Tanya K: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry that you had an issue with your debit card while you were here. It is a standard practice at hotels and resorts to authorize a credit card for anticipated charges. Unfortunately, when a debit card is used the individual bank may hold money out of the account just like a regular charge (to ensure that the money is available).

We are continuously seeking ways to improve our handling of debit card use but each bank has different policies and we have no way of knowing how your bank will handle the credit authorization when we place the hold. I regret that it had a negative impact on your stay with us and will certainly share your experience in our training programs in the future.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. It gives us the opportunity to address areas of concern and become better service professionals. I do hope if you are back in the North Georgia area you will give us another try.

Warmest Regards,
Jen Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We toured the beautiful grounds only. There weren't nearly as many flowers as I had expected since it is called a garden. Nevertheless, it is beautiful and worth a visit. Go on a cool day as our visit was very hot! Interesting civil war and family history. Very pricey resort could explain why we were seemingly the only visitors around on a Sunday in June. The sweet lady at the house museum told me the original family did not believe in slavery because they were English- huh?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I had a short stay at Barnsley over Memorial Day weekend. This resort is perfect for a quick getaway for couples, families, or groups of friends. The entire resort is beautiful. We loved the cottages and all of the landscaping. There is so much to do that you never have to leave the resort. We canoed, hiked some of the many miles of trails, and rented bikes. We also got plenty of use out of many of the lawn games that the resort supplied including cornhole, horseshoes, and bocce. All of the resort staff that we encountered were delightfully helpful and very welcoming. We stayed in a normal room and found it to be perfect and cozy. We did not mind that the t.v. was older. The resort had so much to do and the weather was so perfect during our stay that we didn't spend a ton of time in the room.

My wife visited the spa during our stay. She had very high expectations for the spa services because I had informed her that I found the resort on a Conde Nast list of top 100 spa resorts in the U.S. Her spa experience was "wonderful but didn't blow her away" like she expected. But like I said she went with very high expectations due to the ranking. While she was in the spa, I visited the beer garden and enjoyed a couple adult beverages. Great selection of beer.

The only thing keeping me from rating this resort excellent was the food service. We ate at the Woodlands Grill multiple times during our stay. And we loved our food at every meal. I would definitely recommend the pimento cheese and bacon sandwich and the blue crab melt for lunch. However, we felt that the staff at the restaurant was not comparable to the staff at the rest of the resort. They did not seem happy to help like the others did. Even when we were one of the few tables occupied, we experienced very long waits for initial contact, drink refills, etc. But even though we felt the service was bad, the wait staff is still getting tipped at a very good rate.**All food purchases (including the beer garden) have an automatic 20% gratuity included. I don't mind that the resort does this, but I do expect good service because of it.

Overall this was an absolutely adorable resort and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbluedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear BigBlueDew: Thank you for the detailed review of your holiday weekend getaway at Barnsley Resort. I am very pleased you were happy with your stay overall but am truly sorry that your dining experience fell short of your expectation. I do apologize for this and and have shared your experiences with our Food and Beverage Team. I appreciate your feedback, as it gives us the tools to improve our service and I hope we'll have a chance to welcome you and your wife back again in the future!
Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A little something for everyone is available at Barnsley Gardens. Top-notch golf course, incredible Spa, fabulous accommodations, horse-back riding, lawn games, lounging by the pool, fine dining and an amazingly interesting history are all set in beautiful North Georgia. This was a romantic get-away trip for me and the hubs, but many were there with children. Perfect service from any staff member you met. Incredible grounds to wander for hours. A history that swallowed you up. As if all of that is not wonderful enough, I loved the way the resort, even though large, was so walkable. Golf carts are available for renting but we did not see the need. Our accommodations were in a Manor House suite and we could walk easily to everything. What a perfect setting. Trust me, we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Manor House cottage and were very pleased, but I can't imagine there is spot th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Kellie S: We at Barnsley Resort think your getaway review is fabulous. Thanks so much for your kind words and come back to see us soon!
Warmest Regards,
Jen Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I love everything about this resort! All I can say is that we would like to live here. The minute you drive through the gates all your problems seem to just float away. There is so much to do and see and the food is excellent. Do not miss the Chocolate Cheesecake for dessert.
It is beautifully landscaped and just an absolute pleasure to stay here. Don't miss this one.

Room Tip: We always stay in the pet friendly cabins. We like the one that is tucked away in the back. It is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14HappyTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Happy Traveler: Thank you so much for your great getaway review of Barnsley. It is fantastic that you love everything, including the chocolate cheesecake (it IS heaven I think). Please come back for a visit again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Jen Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just back from our third visit to Barnsley, this time with our son and his family on their first visit. It remains a great place for all ages from the time you wake up until you finally have to turn in. We continue to find the Spa one of the best we have visited, and we have done them in many high end resorts throughout the US and abroad. Having read the other reviews, I can sometimes sympathize on the food service issue, but would ask the complainers if they have ever been to a spot where every staff member is so totally, and sincerely friendly, so a little wait for the consistently good food in every location is OK with us. A wonderful golf course and other recreational facilites as well. If there is a very small negative; a first class resort should have first class TV service in the rooms, both in equipment and provider. But so what, there was so much else to do, we were hardly ever there!! Can't wait to get back, and it will be sooner than later. MJ

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmj8444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear MMJ8444: I am so happy you had another great weekend getaway at Barnsley and thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again soon!
Jen Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
#5 of 5 in Adairsville
55 reviews
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
12.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Property: Barnsley Resort
Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing