We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Made Our Stay!”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Customer Service Made Our Stay!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We went up for a quick get away and were completely impressed with the grounds, cottage(we stayed in a 1 bedroom with working fireplace) and overall ambiance of the resort. Most important was the customer service. They truly made you feel wanted and welcome.

I'd highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    91
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
87
188
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Spent a few days with the family to get away from the hustle and bustle of Atlanta. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and our outstanding room. The design of the little individual rooms/cottages really is unique. My wife and I both commented that it would be a nice place to have a wedding. The restaurant/food was great though a bit expensive. Though some amenities are included free of charge we were disappointed to learn that the mountain bikes required a rental fee.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricAndJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We've stayed at Barnsley Gardens three times now (all in the winter) and have had a wonderful time. They have a wonderful spa, delicious restaurants and plenty of outdoor activities from golf to horseback riding to sporting clays. Both the Valentines Day And New Years packages are a must. We typically stay I one of the five one bedroom cottages - entirely peaceful and serene.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbonander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have stayed at Barnsley Gardens before and had a wonderful experience with the facilities. It was such a nice place that I wanted to have my wedding there. I contacted them to try to get a quote, and was only able to get ahold of the wedding coordinator once. I was given no choice on the menu, and a deal that was offered online was never taken into account. I responded to the first offer with an inquiry as to whether this offer would be honored, and it was never answered. It was made perfectly clear that my business was not wanted and I felt completely undervalued as a potential customer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

My husband, 2 college age sons and mother-in-law spent Thanksgiving plus one night at Barnsley Gardens. It was our first time and we did not know what to expect. The service was very friendly, they went the extra mile with all our requests. The food excellent and the rooms were very clean, up to date with attractive furnishings. We plan to return in the spring because we enjoyed the gardens. There are 200 varieties of roses.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Just spent two nights at the resort and purchased two suites for our stay. A friend and I went there for some R&R and to quail hunt at their sister plantation. The rooms are showing a fair amount of wear and tear and are dated; not what I would have expected from a supposed top tier resort. All meals were assessed a 20% gratuity whether the service was good or not. I enjoyed the quail hunt and our guide Scott Sanford was great to hunt with. The price of the hunt was about 20% higher than comparable hunting preserves. Also the price of shotgun shells were almost double what I've paid at other hunting preserves. On our first night at the resort my buddy and I selected a movie to watch from a very limited set of movie offerings on the resort's Lodgenet system. The movie was so bad that we turned it off after 5 minutes. At checkout, I asked the attendant to remove the movie charge of about $11 from our billing because we didn't watch the movie. Keep in mind, we spent close to $2,000 for our two night stay at the resort. However, the attendant refused to remove the $11 movie from our bill because of "resort policy". Pretty cheesy and not a practice you'd see at a real top-tier property. So, I have to say that I left with a bad taste in my mouth after my check out experience. Small things make a difference. Maybe they should take some lessons from the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bryanowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have NEVER stayed at a place better than this. My husband an I were amazed by and absolutely fell in love with this place. We stayed there for our one year annivarsary and it was such a great decision!!! The staff is extremely friendly and are more than willing to accommodate your every need. Want a bit of romance added to your stay? Get in touch with the fairy godmother! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!!!! Seriously... I consider myself to be fairly critical of the places that I stay when I travel but I could not find one thing wrong with this place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sblakley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
6.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
#5 of 5 in Adairsville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
126 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Property: Barnsley Resort
Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing