We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant romance in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant romance in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of being surprised with an anniversary weekend at Barnsley Gardens several years back. We were also expecting our first child, so my husband treated me to a legendary pre-natal massage in the charming Spa. The cabin that we stayed in was so cozy and romantic, and even though the weather was cold and lousy that weekend, an ample supply of logs were left on our doorstep for fires in the fireplace. Our last day there the sun decided to peek out, so we had the opportunity to explore the gardens, but due to a recent frost, there weren't many flowers (late Spring in Georgia; you never know what the weather will do!) It was still a very pretty property. The staff who I encountered were all pleasant, and not too chatty-chatty, which I appreciated as I was there to unwind and relax with my husband. I absolutely adored the bathtub in the cabin too, and would be glad to make a repeat visit in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockLobster622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear RockLobster: Thank you so much for the great review of your anniversary getaway at Barnsley Resort. I hope you'll be able to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    82
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
81
177
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were getting pretty tired of the same old Pigeon Forge search engine recommendations for a short 3 night getaway from Nashville when somehow my husband discovered the Barnsley Gardens Resort site in Adairsville, Georgia. The drive is a reasonable length ranging from 2.5-3 hours depending on how Chattanooga treats you (expects the worse--it's always slow going through there). But, it's a real gem of a resort once you get there. I won't repeat what all the other reviewer raved about with regards to the accommodations--they were outstanding as were the guest services. The activities really were endless and for our short stay, we'll have to return to do the ones we ran out of time to do. The golf course is absolutely beautiful and worth the trip down for even if you aren't staying (but I recommend staying to at least try their wonderful hospitality and restaurants on the premises (also A+). The have fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, shooting, hunting to name a few on some 3500+ beautiful acres.
We'll be going back, although we were told we went at the right time for the first time as it IS a "gardens" and everything was in FULL BLOOM. GO GO GO!

Room Tip: Spend a little more for the suites!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Robin A: Thank you for choosing Barnsley Resort for your getaway from Nashville. I am thrilled that you made the trip down to see us and hope you will come back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for the greatest vacation I have had in years...your service was outstanding!! Nothing but top notch...your food, spa service, rooms, the grounds.....everything was fantastic. I hope to return again someday. Thank You!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMCPortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear JMCPortlandOR: I am thrilled to know you had such a great vacation here at Barnsley Resort. Thank you for your review and do hope you'll return to visit with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros-The location is beautiful, the food is good especially the buffet breakfast. The garden around the ruins is must see. Perfect for families and couples. Very romantic setting.

Cons- The amenities in the rooms are mediocre. Nothing special about the spa. Communication between the Front desk and housekeeping could be improved. We asked for late check out and they still kept knocking at our door in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was really impressed with the resort and the accommodations. It is like staying in a cute little village. We ended up booking a Cottage Suite King as the Manor rooms were booked and it was worth it. Had a livingroom area and separate bedroom. Very nice. Great golf course and absolutely beautiful and enchanting manor house ruins and gardens. Both restaurants (Woodland Grill and Rice House) had good food, but I felt a little hungry still after I left. Also, a 20% gratituity/service charge is automatically added into your bill. I don't mind this practice, but feel the waitors should tell you about this. (Feel like its a little sneaky that they don't). Tip: Stop at the Food Lyon when you exit 75 on 140 and pick up drinks, snacks, fruit (and wine). There really is no place to get this there but the gift shop in the lobby and snacks were overpriced and not very good. The only place to dine is at the resort. Closest town is 1/2 hr away.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Cottage Suite King with its own living room area/wet bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the check in til our last meal at the Woodlands grill we were blown away. This was me and my husbands first visit and it definitely won't be the last. We fell in lkve with the quaint cottages, outstanding service and romantic setting. Perfect getaway spot.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lquarles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had planned a trip to Barnsley Gardens this past week primarily to play its golf course. Unfortunately it rained and disrupted my plans. My frustration is that the resort has a seven-day cancellation policy. Weather.com called for rain the day of my plans, and in fact it was the only day of rain that week. It would have been much better to have an option of being able to cancel closer to the actual date vs. hoping that the weather forecast would change over a week in advance. I was told at checkout that I could have changed dates, but that information would have been much more beneficial if I would have known that in advance, not after the fact. Needless to say, be advised of their cancellation requirements and the impact it may have on your stay when booking at this resort. Otherwise, it seemed to be a pleasant place, with high quality facilities, a good restaurant, but very remote.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cartersville
Hampton Inn Cartersville
#1 of 23 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rome-East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Property: Barnsley Resort
Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing